All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 13-12-2003, 06:47 PM
symbiamaniac symbiamaniac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 26
symbiamaniac is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Using your Dial-up ISP on N-Gage

I don't know if many people out there know this, but YOU CAN use your existing dial-up ISP (internet service provider) to connect your n-gage to the internet. However, i've only tested this with ISP's which connect via PPP. So for all you AOL dial-up subscribers, I can't help you with this one....

I am currently using t-mobile as my cell carrier and have used t-zones GPRS. The drawbacks of using t-zones in the US (as many like me have found out) are the limitations in what you can do online and what wireless internet apps will work. Primarily, most IM and browser apps will not work here in the US with GPRS (ie aol IM, wireless irc, full html web-browsers) because of the port limitations t-mobile places on t-zones.

Thats right! Using dial-up on your ngage gives you FULL internet access like visiting ALL html web-pages normally only accesable on your PC (with the right mobile web-browser ie netfront, doris web).

Here's how to use your existing ISP with the N-Gage:

*PLEASE BE FULLY AWARE THAT CONNECTING TO THE INTERNET VIA A DIAL-UP ISP WILL DEDUCT FROM YOUR CELL CALLING MINUTES!!*

Also, I am NOT promoting any particular dial-up ISP, but I am currently using AccessForLess.net for unlimited dial-up for only $4.95 a month (USD) and it has never given me any problems. I have used this service for both my n-gage and palm treo.

ISP CONNECTION SETTINGS for N-GAGE:

1) Go to "TOOLS>SETTINGS>CONNECTION>Access Points>OPTIONS>New Access Point>Use default settings"

2)Connection name: (Enter whatever name you want!)

3) Data bearer: GSM data

4) Dial-up number: (your ISP dial-up number)

5) User name: (your dial-up account username)

6) Promt password: No

7) Password: (your dial-up account password)

8) Authentication: Normal

9) Gateway IP address: 0.0.0.0

10) Data call type: Analog

11) Maximum data speed: Automatic

12) Now go to "Options>Advanced Settings>Use PPP compression" and select "yes"

13) That's It!!!

Please note that you may have to play with some of the setting a little depending on what ISP you are using. For example, if your ISP uses login scripts, you may have to enter them in manually under Advanced Settings.

-Peace symbiamaniac-
Ads

  #2  
Old 14-12-2003, 08:13 PM
n-gage123123
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb broadband

do you know if this can be done with a broadband connection and how to do it?

  #3  
Old 14-12-2003, 10:00 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
If the n-gage had a DSL/Cable modem or an ethernet adapter built in it probably would've been possible

If you have a bluetooth adapter you can share you PC's Broadband with the N-Gage over Bluetooth.
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #4  
Old 15-12-2003, 10:42 AM
cuddlers89 cuddlers89 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England
Posts: 131
cuddlers89 is on a distinguished road
I have broadband on my pc but it comes in through a network any ideas on how to get it to my n gage, via bluetooth or mabey the usb cabel.

  #5  
Old 15-12-2003, 07:18 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
Look in here: http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/phpBB...pic.php?t=4408

It only works via BT,not USB.
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #6  
Old 30-07-2004, 06:39 PM
rvinny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostDog
Look in here: http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/phpBB...pic.php?t=4408

It only works via BT,not USB.

GhostDog - the link is not working. >>

phpBB : Critical Error
Could not connect to the database

anyway you could provide a quick rundown on how to use your broadband connection via bluetooth? also I signed up as a new user (rvinny) but no confirmation email as of yet (spam@robv.com) so sorry about the icognito post. thx

  #7  
Old 30-07-2004, 06:41 PM
rvinny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
sorry - meant to say "could you" not "you could"
dont want to sound like a hothead my first day out.

  #8  
Old 30-07-2004, 07:23 PM
rvinny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I think I figured it out:

follow same basic steps as above but under GPRS settings: when available (vs. when needed) & AP is the exact same as my bluetooth computer name.

then went in and changed access point settings to reflect this. I was able to surf the web no problem (& much faster (Y) ) - couldn't pop mail or use putty but works ok w/ tzones. hmmm - new thing to figure out.

thx! let me know if there is a different way

  #9  
Old 03-08-2004, 02:27 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...ternet+sharing
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #10  
Old 03-08-2004, 06:49 PM
yield yield is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
yield is on a distinguished road
Has anyone got this to work with any other isps ?? Ive tried with dial up Bell Sympatico in toronto and its giving me an error.... I can still use this method with the built in wap browser of the ngage right? OR only with opera??

Last edited by yield; 03-08-2004 at 06:59 PM.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
dialup, isp, ngage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy