All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 31-01-2008, 04:43 AM
two4teezee two4teezee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
two4teezee is on a distinguished road
N95 8GB - Corrupt Mass Memory

Hey everyone, first post although I've been lurking as a non-registered user for quite a while.

I recently bought a N95 8GB and two days into use I got a "mass memory corrupted" message. Everytime I try to format the mass memory the phone hangs up. I tried to reinstall the firmware but it turns out that doesn't touch the mass memory. Is there anything I can do? I tried to connect to a PC for data transfer mode but it won't let me, the phone comes up with a message saying I should pick a different mode. Is my storage bricked?

  #2  
Old 31-01-2008, 09:18 AM
mattg64 mattg64 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
mattg64 is on a distinguished road
Bit of a long shot but have you installed any apps on the mass memory in the last few days? I had an error when trying to access the mass memory on my phone and it turned out to be an app locking the use of the mass memory. I never got the corrupt message though. If you have added any apps try removing them and see if that changes anything.. If that doesn't work then maybe a hard reset might do the trick but I've never done that before so maybe someone else could advise you on that..

  #3  
Old 31-01-2008, 03:10 PM
sbc sbc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 292
sbc is on a distinguished road
Sounds to me like bad hardware :(

  #4  
Old 31-01-2008, 03:18 PM
chrsfrwll chrsfrwll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 888
chrsfrwll is on a distinguished road
Oh how I love my 8GB removeable flash card. (Sorry no help at all but makes me realise the 95-1 has the upper hand in a few areas)
__________________
PIM evolution: filofax > psion organiser > psion 3 > psion 3a > psion 5 > palm > palm v > handspring visor > ipaq > 9300 > N80 > N95 > iPhone 3G, oops

  #5  
Old 01-02-2008, 10:38 AM
sbc sbc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 292
sbc is on a distinguished road
And if the camera shutter snaps off of your N95, it proves that the 8GB is better? Something broke, that's all there is to it. Misfortune and nothing else. I just feel sorry for two4teezee and hope he gets his N95 working again as soon as possible.
Ads

  #6  
Old 01-02-2008, 10:54 AM
bartmanekul bartmanekul is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,653
bartmanekul is on a distinguished road
Return it, sounds like a duff one.

  #7  
Old 01-02-2008, 10:59 AM
3Shirts 3Shirts is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,286
3Shirts is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbc View Post
And if the camera shutter snaps off of your N95, it proves that the 8GB is better? Something broke, that's all there is to it. Misfortune and nothing else.
Lighten up, Chris was just having a laugh

  #8  
Old 05-03-2008, 05:20 AM
hend0 hend0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
hend0 is on a distinguished road
Hi,

I had the exactly the same problem the other day. After much head scratching I found that you can recover the mass memory by formatting.

To do this go to: tools/ utilities/ memory/ options/ format mass memory.

Hope this helps someone.

  #9  
Old 05-03-2008, 07:02 AM
The_Vindicator The_Vindicator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 51
The_Vindicator is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by two4teezee View Post
<snip> Everytime I try to format the mass memory the phone hangs up. I
Hend0 i think he's tried that already :/

i cant think of anything other than the suggested hard reset. if that fails its a trip to your local NSC.

vindi

Last edited by The_Vindicator; 05-03-2008 at 07:05 AM.

  #10  
Old 05-03-2008, 08:21 AM
two4teezee two4teezee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
two4teezee is on a distinguished road
Saw this bumped so I thought I'd let everyone in on this.

After another day, the mass memory just plain wasn't even recognized by the phone anymore. I was able to get a replacement and have been enjoying the phone without a hitch since =) Definitely was bad hardware.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
8gb, corrupt, mass, memory, n95

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nokia N95 and N95 8GB Product codes [Debranding] stuclark Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 63 02-10-2010 03:49 PM
8gb, Unable to access mass memory mattg64 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 11 24-01-2008 07:50 PM
N95 8gb buying help exabite Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 2 26-12-2007 11:44 AM
n95 8gb memory for application fenomeno83 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 1 24-10-2007 06:44 AM
N95 vs. N95 8GB dorisall Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 18 24-10-2007 05:05 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy