All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 11-10-2004, 12:26 AM
DoorMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
N-Gage and 3D accelerate hardware.

Does any1 know if the Ngage has another cpu or chip
for 3D that other S60 phone don't have ?

If yes, where did U read it ?
couse i can't find anything about
this im the net ...
Thenks, Guys ...

  #2  
Old 11-10-2004, 05:37 AM
N/A's Avatar
N/A N/A is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,948
N/A is on a distinguished road
No, the N-Gage has no 3D accellerator hardware. All that the games do, are done in software (including 3D) + they can use a separate DSP (Digital Signal Processor) for audio (only).

  #3  
Old 11-10-2004, 06:16 AM
DoorMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thenks for the Answer N/A ...
I was struggling with this for a while ...
2 comments:
-=======-
1. What do U mean by "they can use a separate DSP" ?
The "DSP" is another Processor that's
in the device that only proccess audio in games ?

2. I know that 6630 has 3D Chip, does it mean that games that will
be made for it, will be better (faster and nicer) then NGage games ?

  #4  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:37 PM
jas0nuk jas0nuk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 73
jas0nuk is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoorMan
Thenks for the Answer N/A ...
I was struggling with this for a while ...
2 comments:
-=======-
1. What do U mean by "they can use a separate DSP" ?
The "DSP" is another Processor that's
in the device that only proccess audio in games ?

2. I know that 6630 has 3D Chip, does it mean that games that will
be made for it, will be better (faster and nicer) then NGage games ?
Well..

1. The N-Gage already has a sound processor that outputs stereo 48KHz which is used by the default MP3 Player, and probably be accessed by the games too.

2. I wouldn't think so, but it is a bit odd that they went to the extra cost of putting a 3D chip in.. Maybe to improve video playback and recording abilities by taking advantage of the processing power, but not bothering with the 3D side of things. Are you sure its a 3D chip, or just a separate graphics chip?

~jas0nuk
__________________
* Jason
* Owner of GadgetLover.net

  #5  
Old 11-10-2004, 05:30 PM
DoorMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jas0nuk
. Are you sure its a 3D chip, or just a separate graphics chip?

~jas0nuk
Nokia calls it "3D API", but I heard somwhere this is a 3D
accelerate hardware.

about the second core of the procceser, so is this the thing
that makes the heavy games run smoothly on the Ngage
rather then other S60 with the same hardware ?

  #6  
Old 11-10-2004, 06:21 PM
N/A's Avatar
N/A N/A is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,948
N/A is on a distinguished road
The N-Gage and N-Gage QD use the same processor as the 3650. All smoothness of games is purely done in/with software.

  #7  
Old 11-10-2004, 10:25 PM
DoorMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A
The N-Gage and N-Gage QD use the same processor as the 3650. All smoothness of games is purely done in/with software.
What about the 6600 ?
I heard it is supposed to be faster then
the older S60 phones .

  #8  
Old 12-10-2004, 03:04 AM
necromancer's Avatar
necromancer necromancer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
necromancer is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoorMan
What about the 6600 ?
I heard it is supposed to be faster then
the older S60 phones .
6600 use symbian 60 version 2....hope you know it..

  #9  
Old 12-10-2004, 07:27 AM
DoorMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by necromancer
6600 use symbian 60 version 2....hope you know it..
Ya I know it, but does it mean that everything will run faster there ?
couse 6600 has the same cpu as the ngage

  #10  
Old 12-10-2004, 07:54 AM
N/A's Avatar
N/A N/A is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,948
N/A is on a distinguished road
The 6600 is pretty much the same. The 7610 has a faster processor.

  #11  
Old 13-10-2004, 07:38 PM
H4rsh H4rsh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 13
H4rsh is on a distinguished road
No, not faster because even though 6600 has the same processor as N-Gage, it has less RAM than N-Gage.

  #12  
Old 14-10-2004, 12:57 AM
neuro neuro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 91
neuro is on a distinguished road
I tested the same games on both the QD and 6620 and to me the 6620 seemed waaaay faster. How fast are each of these phones processors anyways? I read in a PC Magazine review that the 6620 had 150 mhz.
Heres the link:
PC Magazine 6620 review
Ads

  #13  
Old 14-10-2004, 12:01 PM
DoorMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuro
I tested the same games on both the QD and 6620 and to me the 6620 seemed waaaay faster. How fast are each of these phones processors anyways? I read in a PC Magazine review that the 6620 had 150 mhz.
Heres the link:
PC Magazine 6620 review
Are U checking Java games or SIS ?!
about the cpu, must me a mistake
they both has the same cpu
but the Ngage has X2 memory (RAM 16MB)

  #14  
Old 14-10-2004, 12:04 PM
DoorMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoorMan
Are U checking Java games or SIS ?!
about the cpu, must me a mistake
they both has the same cpu
but the Ngage has X2 memory (RAM 16MB)
Ummm I see 6620, has 27MB RAM ... weird ....
anyway, 6620 is out of the question for me
couse it's will not work in my country .

  #15  
Old 14-10-2004, 12:15 PM
NoOne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ya, it's a mistake - look here:
http://my-symbian.com/7650/compare2.php
 

Bookmarks

Tags
accelerate, hardware, ngage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy