All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 27-10-2003, 11:12 AM
JulesG's Avatar
JulesG JulesG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London/Riga/Moscow
Posts: 437
JulesG is on a distinguished road
Question P800 -> P900 data restore

Hey, Bassey and GhostDog mention here upgrading your P800 to P900.

This is quite a valid point, anyone know if SE have provided a mechanism for P800 users to seamlessley upgrade data to the P900?

I assume that the majority of s/w (Handy Day, Opera etc) will work work on either device, and could be re-installed from the original .sis, but it would certainly be easier to "restore" a prior backup onto the new phone.
__________________

er ... remind me of the topic again?

  #2  
Old 27-10-2003, 02:53 PM
Delta737's Avatar
Delta737 Delta737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Groningen, Holland
Posts: 2,286
Delta737 is on a distinguished road
I've asked myself the same thing!!!! I hope SE will include a special app to restore a P800 to a P900.... But I doubt this. I guess we'll have to wait and see...
__________________
UIQ Moderator --> herbert AT allaboutsymbian DOT com
Ads

  #3  
Old 28-10-2003, 07:21 AM
hAnDyGUY hAnDyGUY is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 410
hAnDyGUY is on a distinguished road
I believe all your stuff installed on the memory card would work on P900, u don't even need to backup and restore, just remove it from P800, install it in your BRAND NEW P900 then all ur software will work on your BRAND NEW P900 (I really love saying that )
__________________
being HANDY all the time

  #4  
Old 28-10-2003, 07:27 PM
loko__loko loko__loko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 15
loko__loko is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by hAnDyGUY
I believe all your stuff installed on the memory card would work on P900, u don't even need to backup and restore, just remove it from P800, install it in your BRAND NEW P900 then all ur software will work on your BRAND NEW P900 (I really love saying that )
we need to transfer the .ini files found inside the P800 to make the sw run on P900

best solution is to extract the P800's C:\System\Data\Contacts.cdb and paste to P900's C:\System\Data\Contacts.cdb

beam jotter, tasks... calender? have to figure out this.. outlook perhaps

other sw shld be re-installed

  #5  
Old 03-11-2003, 07:51 AM
pnyxter pnyxter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 28
pnyxter is on a distinguished road
I had no problem with the upgrade. I had no special applications installed on my P800 that I didn't have a SIS file for. I just uninstalled the P800 software from my computer and reinstalled it with the new software from the P900, synced it with Outlook and of we went on a brand new adventure...

There is a function in the "Backup and Restore" software for the P900 that allows you to import backups either from file or from a different phone, but I haven't tried it with the P800 -> P900...

  #6  
Old 03-11-2003, 09:11 AM
JulesG's Avatar
JulesG JulesG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London/Riga/Moscow
Posts: 437
JulesG is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by pnyxter
... There is a function in the "Backup and Restore" software for the P900 that allows you to import backups either from file or from a different phone, but I haven't tried it with the P800 -> P900...
That at least sounds optimistic!
__________________

er ... remind me of the topic again?

  #7  
Old 03-11-2003, 09:55 AM
J2theIZZO J2theIZZO is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 2,719
J2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally posted by hAnDyGUY
I believe all your stuff installed on the memory card would work on P900, u don't even need to backup and restore, just remove it from P800, install it in your BRAND NEW P900 then all ur software will work on your BRAND NEW P900 (I really love saying that )
Erm....will that work?...what with it being a different IMEI and all?

  #8  
Old 03-11-2003, 05:23 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
It should work,the apps will be revereted back to demo or trial version(i think).
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #9  
Old 03-11-2003, 07:12 PM
J2theIZZO J2theIZZO is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 2,719
J2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud ofJ2theIZZO has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally posted by GhostDog
It should work,the apps will be revereted back to demo or trial version(i think).
That's what I mean.

  #10  
Old 04-11-2003, 09:37 AM
JulesG's Avatar
JulesG JulesG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London/Riga/Moscow
Posts: 437
JulesG is on a distinguished road
Depends on the app; when I got a new [P800] handset to replace a broken one, I swapped in the old DUO and did a restore on C: for my "core" apps (Handy Day, Opera etc).

Everything worked fine, even though I have a new IMEI.

Guess some s/w use the IMEI, but I seem to remember a thread on this from springtime, didn't most authors supply a new ID by email?
__________________

er ... remind me of the topic again?

  #11  
Old 09-11-2003, 08:25 AM
hAnDyGUY hAnDyGUY is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 410
hAnDyGUY is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by loko__loko
we need to transfer the .ini files found inside the P800 to make the sw run on P900
best solution is to extract the P800's C:\System\Data\Contacts.cdb and paste to P900's C:\System\Data\Contacts.cdb
beam jotter, tasks... calender? have to figure out this.. outlook perhaps
other sw shld be re-installed
don't think u need to transfer .ini files, as long as the software is already installed on the MSD, then it'll work properly, and it'll create a new .ini file of the C drive at the first time it runs on the new phone.

Quote:
]Originally posted by J2theIZZO
Erm....will that work?...what with it being a different IMEI and all?
all s/n once entered they won't ask for it again, even if u insert the MSD into another phone, but there might b some softwares that still checks your IMEI every time it logs in, anyway guess if u've bought ur softwares from the main developer it's still easier to get an upgrade from them than from Handango or other dealer! (that's in case u need a new s/n)
__________________
being HANDY all the time

  #12  
Old 13-11-2003, 02:05 PM
ST@RR's Avatar
ST@RR ST@RR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,367
ST@RR is on a distinguished road
How do you transfer the contacts of the P800 to the P900? Everything else you can just sync it with outlook anyway, even the contacts, but my contacts are all arranged so perfectly into separate categories.. Is it possible really to just copy the contacts database?
__________________
The only thing permanent in this world is CHANGE...

  #13  
Old 13-11-2003, 05:17 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
What about sending them as vCard?
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #14  
Old 14-11-2003, 04:17 PM
The Mus The Mus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 141
The Mus is on a distinguished road
damn I was just reading what everyone wrote, but I am confused! How do you transfer everything on your P800 to your P900?

Do all the application need to be installed on the P900 from scratch?

__________________
The Mus has spoken

  #15  
Old 15-11-2003, 01:41 AM
Accela Accela is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 284
Accela is on a distinguished road
My opinion is, not all because some applications are not compatible.. Best if reinstall em. I got all my contacts on Outlook anyways, so no prob.
__________________
 

Bookmarks

Tags
>, data, p800, p900, restore

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:31 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy