All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 30-05-2004, 03:00 AM
Trinitron

HELP NEEDED! : 3gp file received as an email attachement

Help needed, I have received a 3gp movie clip as an email attachement in my nokia 6600 and when I try to open the attachement, I get "UNABLE TO OPEN OBJECT TYPE NOT SUPPORTED". The file isn't corrupt as I have forwarded it to my pc and its a valid 3gp movie.

The movie is from a friend in Japan so it has to be emailed as MMS doesnt seem to work.

Is there anyway of getting the attachement saved onto my phone or card memory. I'm not a newbie so I know that these options aren't visibly available.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Trin.

Old 30-05-2004, 01:24 PM
Job

You can xfer it back to your phone via bluetooth/infrared or memory card reader.

If you don't have any of these I recommend getting one, memory card reader being the fastest.

The 6600 can be funny with video files, as usual these numbnuts couldnt organise a piss up in a brewery.

Every goddam new Nokia that comes out has some problem with some service.

It may have the .3gp extension but there are 2 types h263 and mp4 (yes they did it, the dickweeds)

WAS IT TOO DIFFICULT TO MAKE JUST ONE FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Realplayer SHOULD handle both, but his encoder ,possibly his I-Mode phone I'm guessing. may be slightly different.

PC handles it but phone can't (you get what I mean).

Old 30-05-2004, 10:52 PM
trinitron

Thanks for the reply.

Hiya,
Yes I think you are correct, I beamed the attachment to my pda and then beamed it back (what a joke right?!) but it still wouldn't play. So I do assume that the Japanese format of .3gp is different eventhough it does work with quicktime on my pc.

Oh well, I guess its another example of none standardisation in the IT world. Reminds me of the DVD R + - nonsense.

I guess we'll all be buying more expensive kit next year as we'll want our phone to be multi format.