All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Go Back   All About Symbian Forums > Symbian Based Devices > S60 (Series 60) > Nokia N80

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

  #31  
Old 03-11-2006, 04:21 PM
dez_borders dez_borders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,684
dez_borders is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone
I was just about to ask if changing to ur original code was ok to do, but you beat me to it.

Is there a way to check on the phone to make sure it has been accepted?

btw I used the NSS program to change the number.
I think the NSS program can READ the product code from the phone...
just tick the box next to the product field then click READ. Fingers crossed.

Also, when you update the product code using NSS and click WRITE, there's a status message "write completed successfully" (or something similar) displayed.

Dez

  #32  
Old 03-11-2006, 04:26 PM
dez_borders dez_borders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,684
dez_borders is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibeaver
which product code do i use to update O2 UK phone please
sorry for being thick but what is difference between
Euro 1 Smooth Stainless, Euro 1 Pearl Black and ordinary N80 code
The difference is only in how Nokia know which Network and Market (country) the phone was sold to. It can also affect warranty length (I believe UK models have 2 year warranties and some others do not). However, if the code in the internal memory does not match the label behind the battery, then your warrany period is probably ZERO.

If you have the standard silver O2-UK N80 you should probably use the following code:- Euro 1 Smooth Stainless 0529378
BUT I strongly advise you to write down the code on the label hehind the battery and reset the product code to that number after the FW upgrade.

Dez

  #33  
Old 03-11-2006, 04:35 PM
DennisV6 DennisV6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
DennisV6 is on a distinguished road
Can some one help me, im probably being stupid but the gsm magic wont open, what program does it open with?

  #34  
Old 03-11-2006, 05:02 PM
DennisV6 DennisV6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
DennisV6 is on a distinguished road
Wahoo update worked fine.

  #35  
Old 03-11-2006, 05:08 PM
Cyclone Cyclone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 47
Cyclone is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dez_borders
I think the NSS program can READ the product code from the phone...
just tick the box next to the product field then click READ. Fingers crossed.

Also, when you update the product code using NSS and click WRITE, there's a status message "write completed successfully" (or something similar) displayed.

Dez
Thanks for the reply.

Tried to read using NSS and the program took ages to get the info. Infact after 5 minutes it still hadnt found it so I quit

Surely it cant take minutes to find a product code?

  #36  
Old 03-11-2006, 06:18 PM
dez_borders dez_borders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,684
dez_borders is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone
Thanks for the reply.

Tried to read using NSS and the program took ages to get the info. Infact after 5 minutes it still hadnt found it so I quit

Surely it cant take minutes to find a product code?
My apologies, I gave you the wrong info.

After scanning the Device (with TMT enforcer loaded and enabled), click on the FLASH button, and then click SCAN (on the right hand side of the screen).
The result comes back in about 5 seconds, and inlcudes the Product Description and Code currently set on the phone.

Hope it works this time!
Ads

  #37  
Old 03-11-2006, 06:34 PM
rich@atomic-x.c rich@atomic-x.c is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
rich@atomic-x.c is on a distinguished road
is it possible to use this method to upgrade an n80 to the n80 internet edition or is this firmware not yet available?

  #38  
Old 03-11-2006, 07:58 PM
Cyclone Cyclone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 47
Cyclone is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dez_borders
Hope it works this time!
Yes it does. The same number as my label.

Thank you

  #39  
Old 03-11-2006, 09:02 PM
skibeaver skibeaver is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
skibeaver is on a distinguished road
Help

updated product code ok with NSS
but NSU will not start
Could it be an issue with my router blocking the ports?
So near yet so far

  #40  
Old 03-11-2006, 09:03 PM
Biggzy's Avatar
Biggzy Biggzy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 629
Biggzy is on a distinguished road
it seems alot of u r doing a FW update with this method, and as mentiond in the post is a v good idea to change ur product code back to default, keep it up guys!

  #41  
Old 03-11-2006, 10:31 PM
fdxd fdxd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 365
fdxd is on a distinguished road
I think my phone runs even better now! Feels abit faster navigating the phone. I have more phone memory too.

  #42  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:01 AM
Biggzy's Avatar
Biggzy Biggzy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 629
Biggzy is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdxd
I think my phone runs even better now! Feels abit faster navigating the phone. I have more phone memory too.
another good trick isto go into LOG, and open the logs options then settings, and change log from 10 days to 1 day, speeds up the menu abit, sounds daft but works lol

  #43  
Old 04-11-2006, 02:05 AM
WPKenny WPKenny is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 33
WPKenny is on a distinguished road
Marvelous. I followed all the instructions in the thread. Got as far as the Nokia updater saying it was flashing the phone. It reached the end and said it had failed.

I now have an N80 shaped brick on my desk that won't switch on.

EDIT:

What's my next course of action. I've had the phone more than 28 days so I don't think O2 will be bothered with it. Do I take it to my nearest Nokia Service Centre and play dumb? Will there be a way for them to tell I've change the product code?

Last edited by WPKenny; 04-11-2006 at 02:11 AM.

  #44  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:41 AM
Stezos Stezos is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 151
Stezos is on a distinguished road
I tried the phoenix method a few months ago on a 1day old N80 and bricked it. Was a bit wary about giving this a go but tried it anyway and it worked perfectly, on an O2 branded handset, now with a generic nokia firmware and OTA update available :-) Thanks for the link Biggzy.
Stezos

  #45  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:47 AM
cbkm cbkm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
cbkm is on a distinguished road
WPKenny:

Since it's bricked now, there's not much else to loose so personally I'd try a dead phone flash using Phoenix...

* http://www.seventy4.co.uk/weblog/wp-content/dead.pdf
(obviously pick RM-92 and not RM-70 as shown in the PDF)

* http://www.seventy4.co.uk/weblog/200...stall-phoenix/

Let us know how you get on if you try this!

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by WPKenny
What's my next course of action. I've had the phone more than 28 days so I don't think O2 will be bothered with it.
Actually, the Sale of Goods Act holds O2 to a much longer time period, up to 6 years (depending on the product) and during the first 6 months of purchase the onus is on O2 to prove the product wasn't inherently faulty at the time of sale.

(If they can't turn it on / read anything off it - that could be difficult ;-))

Last edited by cbkm; 04-11-2006 at 10:24 AM.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
app, firmware, generic, nokias, update

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can N91 Firmware Update is also possible from home! Vicky Nokia N91, N91 8GB and Nokia 3250 10 22-06-2006 02:07 AM
6630 with vodafone firmware 4.03 can this be upgraded to generic 5.03.08 ? beamonemo Nokia 6630, 6680, 6681 and 6682 2 30-12-2005 10:56 AM
Problem with update firmware (crazy))) diesel_zg Siemens SX1 1 22-05-2005 06:20 PM
A "Feedback" from Nokia H.K. on firmware update!! manman Nokia 7650 4 26-09-2002 10:46 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy