All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 15-06-2004, 04:26 AM
Anonymouse

Talking Some simple, newbish questions about NGage!

Hey all, I am totally new to this, just got my NGage TODAY, and I'm stoked to see all the possibilities of this thing!

I had that common issue with not understanding why I couldn't use the PC suite software, which I finally understood after arriving at these forums! However, I have a few other questions, probably very simple to answer:

1.) Exactly how much FREE built-in memory does the NGage have?

2.) What exactly is the point of having the little white T-Mobile chip installed in the NGage? I know it's necessary to use the unit, but what is it FOR, really?

3.) Is it possible to connect to the internet via a Wireless Router in my home with the NGage, and do things like browse the web, or check email?

4.) How exactly do I set the NGage up to be used as a phone? I would assume I need a T-Mobile cell phone account and everything?

5.) How do I change the background on the NGage?! Mine is that swirly red-and-yellow one, but I can't figure out how to set any of the other images as the background!

Thanks all!

Old 15-06-2004, 06:18 AM
Ye Olde Administratorium

Ewan is a splendid one to beholdEwan is a splendid one to beholdEwan is a splendid one to beholdEwan is a splendid one to beholdEwan is a splendid one to beholdEwan is a splendid one to behold
1) You have a total of 4mb of STORAGE (roughly 3.4mb free after the default stuff is in place) and 16mb of RAM for program execution

2) It's a SIM card - and tells the network who you are and who to bill for calls

3) Yes it's possible. Search the forum for the3 answer

4) Yes, call up T-NMobile and I'm sure they'll take some money from you

5) It's in SETTINGS DEVICE STANDBY BACKGROUND-IMAGE
-- Twitter: @ewan

Old 15-06-2004, 09:27 AM

blindpilot is on a distinguished road
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ewan