All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 17-06-2003, 03:03 PM

The Mus is on a distinguished road
Support Software Developers

I am not a software developer but I understand 1 simple thing, software developers are the companies and people who will make my Sony Ericsson P800 better and help it reach its potential. Without developers competing and pushing the envelope to bring out new and exciting applications the SE P800 would be a good phone, just not a great one. Without our support, especially for the premier applications and developers, there will be no motivation for them to invest time and money into developing new, exciting and user friendly applications.

The problem with Warez CDs that promise 500+ applications for $15 is that from making this purchase you are not supporting the developers of the applications. When considering to purchase such a CD the following must be taken into account -

1. You have to ask yourself "what are you buying?" How do you know the files wont corrupt your phone or even if the serial numbers supplied will work? If your phone is corrupted, warranty will not cover its repair, what will you do?

2. You will have no acess to support if needed.

3. Software developers are smart people, what will you do when you want to upgrade your pirated software? What will they do to you? The market for mobile phone applications is far smaller than the market for PC software, these developers must protect their market share... to do so they may implement security measures... imagine your phone shutting down and unable to be used because a security measure was activated. This would not be a hard thing to do, remember Symbian 7 is a very developer friendly OS and software developers are smart people.