All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 05-05-2003, 03:35 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Gameboy Advance Emulator

Will there ever be possible? This is illegal if you have the orig. games.

  #2  
Old 05-05-2003, 03:36 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ooops

I mean legal.

  #3  
Old 05-05-2003, 04:19 PM
Tatuagem Tatuagem is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 312
Tatuagem is on a distinguished road
there already is a gameboy/gbc emulator available... look for "goboy"
__________________
---------------------------------------
It's not a home video!! ok?!?! ...It's a PHONE video!!
---------------------------------------
(#uminho na ptnet)

  #4  
Old 05-05-2003, 04:27 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
GameBoy advance,i dont think that the 104 MHZ arm that the 3650 has is powerfull enough.

Like Tatuagem,get GoBoy from www.wildpalm.co.uk
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #5  
Old 05-05-2003, 04:33 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
but Tony Hawk Skateboarding is sooo coool with Advanced.

  #6  
Old 05-05-2003, 04:40 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
But Quake3 is so cool on my Dual Athlon MP 1800 with 1GB ram and Radeon 9700.
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #7  
Old 05-05-2003, 05:11 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostDog
But Quake3 is so cool on my Dual Athlon MP 1800 with 1GB ram and Radeon 9700.
Q3 sucks. Doom on 3650 rulez.... =)

  #8  
Old 16-05-2003, 06:38 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
There is a GBA emulator called Boycott Advance, and if I am not mistaken somebody has already begun a java port of it (.jar file). Try searching google for it. When I get home from work I may be able to post a link to it, although it may be too heavy for the 3650 to run.

Rick

  #9  
Old 16-05-2003, 08:12 PM
fearce fearce is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 427
fearce is on a distinguished road
so let me get this straight.... u jus said there might already be GBA emulator for the 3650?
__________________
I have my Fantastic 3650!!
With 16mb card
Silver/Grey in colour
As Standard!!
Ads

  #10  
Old 16-05-2003, 09:30 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
Yes,there is,for PC and some other platforms,but not for the 3650
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #11  
Old 17-05-2003, 11:41 AM
SwitchBlade's Avatar
SwitchBlade SwitchBlade is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,876
SwitchBlade is on a distinguished road
What everyone forgets is that the GBA is just a miniturised SNES, hence all the SNES re-releases on it. BTW it's legal (in the UK at least) to have ROMs of the games you OWN, as you are allowed to make a backup copy. If you do not own the game then to have the ROM is illegal.

As for power, the 3650 should have enough power to rival the device, but there is the downside that it'll require a lot of low level coding to get the speed out of the device, not just a simple port of Boycott.
__________________
Millennia in the future, the Earth is now a dead world and man has colonised the galaxy.
Now the galaxy is about to discover that man is not alone...
www.postearthsaga.co.uk
A weekly science fiction serial by me, written on a 9500/E90.

  #12  
Old 19-05-2003, 07:56 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Exactly. It would most likely take somebody writing the app specifically for the Series 60 in order to get the best performance out of it as Java is not necessarily known for its speed. I did download the Java port of it the other day and transferred it over via bluetooth. However, when I tried to open the .jar file it said that the file was corrupted so no, the java port of BA does not presently work on a Nokia 3650 as far as I can tell.

If anybody out there feels like taking it upon themselves to code up a GBA emulator for the Series 60 you would have our everlasting gratitude!

  #13  
Old 19-05-2003, 09:20 PM
deathmonger's Avatar
deathmonger deathmonger is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spain
Posts: 574
deathmonger is on a distinguished road
my2c

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwitchBlade
What everyone forgets is that the GBA is just a miniturised SNES, hence all the SNES re-releases on it. BTW it's legal (in the UK at least) to have ROMs of the games you OWN, as you are allowed to make a backup copy. If you do not own the game then to have the ROM is illegal.

As for power, the 3650 should have enough power to rival the device, but there is the downside that it'll require a lot of low level coding to get the speed out of the device, not just a simple port of Boycott.
Pal, you're mistaken, GBA is 32bits and is almost as like a PSX!!! I don't think it can run on a 3650.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DeathMOnger (deathmongers@gmail.com)
Mobile History: 3310 > 8310 > 7210 > 7650 > 6600 > 6260 > N90 > N80 > N93 > N95 > N96 | 5800 XpressMusic > N97 | 7500
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  #14  
Old 21-10-2007, 05:50 AM
prat_manafa prat_manafa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
prat_manafa is on a distinguished road
dadadadaada ddddddda

  #15  
Old 21-10-2007, 02:06 PM
Tam Hanna's Avatar
Tam Hanna Tam Hanna is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Tam Hanna is on a distinguished road
Hi,
as far as I can recall from an old lesson in systems, a factor of 1:10 is required for emulation of a device.

So, a PIC CPU running at 140 MhZ could emulate another PIC running at 14MhZ totally in software. However, if the CPU's have different architectures, things look different - some CPU's can do more than one thing per cycle...
 

Bookmarks

Tags
advance, emulator, gameboy

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:01 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy