All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 09-05-2008, 02:00 PM
Starman Starman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Starman is on a distinguished road
Changed product code, no new firmware avail?

Hi all,
I'm new to the forums, but I've done many phone hacks over the years. This phone hack was easy .

I bought a U.S. N95 at my local Best Buy a little while back and just today found that the European firmware is at v20 whereas we get v11. I'm testing a few sites which don't work with the old v11 firmware and are being written in Europe, so of course everyone over there with v20 can see the sites great and I can't. So, I decided to try and update my firmware using the Euro1 product code and NSS.

Old product code: 0552415
I changed it to: 0534841

When I run the Nokia Software Updater, it tells me my current firmware is 11.2.009 and gives me the message "Currently there is no software update available for your phone".

If I change the product code back to 0552415, it says that the latest firmware is 11.2.009 and asks if I want to reinstall it.

So the software DOES see my changed product code, but doesn't give me the option to download v20 for some reason.

If I go to the European Nokia site and put in the Euro1 product code, it says "you can upgrade to v20" but the software says that there's no update.

I've done searches here and on Google and I haven't seen this particular problem.

Tech info:

Type: RM-160
Model: N95-3
Code: 0552415

If anyone can shed light on this, I'd appreciate it.

Last edited by Starman; 09-05-2008 at 02:05 PM.

  #2  
Old 11-05-2008, 06:15 AM
bchliu bchliu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 515
bchliu is on a distinguished road
Mate,

I would be very careful if I was you. The N95 you have is the N95-NAM version (North American) or what is called the N95-3. The firmware versions for the N95-NAM is totally different from the other N95-1 (classic) or the N95-2 (8GB). If you do try to force an update of the N95-1 firmware onto it, you will end up bricking it somehow or making it do bizarre things. I noticed that you "changed" it to the N95-1 Euro Sand product code. This will definitely damage your phone.

the N95-3 has very little updates since its release. Even though the phone looks similar to the conventional N95-1 (but with a black back), it uses a different set of ROMS (radio to include 850Mhz band) and has more memory than the N95-1.

Your best bet is to revert it back to your original product code and wait patiently for an update.. As far as I know, the N95-3 is on V11.2 (but the version numbers mean different between the models as your feature set would be the equivalent to a N95-1 on V20 with the newer memory management features etc).

Last edited by bchliu; 11-05-2008 at 06:19 AM.
Ads
 

Bookmarks

Tags
avail, changed, code, firmware, product

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOW TO: Change your product code (and why you might want to) 3Shirts Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 34 05-02-2009 06:33 AM
Any risks to changing the product code? D3lit3 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 5 31-03-2008 02:17 PM
Old Devices, New Firmwares, Contract Phones.......ONE BIG QUESTION! *IMPORTANT* Emo185 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 17 01-12-2007 10:02 AM
Update Ur Firmware To Generic Using Nokias Update App Biggzy Nokia N80 118 11-10-2007 09:21 AM
Orange announces next Code Camp Rafe Symbian OS News 0 20-08-2005 08:45 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:42 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy