All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 27-12-2007, 09:54 AM
badeip badeip is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
badeip is on a distinguished road
W960i & WLAN (WPA/TKIP)

Hi,

I am unable to get WLAN working on my w960 with a D-Link DI-784 using WPA/TKIP.
I am sure that all needed information to get it working is correct (SSID and password), and I have two laptops with identical configuration that successfuly connect to the D-Link with the same configuration.
Are anyone getting the above to work?

Regards

-b.

Last edited by badeip; 27-12-2007 at 12:06 PM.

  #2  
Old 27-12-2007, 09:41 PM
badeip badeip is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
badeip is on a distinguished road
I have verified that "64 bit" WEP is working with the w960i, but I can't use that due to security considerations.

:-/

-b.

  #3  
Old 02-01-2008, 08:01 AM
cirrus's Avatar
cirrus cirrus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 53
cirrus is on a distinguished road
128bit WEP works too. Haven't tried WPA, but I think the phone should support it.
However, it only has 802.11b (ie 11Mbit/s) support, not the 56Mbit/s 802.11g. Perhaps you're running your WiFi in g-only mode?
__________________
Check out my sites:
James's Homepage | James's Flickr page

  #4  
Old 12-01-2008, 09:05 PM
morpheus133 morpheus133 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
morpheus133 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by cirrus View Post
128bit WEP works too. Haven't tried WPA, but I think the phone should support it.
However, it only has 802.11b (ie 11Mbit/s) support, not the 56Mbit/s 802.11g. Perhaps you're running your WiFi in g-only mode?
I also tried WPA but it didn't work. And my router run in b-only.

The question is, that the softwer or the hardwer is the thing that dosen't support the 802.11g?

  #5  
Old 29-01-2008, 11:46 AM
nabeelamjad nabeelamjad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
nabeelamjad is on a distinguished road
Well i am using wireless-G 2.4 GHZ braoadband router i use b mode only not mixed mode but my w960i still unable to find wlan device :S im really upset is it fault of my set any idea guys?

  #6  
Old 29-01-2008, 11:51 AM
nabeelamjad nabeelamjad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
nabeelamjad is on a distinguished road
http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper
Ads

  #7  
Old 02-02-2008, 11:46 AM
stephenbrown1 stephenbrown1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
stephenbrown1 is on a distinguished road
I got my W960i working with WLAN using WPA-PSK. Initially tried and it failed miserably. My broadband router is an O2 branded Speedtouch and has the option for "Legacy" 802.11b/g, as well as 802.11b/g. Changed it from standard to legacy and voila! Am happily surfing via the WLAN.

Am not sure what the diff is between the legacy and standard 802.11b - anyone care to enlighten? But that definitely worked for me...

S

  #8  
Old 09-11-2008, 01:34 AM
purple_fields purple_fields is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
purple_fields is on a distinguished road
I personally went through frustration trying to connect to the internet using WLAN. I'm using Linksys as my router by the way.

I found out that the reason why I couldn't connect to the internet was because of the SECURITY during WLAN Setup. I used WEP as my security before. But when I changed to WPA Personal, and setting to TKIP for Data Encryption, it worked! I'm not sure if it might work for you, but why not give it a try.

  #9  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:07 PM
muheeb muheeb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
muheeb is on a distinguished road
I can confirm it is fully working with wireless mode set to B only. when I set it to mixed, it does not work.


linksys wrt54gs running dd-wrt.

hope this helps.

  #10  
Old 21-11-2009, 06:55 AM
rochevof73's Avatar
rochevof73 rochevof73 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 8
rochevof73 is on a distinguished road
W960i WLAN WPA/TKIP

Hallo nutze die ASUS WLAN 100g Karte um die Verbindung mit meiner FBF 7050 herzustellen neueste Firm.

Box auf TKIP
Das funktioniert auch ganz prima wenn ich an der Karte WPA-PSK und TKIP einstelle.

Stelle ich jedoch an der Karte und Box um auf AES wird der Zugangspunkt nicht mehr gefunden.

DIe Karte bietet folgende Einstellmöglichkeiten

open
shared
WEP
WPA-PSK
WPA

Trage ich an der Karte nur WPA und AES ein fordert er eine Identität ID mit Radius Server ?...

An der Box hingegen kann man nur von TKIP auf AES WPA2 umstellen - was anderes ist hier nicht zu finden.

Jemand eine Idee was ich probieren könnte...?

Danke

Ach ja OS ist WinXPpro SP2, ich nutze die ASUS Software neueste Version heute runtergeladen nicht die XP eigene.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
w960i, wlan, wpa or tkip

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WLAN usable via WLAN Wizard for Web, but not other apps? drmadison Nokia N80 2 04-04-2007 09:52 AM
WLAN Wizard FOR N80 nokia 6six6 Nokia N80 3 04-11-2006 03:55 PM
N80 and WLAN/WIFI reach/strength messus Nokia N80 14 04-11-2006 04:44 AM
Email & WLAN & Orange bullroar Nokia N80 3 31-10-2006 10:23 PM
Cannot connect to WLAN ethoemmes Nokia N80 3 10-09-2006 10:24 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:35 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy