All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 27-11-2007, 10:39 PM
snuge's Avatar
snuge snuge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 230
snuge is on a distinguished road
Wlan

my phone finds my wireless connection(virgin media ethernet, netgear adapter) it then asks me for my wep key. i hav a program called wep key thief but it doesnt seem to find it.is there any other way i can get my wep key?would virgin media tell me if i phoned up or is there a way i can get it myself. any advice is much appreciated. cheers

  #2  
Old 28-11-2007, 12:19 AM
nervous1uk nervous1uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
nervous1uk is on a distinguished road
Is the WEP key not printed on a sticker somewhere on your wireless box?
I know BT & Orange both do

if not you should be able to find it by logging on to the control panel of your router via Internet explorer on your pc
Most netgear routers default address is 192.168.0.1
user name:- admin
Pass:- password or 1234

Last edited by nervous1uk; 28-11-2007 at 12:26 AM.

  #3  
Old 28-11-2007, 12:58 AM
Biggzy's Avatar
Biggzy Biggzy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 629
Biggzy is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by snuge View Post
my phone finds my wireless connection(virgin media ethernet, netgear adapter) it then asks me for my wep key. i hav a program called wep key thief but it doesnt seem to find it.is there any other way i can get my wep key?would virgin media tell me if i phoned up or is there a way i can get it myself. any advice is much appreciated. cheers
cant u just reset ur router? there shud be a lil button on the back u have to poke with a pin, mine has it (altho mine is a D-Link)
__________________
www.SymbianScientist.com

It's not technology, it's what you do with it.

  #4  
Old 28-11-2007, 02:49 AM
snuge's Avatar
snuge snuge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 230
snuge is on a distinguished road
im not sure i want to reset it as how do i set it back up?it was basically plug and play when i got it. i tried typing that ip into windows explorer but just got a lot of results in a google search?

i should also mention sometimes my phone finds it and sometimes it doesnt in the space of seconds and sometimes it comes up hidden wlan or something like that?

Last edited by snuge; 28-11-2007 at 02:52 AM.

  #5  
Old 28-11-2007, 03:10 AM
snuge's Avatar
snuge snuge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 230
snuge is on a distinguished road
had an idea. my set up is virgin media digital tv box with ethernet plugged in downstairs(netgear ma101) then a netgear ma101 usb adapter plugged in to pc upstairs. i dont think it will let me connect to it using anythin else other than pc. if i buy a router can i put that in somewhere between the tv box and my pc? ie do i remove the netgear adapter downstairs and fit the router?

  #6  
Old 28-11-2007, 06:51 AM
riverboat riverboat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
riverboat is on a distinguished road
Hi
my router is made by Belkin, i phoned them up and they telked me through setting up router and the wep key...which is now safely stored...

If i remember rightly i had to type an ip address directly in to my IE address bar...
think it was
192.168.2.1 (no www or anything else)
and this opened up a window of settings for my router.

If this doesn't work, i'm sure your router supplier can help

  #7  
Old 28-11-2007, 07:18 AM
davecozens's Avatar
davecozens davecozens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somerset
Posts: 812
davecozens is on a distinguished road
Assuming you're running windows

Go to the command prompt (from XP start-> run -> "cmd", from vista type "command" in the start menu search box.)

Type "ipconfig /all" (without the quotes) and it'll give you a whole bunch of settings. One of them will be "default gateway" or something like that.

Type the IP address of the defautl gateway into IE.

Then try the login steps that Nervous1uk mentioned.

Hopefully that'll get you to the router config app...

  #8  
Old 28-11-2007, 08:02 AM
snuge's Avatar
snuge snuge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 230
snuge is on a distinguished road
nope still not gettin it. ill need to get on the blower to richard branston and ask him what the deal is! is drivin me mad! what ever happened to simple dial up anyway
Ads

  #9  
Old 28-11-2007, 08:14 AM
davecozens's Avatar
davecozens davecozens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somerset
Posts: 812
davecozens is on a distinguished road
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by snuge View Post
richard branston
Oooooh! He is a pickle!
 

Bookmarks

Tags
wlan

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to connect WLAN makuk Nokia E90 2 03-12-2007 09:59 PM
WLAN usable via WLAN Wizard for Web, but not other apps? drmadison Nokia N80 2 04-04-2007 09:52 AM
WLAN Wizard FOR N80 nokia 6six6 Nokia N80 3 04-11-2006 03:55 PM
Email & WLAN & Orange bullroar Nokia N80 3 31-10-2006 10:23 PM
Cannot connect to WLAN ethoemmes Nokia N80 3 10-09-2006 10:24 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy