All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 27-02-2004, 11:46 AM
Joelay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
N-Gage hard reset

Anyone knows how to format N-Gage without or before starting up the phone?Some kind of combo of key pressing or something else?Thanks!

  #2  
Old 28-02-2004, 01:46 AM
Ismail's Avatar
Ismail Ismail is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Q8
Posts: 1,195
Ismail is on a distinguished road
heres howngage restart
__________________
If you can read this, than you can read!

  #3  
Old 28-02-2004, 02:13 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
Ismai,he asked for a key kombo that can be pressed before the N-Gage is started.There is no such thing.
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #4  
Old 04-03-2004, 12:54 AM
ghost_1 ghost_1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: US
Posts: 8
ghost_1 is on a distinguished road
You could try using FEXplorer

I use FEXplorer to restet my ngage all the time. But then again I guess that might be considered a soft reset.
__________________
Try before you say anything.

  #5  
Old 01-07-2004, 03:15 PM
cosmicaeons
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost_1
I use FEXplorer to restet my ngage all the time. But then again I guess that might be considered a soft reset.
Another way to soft-reset your phone is to type *#7370# while in standby (if you haven't changed your lock code - it's 12345)

  #6  
Old 06-08-2004, 01:45 AM
HiJinx HiJinx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
HiJinx is on a distinguished road
Circumventing the dreaded Nokia Logo Freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostDog
Ismai,he asked for a key kombo that can be pressed before the N-Gage is started.There is no such thing.
I have a Nokia N-Gage QD which has been soft-reset three times in the following matter. This may be a bit "seat of your pants" but it seems to work for me. Now mind you, I am a bit adventuresome but try to keep about 1 MB free at all times in RAM. I have installed and uninstalled a variety of software (sometimes with stange results).

Here we go;
Should your N-Gage QD freeze on the Nokia logo (which prevents use of the *#7370# code) do exactly this. Try it several times if necessary.

1) Remove the MMC Card from the N-Gage QD while its still powered on
2) Power off the N-Gage QD
3) Power on the N-Gage QD
4) Insert the MMC Card (I use the Tony Hawk Game MMC that came with the QD)
5) Power off the N-Gage QD while the MMC Card is installed
6) Power on the N-Gage QD while the MMC Card is installed
7) After the Nokia logo displays for several seconds, remove the MMC Card
8) Wait several seconds
9) Hopefully the SIM login menu will appear
10) If it does not work initially, repeat steps 1- 8

Have faith, this has worked for me within three shots each time. It should work for you too if there is enough RAM free in the QD.

Because the Nokia N-Gage QD lacks a physical Soft-Reset Button/Detent/Pin-Hole, (ala a Palm OS or Pocket PC device) the MMC Card slot is the only method of accessing any hardware/software instructions should the device freeze-up.

Good Luck!
__________________
I'll try ALMOST anything once...
Ads

  #7  
Old 06-08-2004, 01:27 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
If that works it will only work for the QD since the Classic is not hotswapable.
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #8  
Old 17-09-2004, 08:03 AM
nujum
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hard reset for symbian phone

Dear ...Guy

So due to the Hard Reset in the Symbian phone everyday approx. 2 time per day therefore i would like to know how to effect on the phone ,please kindly share your information to me
TQ.

  #9  
Old 08-01-2005, 10:26 AM
ultrazonerc ultrazonerc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
ultrazonerc is on a distinguished road
Question

HiJinx, i am able to use the battery on my ngage (original) and still take my mmc in and out (by also puttin tape over the protection lug in front of the mmc. I have the white screen of death problem and was wondering if there was a way to use this method u have used on your QD on my ngage 1. any help is much appreciated as getting re-flashed will cost me heaps (lost warranty card)

After the nokia logo, it doesnt stay on, it powers off, but can we still hotswap??

THANK YOU
 

Bookmarks

Tags
hard, ngage, reset

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy