All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 30-08-2007, 06:27 PM
AMz AMz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
AMz is on a distinguished road
Access point connection issues

Hi, Recently got a N95 on T-mobile UK.

I've been playing around with all the features so far - great phone!

I am having an issue with establishing a connection using my WLAN access point though, which I've tried to sort out from reading previous posts on here and 'googling' but i can't sort out.

Just for information:

the N95 is on T-Mobile UK, my home wireless broadband ISP is AOL and my wireless router is a Belkin one.

Problem:

I have set my router to be the WLAN access point on the phone. It seems to have defined it successfully but when i access the browser, it asks 'connection to server needed' - I accept this, then the page tries to load, and at this point my router wireless also flashes - proving there is a connection action.

However, about a minuite later the page stops and shows "Web N Walk: No gateway reply"

The routers settings seem correct, MAC address filtering has been disabled, I've tried without security and all the different security options including WEP key one.

The IP address on the phone and subnet mask and gateway is all set to automatic.

Does anyone use their AOL connection as a access point? if so could you please kindly share your settings. One thing is that even on a PC, AOL's system has a username/password authentication system. I don't know whether the lack of this on the phone could be blocking the connection or not.

It would be great if someone who has an idea what is wrong to help me out.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks very much and sorry for the long post.

AMz

  #2  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:35 PM
AMz AMz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
AMz is on a distinguished road
Anyone have any ideas?

  #3  
Old 02-09-2007, 05:12 AM
Halon's Avatar
Halon Halon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 377
Halon is on a distinguished road
First thing I note here is you're trying to use your ISP's connection but the phone is giving an error message mentioning your mobile service provider, so almost certainly something wrong with the way the access point is set up.

Have you tried using the WLAN Wizard to define the access point?
__________________
V 12.0.024
04-08-09
RM-505
Nokia N97

6600 > 6630 > N70 > N80 > N95 > N95 8GB > N85 > N97

Last edited by Halon; 02-09-2007 at 05:15 AM.

  #4  
Old 02-09-2007, 08:26 AM
AMz AMz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
AMz is on a distinguished road
Thanks for your reply Halon.

I was thinking this at first too, however this is also the name of my web browser. So maybe thats why thats appearing?! not too sure.

I have used the WLAN wizard but its still the same.

I really can't find anything else wrong with it. Only other option I think is to flash it with generic software. But would I always be able to switch back to a t-mobile firmware if I wanted to?

  #5  
Old 02-09-2007, 08:36 AM
dez_borders dez_borders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,684
dez_borders is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMz View Post
Hi, Recently got a N95 on T-mobile UK.

I've been playing around with all the features so far - great phone!

I am having an issue with establishing a connection using my WLAN access point though, which I've tried to sort out from reading previous posts on here and 'googling' but i can't sort out.

Just for information:

the N95 is on T-Mobile UK, my home wireless broadband ISP is AOL and my wireless router is a Belkin one.

Problem:

I have set my router to be the WLAN access point on the phone. It seems to have defined it successfully but when i access the browser, it asks 'connection to server needed' - I accept this, then the page tries to load, and at this point my router wireless also flashes - proving there is a connection action.

However, about a minuite later the page stops and shows "Web N Walk: No gateway reply"

The routers settings seem correct, MAC address filtering has been disabled, I've tried without security and all the different security options including WEP key one.

The IP address on the phone and subnet mask and gateway is all set to automatic.

Does anyone use their AOL connection as a access point? if so could you please kindly share your settings. One thing is that even on a PC, AOL's system has a username/password authentication system. I don't know whether the lack of this on the phone could be blocking the connection or not.

It would be great if someone who has an idea what is wrong to help me out.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks very much and sorry for the long post.

AMz
I use AOL UK with a Netgear WLAN Router. For reliable N95 connections it's vital you have the latest router Firmware. Look on Netgear.com
My Netgear is about 18 months old, and the N95 simply was not reliable until I recently upgraded the router to the latest FW, now it works 100%

P.S. It's also advisable to get the N95 upgraded to V12 FW if you are not already on this version.
__________________
Phone History: Nokia 3310,7650, 6680, N70, N80, N95, N83, N96, N97...? HTC_Desire (with FroYo 2.2)
Ads

  #6  
Old 02-09-2007, 08:40 AM
AMz AMz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
AMz is on a distinguished road
Thanks for your reply. I see your using AOL as well. Did you have to change any settings on the access point defined by the phone?

My settings are all standard but the connection name and WLAN network name are just the routers name and not AOL. Not sure if this is right. I have never updated the firmware on my router so will update it and see how that works.

  #7  
Old 02-09-2007, 09:44 AM
AMz AMz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
AMz is on a distinguished road
Just a update just updated my router firmware and the N95 firmware with the latest T-mobile one. But it still fails connection.

I also browsed through all the wireless channels in my router one by one to see if I can get a connection action from any of these however, still no luck..

  #8  
Old 02-09-2007, 12:12 PM
Mithent Mithent is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 248
Mithent is on a distinguished road
Interestingly, unless yours are manually set up, you have a different gateway name to me - mine is 'T Mobile Internet'? I've seen the 'no reply' message, but only when I'm trying to connect to that gateway. The browser was also by default set up to always use the T-Mobile connection; in the browser go to Options > Settings, then General, and set the access point to 'Always Ask', then restart the browser and choose the WLAN connection. It may have a valid connection to the WLAN but then try to establish a packet data connection anyway.

  #9  
Old 02-09-2007, 03:14 PM
dez_borders dez_borders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,684
dez_borders is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMz View Post
Thanks for your reply. I see your using AOL as well. Did you have to change any settings on the access point defined by the phone?

My settings are all standard but the connection name and WLAN network name are just the routers name and not AOL. Not sure if this is right. I have never updated the firmware on my router so will update it and see how that works.
The router/wlan SSID name is not relevant, you can call your network anything you want.

I find (with Netgear routers at lease) that the choice of security protocols is critical where the N95 is involved. WPA/PSK works fine, WEP never worked for me. You could check your router settings and swap it to WPA/PSK if it's set to WEP.

If you are still stuck, the best test process of all is to temporarily disable ALL security on your router, then when the N95 is connected, start adding security back in. I recommend WPA/PSK with MAC Address Access Control.
__________________
Phone History: Nokia 3310,7650, 6680, N70, N80, N95, N83, N96, N97...? HTC_Desire (with FroYo 2.2)

  #10  
Old 04-09-2007, 07:46 PM
Imscottish Imscottish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Imscottish is on a distinguished road
Hi I dont know if this will help you m8 but I am on AOL UK with a netgear router, for weeks and weeks I was trying to browse net on my n95 and it just wasnt happening! No Gateway Reply everytime, then I looked at my router settings and noticed

Enable Wireless Access Point
Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID)

were disabled, so I enabled them and bam first time it worked! (I dont know what Allow Broadcast of Name is but it seemed to work when I enabled this)

Hope this helps you

  #11  
Old 04-09-2007, 07:52 PM
Hih Hih is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 131
Hih is on a distinguished road
Please disable WLAN's (Nokia) power saving feature.

Scan for available WiFi spots, when all are (if any) found, wait five (5) seconds.
Then connect (choose from popup menu) via preferred connection.

Last edited by Hih; 04-09-2007 at 07:55 PM.

  #12  
Old 04-09-2007, 09:01 PM
neilhoskins neilhoskins is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 685
neilhoskins is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imscottish View Post
<snips>
Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID)

were disabled, so I enabled them and bam first time it worked! (I dont know what Allow Broadcast of Name is but it seemed to work when I enabled this)

Hope this helps you
If you hide the SSID none of your neighbours can see it when they do a scan. I used to have mine hidden as a half-hearted security measure but found, like you, that the N95 would only work with a visible SSID.

  #13  
Old 07-09-2007, 08:15 PM
AMz AMz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
AMz is on a distinguished road
My AOL uk router is a Belkin one. I just updated it again with the latest firmware.

Also tried all the suggestions mentioned here but still the N95 fails to connect.

I thought maybe the wifi on my phone is faulty, but it works fine when I used it in Starbucks

  #14  
Old 11-09-2007, 11:42 AM
waxup waxup is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 436
waxup is on a distinguished road
Dhcp

Do you have dhcp enabled through your router to provide your phone with an IP address upon connecting to the network?

  #15  
Old 11-09-2007, 11:52 AM
AMz AMz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
AMz is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by waxup View Post
Do you have dhcp enabled through your router to provide your phone with an IP address upon connecting to the network?
Hi, yes I'm 99% sure the DHCP is enabled from my router's firmware. Would this be the problem why I can't connect with my N95?
 

Bookmarks

Tags
access, connection, issues, point

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
N80 prompts for access point on start-up. Smith23481 Nokia N80 7 14-11-2006 06:25 PM
Updated: Access Netfront to version 3.2 Rafe Series 60 1 08-10-2004 02:00 PM
Nokia 6600 set access point problem Ody^c Nokia 6600 and 6620 2 16-06-2004 12:01 PM
Access point Landsat Nokia 7650 3 10-10-2002 11:04 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:27 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy