All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 03-07-2009, 02:32 AM
theshocker theshocker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
theshocker is on a distinguished road
Accuweather on N97 no longer working

Hello, I have a N97 NAM, and Accuweather is no longer working. It used to work fine, but now it just says "loading" and never updates. This includes both the widget and the app itself. I've tried restarting the app, restarting the phone, and updating firmware to v11, but still have the problem. I can access the web just fine, but for some reason Accuweather refuses to load. Any ideas?

  #2  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:46 AM
rdcinhou rdcinhou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas USA
Posts: 726
rdcinhou is on a distinguished road
I had a similar problem...all of my "live" widgets on the home screen would hang, even after the firmware update.

From some research on the net I deduce that the problem is caused when you add multiple RSS feeds to the web browser.

To clear my problem, I did a HARD RESET (press *#7370#, then answer Yes and enter the Lock Code - default is 12345) the phone will reset to factory defaults and reboot.

You will have to set up all of your items all over again.

DO NOT USE THE BACKUP RESTORE as the Settings which cause the problem are part of the backup.

So far this is how I've gotten my N97 NAM live widgets working again.

  #3  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:01 AM
291 291 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
291 is on a distinguished road
Hi I had the same problem, mine was stuck on 'Loading....' This is what solved it for me:

On homescreen - click options > content to offline mode. Then switch it back to online mode.

And magically it started working again!

  #4  
Old 03-07-2009, 01:48 PM
theshocker theshocker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
theshocker is on a distinguished road
rdcinhou, I don't have any RSS feeds so I don't think that's the problem.

291, I tried that but still no change :(

I don't get it, other live widgets seem to work fine (AP news, Slideshow, etc.), and other apps that use data work fine (google maps, Nimbuzz, etc.), but for some reason neither the Accuweather widget or the app itself is working. Argh what the heck is going on??

  #5  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:30 PM
rdcinhou rdcinhou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas USA
Posts: 726
rdcinhou is on a distinguished road
When you start Accuweather it is configured to try and determine the default location (which out-of-the-box is to locate you via GPS).

If you haven't yet configured the GPS, it may not come back until you get a good satellite lock.

One work-around is to open the applet in fullscreen mode and then click on OPTIONS->Manage Locations then on the next screen enter the city name nearest you and then search. On the resulting list (presuming it finds a city by that name), select it and then select "Set deflt." (set default).

This will set the default city for when first start Accuweather.

Meanwhile, you probably need to go configure your GPS via Menu->Applications->Location.

Good luck!
Ads

  #6  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:34 PM
jmcgrath jmcgrath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 69
jmcgrath is on a distinguished road
When I updated my FW to the latest Euro 1 I lost the Accuweather widget altogether, along with about half of the others. Any idea how I can get it back up?

John

  #7  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:36 PM
rdcinhou rdcinhou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas USA
Posts: 726
rdcinhou is on a distinguished road
I think that Accuweather is available for free from the Ovi Store.

  #8  
Old 03-07-2009, 06:49 PM
theshocker theshocker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
theshocker is on a distinguished road
I have always had the location set to NYC, and like I said earlier it used to work. I tried removing and re-adding the location but still no luck.

  #9  
Old 03-07-2009, 09:57 PM
rdcinhou rdcinhou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas USA
Posts: 726
rdcinhou is on a distinguished road
I went to Accuweather's website looking for the Accuweather download.

Under Products/Download they have a bar that says get the Widset for your Nokia phone.

Clicking the "Learn More" link it took me to the Widset page which says "Widsets is now the Ovi Store".

Clicking that link I went to the Ovi Store where typing "Accuweather" into the search bar comes up not found.

Searching for "weather" a few things come up but none of them Accuweather.

It might be that with the retooling to fix the network status change "shout" requirement that they are recompiling the widget.

You might just have to wait a few days.

  #10  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:00 AM
Micky!'s Avatar
Micky! Micky! is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 286
Micky! is on a distinguished road
I too am waiting for a replacement widget after losing mine too.

  #11  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:16 AM
hootie hootie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 37
hootie is on a distinguished road
This might sound like a stupid question, so apologies in advance , i can get the accuweather widget to find my location and appear on the homescreen no problem, but i am confused as to wether it is supposed to auto update, mine doesnt i have to open the main programme and manually update , is this correct. Thanks in advance

Craig

  #12  
Old 04-07-2009, 09:48 PM
theshocker theshocker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
theshocker is on a distinguished road
alright I seem to have fixed this by changing my default access point to AT&T Internet...hopefully it won't crap out like before.

And yeah I've always wondered why doesn't accuweather auto-update, kinda seems to defeat the whole purpose of having a live widget.

  #13  
Old 05-07-2009, 12:34 AM
rdcinhou rdcinhou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas USA
Posts: 726
rdcinhou is on a distinguished road
I'm disappointed, too that Accuweather is not more automatic.

I realize the forecasts don't change that often, but it would be nice if they added a little "Updated HH:MM" like the AP widget has. At least you know how old the information is.

  #14  
Old 08-07-2009, 08:12 AM
ironass's Avatar
ironass ironass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cotswolds, U.K.
Posts: 1,508
ironass is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcgrath View Post
When I updated my FW to the latest Euro 1 I lost the Accuweather widget altogether, along with about half of the others. Any idea how I can get it back up?

John
You can download Accuweather here:-

http://www.symbian-freak.com/downloa...ed_devices.htm

  #15  
Old 08-07-2009, 08:32 AM
Micky!'s Avatar
Micky! Micky! is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 286
Micky! is on a distinguished road
Is that not the 5800 version though? The 5800 version is different to the N97 version.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
accuweather, longer, n97, working

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
N70 - Working- / Non working software messus Nokia N70, N72 and N90 125 26-07-2012 11:01 PM
N70 Voice Commands No Longer Working sticky_glitter Nokia N70, N72 and N90 1 08-03-2007 11:53 AM
Jargon - Explained tbone78 Nokia N70, N72 and N90 2 03-03-2006 03:53 PM
Blue menu button no longer working (6600) deiwise Nokia 6600 and 6620 8 10-11-2004 12:32 PM
Assigning some memory from disk C: to Working Memory Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 27 20-05-2004 08:38 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy