All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 19-07-2004, 12:06 PM
lactel lactel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
lactel is on a distinguished road
7610 change firmware and language

hello

a friend of mine will give me a 7610. its a thai phone who is probably made in china.
This phone come with thai and chinese menu and T9 for message.
I would like to have at least both french and english T9 and it will be great if I can also get chinese font and/or T9

I go back in france next week and I wonder if I go to a nokia service center and ask them to flash with french FW if it will work or not ? I heard that language might be in a chip that cant be changed.
I also heard that PPM must be changed.
can I break the phone if I try to download FW from another region

If I must keep built in language, how can i get also french for T9 ?
I look at q9tech but its only for chinese input

hope someone know something about that... Thanks...

Last edited by lactel; 19-07-2004 at 12:27 PM.
Ads

  #2  
Old 19-07-2004, 01:34 PM
N/A's Avatar
N/A N/A is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,949
N/A is on a distinguished road
An authorized Nokia service center can change the set of languages by reflashing the phone. No hardware modifications are required.

  #3  
Old 20-07-2004, 09:14 AM
lactel lactel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
lactel is on a distinguished road
I called Nokia France. They said phone might change a bit in some country and they dont know if it will work or not. They say it's better to call service center.
Phone may have a rom for builtin language who is not flashable. Especially chinese who needs more space to put all characters.

Nokia service center say its impossible but in a way who means """we dont know but we do not want to try to avoid trouble if something wrong and anyway, if you do not buy in our shop, go to hell"""

I can ask here but my chinese is not good enough. Anyway they will say "yes its possible". If I ask if I can make coffee with my mobile, they will say yes.

Did somebody buy a phone in asia and change FW and/or language in EU ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A
An authorized Nokia service center can change the set of languages by reflashing the phone. No hardware modifications are required.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
7610, change, firmware, language

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firmware upgrade to different language possible? superbanana Siemens SX1 0 17-05-2004 08:23 AM
Language pack and update of firmware Josie Nokia 6600 and 6620 1 27-12-2003 05:38 PM
Scandanavian keyboard with UK version firmware... alloydog Nokia 9210 and 9290 19 07-04-2003 04:36 AM
Griffin Flasher: Update your Communicator firmware yourself Nokia 9210 and 9290 20 30-03-2003 12:58 PM
Chinese 3650 language change Chris_Isaacs Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 10 02-03-2003 12:15 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy