All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 05-03-2008, 02:11 PM
Alexandru Alexandru is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Alexandru is on a distinguished road
Unlocking N95-1

Hello,

Im a total newbie to nokia and symbian. I don't even own a N95 yet. Thats the reason for opening this thread, i hope you guys dont virtual kill me for it.

I read the sticky about how to flash the firmware and changing the productcode, but now the following is the case.

I can buy a N95, simlocked to vodafone UK. But i life in the Netherlands. Now the question is, to flash/update the firmware does the device need to be sim-un-locked ?
If no, will it be sim-un-locked after updating the firmware ? (latest v20)

Thank you very much.

  #2  
Old 05-03-2008, 02:13 PM
bartmanekul bartmanekul is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,653
bartmanekul is on a distinguished road
http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...ad.php?t=70225

No it doesnt need to be unlocked for firmware update. Look at the stick about debranding.
Ads

  #3  
Old 05-03-2008, 06:51 PM
Alexandru Alexandru is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Alexandru is on a distinguished road
Ok thank you for the reply.

After putting my 'great' idea on the table and a good conversation about this with my misses we, (she .. haha), decided its not a good idea to buy such a (expensive) item from a foreign country because its a bit cheaper.
Another point is that there are so many 'fake versions' out there of the N95 that for me its better to buy one in the local store here in the Netherlands. I need a new abo/contract anyways.

So, now, i have to wait till the end of the month and ill purchase a nokia n95-1 (the 8gb version is just too expensive for me with a 1 year contract). The classic n95 is affordable with 1 year contract, so thats the main reason im going to purchase that one.

I hardly can wait till its the end of the month (money !) so i can buy one.

(Im now on a SPV E650 with a flashed HTC s710 ROM, and i have big regrets i purchased this one about 8 months ago instead of the n95)

I'll report back if i have the N95-1 !!

  #4  
Old 05-03-2008, 09:16 PM
beefyn70 beefyn70 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 36
beefyn70 is on a distinguished road
IMHO a N95-1 with a 8 gb card and v20 software is as good or very similar to a N95-8gb . Yes the N95 -8gb has a slightly bigger screen but your stuck with an internal memory which you can't expand while memory cards for the N95-1 are at 8gb already and 12 and 16gb cards should be here soon with 32 gb eventually.

  #5  
Old 05-03-2008, 09:20 PM
kontraband's Avatar
kontraband kontraband is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,666
kontraband is on a distinguished road
yeah, I hate the thought of being stuck with only internal memory... more the merrier...

I agree with ya beefy
__________________

  #6  
Old 06-03-2008, 08:10 PM
Alexandru Alexandru is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Alexandru is on a distinguished road
Christmas came early !

ALLRIGHTY !! CHRISTMAS CAME EARLY

I had the happy suprise of getting my N-95 tonight! My misses came trough the door and when i saw the bag my bloodpressure rose like hell !

1) The good thing:
- Its simlock FREE

2) Bad things:
- Its T-mobile branded (eventhough simlockfree :()
- Firmware Version: 12.0.013 (so i have to change productcode so i can upgrade to v20).

About this upgrade i have 2 questions and i hope someone can help me:

1) Im dutch, so i need EURO 2 (i guess)
Now there are 2 EURO 2 Versions:
- 0534844 - Euro 2
- 0536065 - Euro2

Is there any difference between this two ?

Second question:

2) Since i have a t-mobile contract, there is something like 'web and walk' installed (i gues its the internet application).

After applying the v20 firmware i guess this is gone and i have to ask t-mobile for the internetsettings again?

Can someone give me some more info about this please?

Thank you!

  #7  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:15 PM
Alexandru Alexandru is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Alexandru is on a distinguished road
Flashed!

Ahh, didnt had the patience to wait for a reply.

I followed the excellent sticky quides and now im on v20 !! And no more anyoning tmobile screensaver or logo at startup.

Everythings works fine (i have now an Orange-sim) in it and internet/mms works great, didnt have to ask for the settings manually by sms from Orangeprovider.

Thank you for the great sticky's, now im gonna read the manual (rtfm! )

  #8  
Old 07-03-2008, 09:36 AM
kontraband's Avatar
kontraband kontraband is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,666
kontraband is on a distinguished road
yeah, you dont loose anything upgrading t-mob... the web'n'walk is just the app icon over the normal web browser... your book marks etc etc say with t-mob from your SIM from memory.

Happy N95'ing.
__________________
 

Bookmarks

Tags
n951, unlocking

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
N95 8Gb - Unlocking & Unbranding required sbansal Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 8 11-08-2012 07:25 AM
Unlocking N95 ragr Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 3 10-02-2010 06:25 AM
N95 8gb unlocking celticjim Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 12 18-02-2008 05:06 PM
Unlocking Orange N95 during contract randomfan Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 4 18-12-2007 04:22 PM
N95 Product Code FAQs and how to change your product code [all debranding] stuclark Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 0 30-11-2007 02:16 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:49 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy