All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 15-06-2007, 03:40 AM
Arthur Daily Arthur Daily is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Arthur Daily is on a distinguished road
The *Web: No gateway reply* Problem, Help Please

Hello guys, just joined the forum so be gentle

Here's the story,
Got my N95 Branded O2 UK with firmware 10. something.
Thanks to info on this forum i managed to change the product code
and successfully Upgraded the firmware to 11. something.

Upgrade went smoothly and so did the Restore

Everything works fine EXEPT the WLAN Browsing.
i get error Web: No gateway reply


I Must Point Out that before the upgrade, when using the O2 firmware 10. something

i got no error,

I could connect & use to My WLAN & my Nabours (open) WLAN
But now after the Upgrade i get 'Web: No gateway reply'

Connecting to the WLAN works, but try to surf and its.. Web: No gateway reply.





Ive searched and googled for many hours and tried a few 'fixes' with no joy.
So what did O2 and FW 10. have right, that 0536062 EURO1 - Plum & its firmware get wrong?

Perhaps someone on O2 or even FW 10. could post up their settings
or is this a BUG that cannot be fixed without a newer firmware.

Last question is, if i change the product code back to O2's one. Can i Downgrade
back to their firmware?
Ads

  #2  
Old 15-06-2007, 07:11 AM
ivanm ivanm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
ivanm is on a distinguished road
I've just got a N95 from orange and have the same problem when trying to connect to my home wireless broadband. "Web. No gateway reply"

Ivan ????

  #3  
Old 15-06-2007, 07:16 AM
daffie daffie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 39
daffie is on a distinguished road
Try changing the advanced setting under Wlan settings. Options ? Advanced settings > Power saving > disabled. Restart phone.

  #4  
Old 15-06-2007, 12:57 PM
Arthur Daily Arthur Daily is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Arthur Daily is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by daffie View Post
Try changing the advanced setting under Wlan settings. Options ? Advanced settings > Power saving > disabled. Restart phone.
That was one of the 1st things i tried, With no luck I'm afraid :(


The 'upgrade' dose have a few improvements, But the loss of WLAN i would call
a major disadvantage. I'm relay regretting the so called upgrade now.

Dose each Product code have its own Firmware? Perhaps its a PLUM thing?
also is it possible to 'Downgrade'? i really want my WiFi back :(


I'm REALY considering 'breaking' the phone and returning it to the shop for a replacement (then sticking with the branded FW)


After looking into it deeper, this problem is to widespread for there not to be a definitive diagnoses. (if not fix)

  #5  
Old 15-06-2007, 01:32 PM
PMitchell PMitchell is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 119
PMitchell is on a distinguished road
You could try formatting the phone (switch off, press and hold 3 + * + green and while pressing and holding switch it on.

  #6  
Old 15-06-2007, 02:01 PM
Arthur Daily Arthur Daily is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Arthur Daily is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PMitchell View Post
You could try formatting the phone (switch off, press and hold 3 + * + green and while pressing and holding switch it on.
Tried that also, about 4am :(

The problems seem to be some settings (or bug) in the 11. firmware
that strangely enough are OK in the older 10. firmware.


as a last resort, could anyone suggest a way to 'break' the software so
IF i return it to the shop, they cant power it up and see the unbranded software?

  #7  
Old 15-06-2007, 03:36 PM
PMitchell PMitchell is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 119
PMitchell is on a distinguished road
BTW, have you tried a third AP? Is there maybe a newer Firmware for the WiFi AP? Really, it should not behave this way...

What happens, when you just open the browser and select one of the WiFi networks? For me this works just fine.

  #8  
Old 16-06-2007, 04:03 AM
Arthur Daily Arthur Daily is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Arthur Daily is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PMitchell View Post
BTW, have you tried a third AP? Is there maybe a newer Firmware for the WiFi AP? Really, it should not behave this way...

What happens, when you just open the browser and select one of the WiFi networks? For me this works just fine.
For me it USED to work fine,
Then i changed the product code - updated the FW and now this :(
EVERYONE i know with this problem says apps like OPERA (or mini opera) works fine.

This is something to do with how the Nokia 11. firmware handles the WiFi.
Remember it Connects to the (any) Router no problem, But try n goto a web page and i get the error.
there are realy quite a lot of people with this problem.


Now im not so botherd to fix it, i just want the 10. O2 branded firmware back
But im quite sure its impossible to Downgrade, and even more impossible to get
a copy of the O2 uk firmware to Downgrade too.

I think my ONLY option is to Fu*k up the software and return it to the shop
pretending it just stopped working, For a replacement.

Would a format wipe the firmware off making the phone nonworking?

  #9  
Old 16-06-2007, 10:01 AM
dez_borders dez_borders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,686
dez_borders is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Daily View Post
This is something to do with how the Nokia 11. firmware handles the WiFi. Remember it Connects to the (any) Router no problem, But try n goto a web page and i get the error.
there are realy quite a lot of people with this problem.
I have the V11 firmware on 2 N95's and neither of them have the no gateway reply problem during Web Browsing.

What AP settings do you have in the web browser? I have mine set to Always Ask and I do sometimes fail to detect the router. However once I detect and connect to the router, I never experience no gateway reply during web browsing. Perhaps you have a named AP set as the default connection and when the router is not detected first time, you get the no gateway reply error?? Try using Always Ask instead and let us know if it makes a difference to you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Daily View Post
I think my ONLY option is to Fu*k up the software and return it to the shop pretending it just stopped working, For a replacement. Would a format wipe the firmware off making the phone nonworking?
No, the only way to change the firmware is to re-flash the handset.

I think bricking the handset is unneccessary and inadvisable but if you really want to do this, use NSU to re-apply the same (V11) Firmware but disconnect the USB cable about halfway through the process. You have a good chance of rendering the phone unbootable.

The DANGER here is that NSU will only re-apply V11 FW with the changed product code present, not the original O2 code. If you hand the bricked N95 back to O2 for repair and their engineer discovers either the product code has been changed or that you applied (V11) firmware not supported by O2, then they could invalidate your warranty and return the dead N95 to you unrepaired.

However, I think it's unlikely they will check for either of the above and simply re-flash the phone using an engineering dead-phone-flash software. The downside to this scenario is that all N-Series phones are programmed to refuse to downgrade Firmware, so at best you will end up with your handset returned in working condition but with the same V11 Firmware you wanted to get rid of.

Please keep us posted on whether you get a replacement handset from O2 and if it improves your Web Browsing experience.
__________________
Phone History: Nokia 3310,7650, 6680, N70, N80, N95, N83, N96, N97...? HTC_Desire (with FroYo 2.2)

Last edited by dez_borders; 16-06-2007 at 10:39 AM.

  #10  
Old 16-06-2007, 10:16 AM
Halon's Avatar
Halon Halon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 377
Halon is on a distinguished road
I changed a Vodafone UK branded N95 to v11 generic and have no gateway problems, other than those described by Dez above.

Just as an observation, but I note that the Vodafone Live! website will NEVER work through the router and can be accessed through WAP.

  #11  
Old 17-06-2007, 03:57 AM
Arthur Daily Arthur Daily is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Arthur Daily is on a distinguished road
Well im sorry to say (and must confess) ive left the n95 brotherhood.
Not that im dissing the phone. i just had a bad experience is all.
So im back to the old Windows mobile on the new XDA thing, cant remember the name.

Yes i bricked the n95 and got this as a strate replacement,
less than 14 days and you can return any thing back the place you got it.
after that it would have had to been a nokia service centre.

But anyway, i must Thank you who tried to help.

  #12  
Old 27-06-2007, 02:27 AM
my_rhythm my_rhythm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
my_rhythm is on a distinguished road
WIFI full story

Hi all!
i do have the same problem WEB: no gateway reply
i had the luck to test three different setups in three different places:

1- At work we have a share WIFI connection set up is as follow:
Network status: public
WLAN network mode: infrastructure
WLAN security mode: Open network
no advanced settings
2- At the hotel we have free WIFI with the same setup:
Network status: public
WLAN network mode: infrastructure
WLAN security mode: Open network
no advanced settings
3-At my friend place there's a secured network with WPA/WPA2 setup:
Network status: public
WLAN network mode: infrastructure
WLAN security mode: WPA/WPA2
no advanced settings

the only place i can browse is at the Hotel this is why:
At the hotel the connection is totally free no login page no secured connection therefore the phone connects and opens the webpage immediately

At work, with the same WIFI configuration as the hotel I canít browse because:
Once the phone connects and the browser try to open the page the router wants to reroute me to the login page but the phone never get there

At my friend place I cant connect at all!:
The phone after typing the shared key immediately stops with an error message

Iíve to say that before the last firmware update 11 I could browse the work WIFI no problem
I also have a colleague which is using N80 with no problems at all LUKY HIM!!!
You donít know how long he has been laughing at my FACE!!!
I did try the to turn off the WLAN power saving no chance that is NOT THE PROBLEM
Off course I cant tell to the company or to my friend to mess up with their routers CAN I

Some smart one says that there is a bug on the client DHCP of the mobile phone, practically the phone doesnít receive any info from the AP therefore it cant go anywhere without IP and DSN with the suggestion to type CMD at the RUN window to check the ipconfig /all to edit the IP and DSN by guess butÖÖ. If Iíve got a N95 I donít want to go out also with my laptop WOULD I????

Therefore dear support gurus and engineers when is that NOKIA is going to fix this problem????

thank you to find the time to read throu this but i'm sure we have to wait longher for an answer....
see you later

  #13  
Old 27-06-2007, 10:32 AM
millski millski is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 103
millski is on a distinguished road
I had this same problem after upgrading. I fixed it by going in to Settings/Connection/Access Points, going to my WLAN access point and editing it's security settings. The upgrade switched my WEP key from hexadecimal to ASCII, so I just switched it back. Hope that helps someone!

  #14  
Old 27-06-2007, 12:30 PM
pa49 pa49 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 400
pa49 is on a distinguished road
When you upgrade the firmware after an unbrand (changing the product code) NEVER backup and restore the phone!
You take a branded OS and wipe it to vanilla and then restore branded settings which have consequences.
The unbranded, upgraded and then fresh installed phone will have no Wlan problems. Run Wlan wizard if you must!

  #15  
Old 11-07-2007, 07:43 AM
dpt1202 dpt1202 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
dpt1202 is on a distinguished road
Found a work around for N95 WLAN errors

I have been plagued by WLAN problems. I personally believe it is a Nokia software issue(s) and they should fix it.
I get all kind of connection problems:
"WLAN Unable to connect"
"No network found" (when the signal on my PC is to its max)
"No Gateway"
"No answer from Gateway"
and others I can't remember...
I tried several of the provided solutions (manual WLAN configuration,...) to no avail.

Anyway, here is what I found to make it work on my N95:
Menu>Applications>Gmail (on my phone I have to select it twice??? why???) then >Yes to "Allow application Gmail to use network....">Search for WLAN>Select the WLAN you want to use>it will load you into Gmail (I sometimes also have to do this step twice (??? many bugs by Nokia!!!!)

Once you are there:
Hold the menu key down to see all the running applications
Switch to the "Standby" (regular phone desktop)
From this screen select the little globe (Web browsing)
Pick up a bookedmark URL or type in where you want to go
It will ask you to "Select access point"
Select: Search for WLAN and it works!!!!

From there on, it stays connected and works. You can even go back to the running applications and shut down Gmail, you web browser will still go on....

I did not try this with a secure network but as soon as I get to my office I will see if it works.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
gateway, problem, reply, web

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi Problem: no reaction from gateway 147gadgets Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 10 09-05-2007 07:27 AM
Strange Problem N-gageQD,Slow For 10 sec Then it work Normal Fi5hy Nokia N-Gage and N-Gage QD 2 11-06-2005 10:45 AM
N-Gage QD problem m0uth Nokia N-Gage and N-Gage QD 5 07-06-2005 09:25 PM
HELP!!! Theme Studio ----> creating Themes Problem jey_son_999 S60 Software 0 14-05-2005 11:31 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:08 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy