All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 26-04-2008, 06:07 PM

NolanP is on a distinguished road
How do I unlock & update firmware for a 3 N95 8G

Hi all, you must get this all of the time. I am completely new to mobile phones so excuses my naivety.

I bought a nearly new N95 8G phone off a guy who was with three. I am with Orange and want to use my Orange SIM card & tariff.

I have looked a fair bit of the forums on how to unlock a N95 8G but all the posts seem to relate to Vodafone with virtually no post for three.

Does anyone know how I can do this or point me in the right direction? Three wanted an admin fee and to charge for every month left on the previous owners contract which would have amounted to big bucks.

Thanks,
Paul

Old 26-04-2008, 11:19 PM

14all is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by NolanP View Post
Hi all, you must get this all of the time. I am completely new to mobile phones so excuses my naivety.

I bought a nearly new N95 8G phone off a guy who was with three. I am with Orange and want to use my Orange SIM card & tariff.

I have looked a fair bit of the forums on how to unlock a N95 8G but all the posts seem to relate to Vodafone with virtually no post for three.

Does anyone know how I can do this or point me in the right direction? Three wanted an admin fee and to charge for every month left on the previous owners contract which would have amounted to big bucks.

Thanks,
Paul
With most phones and this includes most N95 8GB, take it to a decent mobile phone shop and get them to unlock it, about £15.

Then use your existing Orange sim, remember unlocking is not debranding.

You can ask mobile phone shop to do this, might cost extra if at all possible with a three phone.

Old 27-04-2008, 07:27 AM

Thanks

Thanks 14, it so happens I lie near Hounslow where there mobile phone shops are ten a penny.