All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:30 AM
crewmeal crewmeal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
crewmeal is on a distinguished road
N95 8gb experiences of trying to upgrade

I thought I would share my experience of trying to upgrade to V20. Not an easy task if you have upgraded the latest software on NSU.

After repeated error messages on NSS, reboots with the phone and laptop still nothing. Having read it was possibly the cable drivers software at fault (thanks Chrisa86) I went into add/remove and deleted the cable drivers associated with PC suite and connected the phone to the laptop and it worked as NSS recognised my Arabic firmware. However Windows cut in to say it had found new hardware which was in the form of cable drivers so I installed them without any problem.

I changed the firmware code to the Euro1 code and NSU said there was no new upgrade, so I changed the code to the Norwegian one and went ahead. However half way through the firmware download (with a white phone screen) a warning message came up saying remove charger and battery, then re-insert, switch on and retry. Thinking that was it, I would have a new brick ,the phone came back to life with the old firmware. I retried re-installing but got the same battery message, so I have decided against any further upgrades until Euro1 or a natural upgrade from NSU in case of any damage. Here in Jordan warranties are not the same as back in the UK.

Anyone else with similar problems? All new ideas gratefully accepted!!

  #2  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:48 AM
baconroll baconroll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 109
baconroll is on a distinguished road
sorry to hear that - after problems with NSU and NSS myself I actually restored my computer to an earlier time frame and managed to change my code to the Norway one, update to fw 20 using NSU with no problems then changed the code back to Euro 1. All working fine for me. The auto rotate is great and in my opinion much smoother than rotateme although only does it one way.

  #3  
Old 09-04-2008, 07:57 AM
adrian87camaro's Avatar
adrian87camaro adrian87camaro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 37
adrian87camaro is on a distinguished road
when will it be in the states?

how long do you think before this updated firmware will be available in the US. I can wait for it to come out I don't feel much like going through the process of changing the product code being that i am not that computer savvy.

  #4  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:51 PM
scott.herring scott.herring is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 52
scott.herring is on a distinguished road
I have just managed to update my firmware, however the rotate function does not seem to be working!?! I would also like to remove the text under the icons on the main menu if possible??

Please advise,

Thanks

  #5  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:26 PM
bobthebuilder bobthebuilder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 42
bobthebuilder is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by crewmeal View Post
I thought I would share my experience of trying to upgrade to V20. Not an easy task if you have upgraded the latest software on NSU.

After repeated error messages on NSS, reboots with the phone and laptop still nothing. Having read it was possibly the cable drivers software at fault (thanks Chrisa86) I went into add/remove and deleted the cable drivers associated with PC suite and connected the phone to the laptop and it worked as NSS recognised my Arabic firmware. However Windows cut in to say it had found new hardware which was in the form of cable drivers so I installed them without any problem.

I changed the firmware code to the Euro1 code and NSU said there was no new upgrade, so I changed the code to the Norwegian one and went ahead. However half way through the firmware download (with a white phone screen) a warning message came up saying remove charger and battery, then re-insert, switch on and retry. Thinking that was it, I would have a new brick ,the phone came back to life with the old firmware. I retried re-installing but got the same battery message, so I have decided against any further upgrades until Euro1 or a natural upgrade from NSU in case of any damage. Here in Jordan warranties are not the same as back in the UK.

Anyone else with similar problems? All new ideas gratefully accepted!!




Mine also stopped half way through with the message remove the lead, remove the battery, wait a minute, insert battery, insert lead, switch phone on. I did as requested and fortunately the update carried on and finished succesfully to my great relief.
Ads
 

Bookmarks

Tags
8gb, experiences, n95, upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
N95 8Gb CPU Speed? beatmag Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 4 25-09-2009 01:09 AM
Which one? 280 for n95 or 570 for n95 8GB? 123scottyb Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 9 27-03-2008 12:23 PM
red N95 8GB! Liam548 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 0 16-01-2008 02:27 PM
N95 8gb!? bassist_x Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 11 01-11-2007 09:29 AM
N95 or N95 8GB? Liam548 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 6 18-09-2007 11:07 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:41 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy