All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:07 PM
Dylanlewis2000 Dylanlewis2000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
Dylanlewis2000 is on a distinguished road
N95 Battery

Hi im new guys. I have read loadsa stuff about the battery being poor, wiht the N95, however i have charged mine up, and used it very lightly. I tried the GPS then turned it off.

I like to leave the bluetooth off, as i have a car kit, which shouldnt really drain the battery that quick. I took the phone off charge at 2 pm thursday, and used it to make one phone call. I then turned the phone off at around 12. The battery was then showing full. When i turned it on this morning i didnt notice the battery was down, however when i looked at it at around 12 i noticed that the battery was down to 1 bar.

It has been like this for all day now, untill i have got it home and put it on charge. Is this normal? Does the battery need time to wear in? Why would it be so bad?

Any advice would be appreciated

  #2  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:46 PM
CrispyDuck CrispyDuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
CrispyDuck is on a distinguished road
Generally on 1st few charges of a new battery is to charge from dead a few times as a bit of battery conditioning.
Id say the 2 main drains are having it in dual mode 3G and WIFI scanning on with TX power level at 100mv (see 1000mAh battery) post for info on the TX power level. If its lasting less than a day in standby on a full charge with those aspects above off might be a dodgy battery.

  #3  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:48 PM
CrispyDuck CrispyDuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
CrispyDuck is on a distinguished road
Maybe the car kit maybe a factor though i dont have/use one to compare.

  #4  
Old 06-07-2007, 09:41 PM
DJ Mike's Avatar
DJ Mike DJ Mike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 40
DJ Mike is on a distinguished road
CrispyDuck. why not just turn off you're 3G if you don't use in the daytime. It will save your battery consumption

  #5  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:00 PM
CrispyDuck CrispyDuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
CrispyDuck is on a distinguished road
I know i was advising Dylan

  #6  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:28 PM
Dylanlewis2000 Dylanlewis2000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
Dylanlewis2000 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrispyDuck View Post
I know i was advising Dylan
Ok guys how do i turn all the 3G stuff off? I am new to the nokia phones, i havent had a new nokia since the 8310, i have been a Windows mobile man lol

  #7  
Old 06-07-2007, 11:10 PM
CrispyDuck CrispyDuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
CrispyDuck is on a distinguished road
Ok :>) To switch to GSM go into Menu > Tools > settings.
Then into Phone > Network.
Select Network Mode GSM, Dual Mode does 3G and GSM then back to settings.

Once there Connection > Wireless Lan > Have availablility as Never, then click Options > Advanced Settings > Yes (its ok) > Select to disable then go down to TX power level and drop it to 4mV. You can go back and enable once changed. Then make the instruction book your best friend ))))))

Crispy

  #8  
Old 06-07-2007, 11:14 PM
CrispyDuck CrispyDuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
CrispyDuck is on a distinguished road
WiFi will still work when u ask it to ie if you have a wireless router the above just stops it from running in the backround when not needed and you can always switch to 3G for ie video call when you need.

  #9  
Old 06-07-2007, 11:20 PM
Dylanlewis2000 Dylanlewis2000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
Dylanlewis2000 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrispyDuck View Post
Ok :>) To switch to GSM go into Menu > Tools > settings.
Then into Phone > Network.
Select Network Mode GSM, Dual Mode does 3G and GSM then back to settings.

Once there Connection > Wireless Lan > Have availablility as Never, then click Options > Advanced Settings > Yes (its ok) > Select to disable then go down to TX power level and drop it to 4mV. You can go back and enable once changed. Then make the instruction book your best friend ))))))

Crispy

I dont think we have the same N95... my menu doesnt have what you are telling me to look for...

  #10  
Old 06-07-2007, 11:46 PM
buchos buchos is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
buchos is on a distinguished road
Just did it OK on mine:

Tools,
Settings,
Connection,
Wireless Lan,
OPTIONS,
Advanced Settings,
answer YES to question,
Scroll down to TX power level,
Change to 4mW.

Sorry to repeat what you just did CrispyDuck.

What am I actually changing there, will this reduce range when usin Wlan?

  #11  
Old 07-07-2007, 07:45 AM
CrispyDuck CrispyDuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
CrispyDuck is on a distinguished road
The change to the TX power i think effects range. just trial and error to test. Its changing the 100mV to 4mV.

Hmm im at a loss if you followed mine and buchos info. Did you double check?

  #12  
Old 07-07-2007, 04:06 PM
EMESS EMESS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
EMESS is on a distinguished road
Turn 3G off, that does the trick...

  #13  
Old 07-07-2007, 05:03 PM
Dylanlewis2000 Dylanlewis2000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
Dylanlewis2000 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by EMESS View Post
Turn 3G off, that does the trick...
How do you turn the 3g off? Why should i do that?

  #14  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:52 AM
dez_borders dez_borders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,686
dez_borders is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylanlewis2000 View Post
I dont think we have the same N95... my menu doesnt have what you are telling me to look for...
What network is your Handset? Some networks brand their phones and hide this menu. You probably do not have the Internet Telephone app either, so VOIP is disabled.

If this is the case, you could consider de-branding using NSS and NSU.
__________________
Phone History: Nokia 3310,7650, 6680, N70, N80, N95, N83, N96, N97...? HTC_Desire (with FroYo 2.2)
Ads

  #15  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:56 AM
Dylanlewis2000 Dylanlewis2000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
Dylanlewis2000 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dez_borders View Post
What network is your Handset? Some networks brand their phones and hide this menu. You probably do not have the Internet Telephone app either, so VOIP is disabled.

If this is the case, you could consider de-branding using NSS and NSU.
Done it now lol how do i turn 3g off? What is the advantage of leaving it on?
 

Bookmarks

Tags
battery, n95

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Skins, Side Schemes & Color Roman Nokia 9300 and 9500 571 22-09-2011 01:10 AM
Stop press: Nokia N95 in 'Battery not that bad' shocker! slitchfield Series 60 36 19-11-2007 09:43 PM
N95 battery getting better as time goes by??? captdan Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 9 15-06-2007 09:12 AM
N95 1000mAh Battery now available!!! srw985 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 19 11-06-2007 02:06 PM
Nokia N95 Battery azzy Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 4 04-04-2007 10:40 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy