All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 16-12-2006, 06:21 PM
coolamit coolamit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
coolamit is on a distinguished road
Cool updating symantec av without gprs?

HI
I recently got my N70 Music Edition. It has Symantec AV in it with firewall but the virus definitions are old. My current teleco doesn't provide GPRS. Can anyone tell me how can I update my virus definitions?

thanks in advance.

  #2  
Old 17-12-2006, 02:02 PM
N/A's Avatar
N/A N/A is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,949
N/A is on a distinguished road
Maybe you don't need to do it at all: http://3lib.ukonline.co.uk/viruses.htm

  #3  
Old 17-12-2006, 06:12 PM
coolamit coolamit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
coolamit is on a distinguished road
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A
Maybe you don't need to do it at all: http://3lib.ukonline.co.uk/viruses.htm
yeah I know that, but its just like how Mac & Linux users behave when someone tells them about a virus/worm & tells them to have protection. being a software developer, I know that no software is perfect. any of them can be compromised at anytime since the developers are also human & testing is also done by humans, & mistakes happen! so there's no harm in being prepared, prevention is after all better than cure!
Ads

  #4  
Old 21-12-2006, 05:41 AM
mandar-seo mandar-seo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
mandar-seo is on a distinguished road
The main source for viruses is the GPRS. You just said that you don't have it so there is no need of update the virus definition. If you are installing any softwares through computer by connecting data cable then by same way you can update the definitions otherwise.

With regards,
Mandar Thosar

  #5  
Old 21-12-2006, 07:52 AM
coolamit coolamit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
coolamit is on a distinguished road
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mandar-seo
If you are installing any softwares through computer by connecting data cable then by same way you can update the definitions otherwise.
now how can I do that?? as far as I know, I read at Symantec site which said that LiveUpdate server needs to be installed for that. or did I read it wrong? tell me how can I update definitions via my PC?

  #6  
Old 26-12-2006, 02:34 PM
coolamit coolamit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
coolamit is on a distinguished road
I didn't find a way to update virus definitions using the internet connection on my PC. :( Now I've got GPRS so I update virus definitions via LiveUpdate using that.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
gprs, symantec, updating

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Settings difference in GPRS WAP and GPRS INTERNET lanwarrior2000 Nokia 7650 7 21-05-2005 11:52 PM
Nokia 9500 & Symantec LiveUpdate Wireless Virus Definitions not updating The Claw Nokia 9300 and 9500 25 08-02-2005 11:14 AM
O2 UK contract Agile and Opera working GPRS settings! dale!!! Nokia 6600 and 6620 8 03-02-2005 10:45 AM
Can I browse with GPRS? What can I do with GPRS? AndreMR Nokia N-Gage and N-Gage QD 1 14-01-2005 02:35 AM
Once having a GPRS account you can't use bluetooth internet? Boeky Nokia 7650 2 26-05-2004 01:58 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy