All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 16-11-2006, 11:05 AM
slitchfield slitchfield is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,002
slitchfield is on a distinguished road
HanDBase hits S60 3rd Edition

HanDBase the professional database system that's been such a major player in the Palm OS and Windows Mobile worlds over the last five years, has now been made available for S60 3rd Edition (2nd Edition has been supported for a while), albeit in beta form. If you're into databases on your smartphone, get involved with the beta - this is one app I for one really want to see mature on Symbian OS.

Read on in the full article.

  #2  
Old 16-11-2006, 09:31 PM
slitchfield slitchfield is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,002
slitchfield is on a distinguished road
Worth pointing out that it works brilliantly, but that you should ignore the PDF instructions, which say to put files in the wrong folder. You SHOULD be putting your databases in \Data\handbase3 on either disk.

There'll be a review, or at least a review refresh along shortly....

Steve
__________________
Steve Litchfield, Admin, AAS

  #3  
Old 17-11-2006, 09:49 AM
tspierings tspierings is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 46
tspierings is on a distinguished road
Looks promising

The HanDBase app looks promising. A few small questions:

1. Is it possible to automatically sync with the desktop during a normal synchronization session (so that I do not have to manually copy the files for backup purposes)
2. The font on the N73 in the list view is fairly big. Can I change this to a smaller font?
3. It is a bit unclear if there is a Symbian S60 version that allows for user defined input forms. Is there a professional version available which can do this?
__________________
2210 > 7110 > 6310i > 6230 > Qtek 9100 > N73 >N82

  #4  
Old 17-11-2006, 09:56 AM
tspierings tspierings is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 46
tspierings is on a distinguished road
Something else. I noticed I cannot delete a record on the N73 by simply pressing C. I can only delete ALL records. Did I miss something?
__________________
2210 > 7110 > 6310i > 6230 > Qtek 9100 > N73 >N82

  #5  
Old 17-11-2006, 05:35 PM
slitchfield slitchfield is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,002
slitchfield is on a distinguished road
1. No, not possible, ever.
2. Ask the developers in beta feedback.
3. Not entirely sure what you mean, but again, ask the developers via the beta feedback email address.
4. I agree, this function seems to be missing, let the developers know etc.

Steve
__________________
Steve Litchfield, Admin, AAS
Ads
 

Bookmarks

Tags
3rd, edition, handbase, hits, s60

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navicore GPS Navigator for S60 3rd Edition Rafe Series 60 12 24-08-2006 07:16 PM
State of S60 3rd Edition Software updated Rafe Series 60 3 02-08-2006 08:34 AM
ZingMagic release S60 3rd Edition and UIQ 3 Games Rafe UIQ 0 14-06-2006 10:53 AM
+ The SDK for S60 3rd Edition is now available! Apocalypso S60 (Series 60) 0 25-01-2006 07:01 AM
+ The SDK for S60 3rd Edition is now available! Apocalypso S60 Software 0 25-01-2006 07:00 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy