All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 11-12-2006, 02:29 AM
AfroMan AfroMan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
AfroMan is on a distinguished road
p990i or TyTN

Hi, I want to buy a new mobile, and this time I was thinking of going with smartphone. I came to a choice between Sony Ericsson p990i and HTC TyTN. I have heard a lot of bad reviews about p990i on the net.

So my question is, is p990i really worth it? or should I go for TyTN?

  #2  
Old 11-12-2006, 08:59 AM
kingrob's Avatar
kingrob kingrob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Centurion, South Africa
Posts: 281
kingrob is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AfroMan
Hi, I want to buy a new mobile, and this time I was thinking of going with smartphone. I came to a choice between Sony Ericsson p990i and HTC TyTN. I have heard a lot of bad reviews about p990i on the net.

So my question is, is p990i really worth it? or should I go for TyTN?
I think most of the bad reviews about the P990i is because when it got released, the phone's firmware was not 'up to scratch'. I got a P990i two weeks ago and absolutely love it. Had no 'crashes' etc. like in the earlier days.

*A friend of mine had the HP 6915 PDA phone for about two weeks, but then wanted to drive over it. He says it's a good PDA, but useless phone. Oh, and the call quality of the P990i is superb. Much better than the HP.

But the TyTN is also not a bad choice...you decide!
__________________
''Remember you're unique - like everybody else.''

  #3  
Old 11-12-2006, 12:19 PM
koolezt koolezt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
koolezt is on a distinguished road
Question so is it fixed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingrob
... Had no 'crashes' etc. like in the earlier days. ...
kool What's your organizer firmware version?
Ads

  #4  
Old 11-12-2006, 05:53 PM
kingrob's Avatar
kingrob kingrob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Centurion, South Africa
Posts: 281
kingrob is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by koolezt
kool What's your organizer firmware version?
Organizer : R3B01
__________________
''Remember you're unique - like everybody else.''

  #5  
Old 11-12-2006, 07:49 PM
koolezt koolezt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
koolezt is on a distinguished road
stable organizer r3b01

that's interesting. i've had r3b01 since oct 7 with crashes on a daily basis. Do you do much work with photos or contacts, or do you switch in and out of the browser? i seem to have problems there, even though i use swiss manager pro heavily.

  #6  
Old 13-12-2006, 06:34 AM
kingrob's Avatar
kingrob kingrob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Centurion, South Africa
Posts: 281
kingrob is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by koolezt
that's interesting. i've had r3b01 since oct 7 with crashes on a daily basis. Do you do much work with photos or contacts, or do you switch in and out of the browser? i seem to have problems there, even though i use swiss manager pro heavily.
Your p990i Vodafone branded?
__________________
''Remember you're unique - like everybody else.''

  #7  
Old 13-12-2006, 05:57 PM
koolezt koolezt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
koolezt is on a distinguished road
branding

no, the phone is sim-free o2 uk. it works with other sims, service info shows no locks, and i find only 3 traces of o2
  1. the sim connects to the o2 network;
  2. an o2 item in the tools menu that seems to do nothing;

    and
  3. an internet wizard in the connections control panel that downloads o2 wap, gprs and mms settings.

  #8  
Old 13-12-2006, 09:18 PM
kingrob's Avatar
kingrob kingrob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Centurion, South Africa
Posts: 281
kingrob is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by koolezt
no, the phone is sim-free o2 uk. it works with other sims, service info shows no locks, and i find only 3 traces of o2
  1. the sim connects to the o2 network;
  2. an o2 item in the tools menu that seems to do nothing;

    and
  3. an internet wizard in the connections control panel that downloads o2 wap, gprs and mms settings.
I'm with MTN in South Africa and there's no 'branding' on the phone - it's 'stock' SonyEricsson.

However, people on the Vodacom network all get the Vodafone branded P990is' - and they're having huge problems with it.

Not sure what might be causing your phone to crash then??
__________________
''Remember you're unique - like everybody else.''
 

Bookmarks

Tags
p990i, tytn

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P990i as MP3 player or use separate? TheJoker Sony Ericsson P990 5 02-04-2008 06:09 PM
P990i - BlackBerry Install Guide For Dummies Bigfeat Sony Ericsson P990 7 30-04-2007 11:04 AM
P990i not detected by mRouter SJR Sony Ericsson P990 4 17-11-2006 10:27 AM
Communicators - Head to Head - E70 vs TyTN vs P990i slitchfield UIQ 33 05-10-2006 05:40 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:18 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy