All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 14-05-2008, 12:43 PM
KALSTER KALSTER is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
KALSTER is on a distinguished road
Yahoo e-mail check from E90 app?

Hey guys, new here and happy to be.

I got the great E90 recently and am very content, except that I would really like it to be able to retreive e-mail from Yahoo mail. Can it do that and am I just being an idiot? I know yahoo has got a free mobile e-mail app you can download, but no E90 compatible version yet.

Thanks

  #2  
Old 14-05-2008, 02:08 PM
deletia deletia is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 15
deletia is on a distinguished road
Couple of suggestions:

a) If you want to use the built-in Messaging App, set up the account with the following:

pop3 server: pop.mail.yahoo.com
username: you yahoo account name without the "@yahoo.com" bit

Use SSL for connection, which should default to port 995.

That should be enough to see you through.

b) Create / or use a Googlemail accounts, click on Settings then choose Accounts tab and add your yahoo account in there (it should automatically determine the pop3 settings). Google will then poll your yahoo account regularly and you'll see your mail in your Googlemail (but filtered to show as your Yahoo mail). Then head to m.google.com and download the mobile app, which is pretty decent IMO.
Ads

  #3  
Old 14-05-2008, 02:33 PM
KALSTER KALSTER is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
KALSTER is on a distinguished road
Sounds great, I'll give it a try, thanks!

  #4  
Old 15-05-2008, 07:02 AM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
Hi Guys,

I have been trying since Tuesday to get my Yahoo mail account working on this device.

I'm on O2 in the UK.

Has anyone got their device working? If so could thy please post how to do it.

Regards

Dave

  #5  
Old 15-05-2008, 08:26 AM
KALSTER KALSTER is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
KALSTER is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by griff_dai View Post
Hi Guys,

I have been trying since Tuesday to get my Yahoo mail account working on this device.

I'm on O2 in the UK.

Has anyone got their device working? If so could thy please post how to do it.

Regards

Dave
Hey. I figured out eventually that you first have to change the POP3 settings in your yahoo options page. Mine is working great now

  #6  
Old 15-05-2008, 10:11 AM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by KALSTER View Post
Hey. I figured out eventually that you first have to change the POP3 settings in your yahoo options page. Mine is working great now
Could you post your settings as I cannot get it to work at all.

Cheers

Dave

PS. I have set the pop settings in yahoo mail.

  #7  
Old 15-05-2008, 01:15 PM
KALSTER KALSTER is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
KALSTER is on a distinguished road
Use the settings provided by deletia in his post. Here they are again: "pop3 server: pop.mail.yahoo.com
username: you yahoo account name without the "@yahoo.com" bit

Use SSL for connection, which should default to port 995."
Make sure that your POP server name ends *.com instead of *.co.uk . Let me know if that fixes it.

  #8  
Old 15-05-2008, 07:24 PM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by KALSTER View Post
Use the settings provided by deletia in his post. Here they are again: "pop3 server: pop.mail.yahoo.com
username: you yahoo account name without the "@yahoo.com" bit

Use SSL for connection, which should default to port 995."
Make sure that your POP server name ends *.com instead of *.co.uk . Let me know if that fixes it.
Ok, I'll try this in a bit, to be honest it looks like what i'd already done.

Post in the morning.

Dai

  #9  
Old 16-05-2008, 06:55 AM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by griff_dai View Post
Ok, I'll try this in a bit, to be honest it looks like what i'd already done.

Post in the morning.

Dai
Morning,

Still cant this working!

I need some help!

Dai

  #10  
Old 16-05-2008, 09:34 AM
KALSTER KALSTER is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
KALSTER is on a distinguished road
Ok. Here are the settings as I have them om my phone:

Connection settings-> incoming e-mail->user name: abcd (where your e-mail is abcd@yahoo.co.uk)
password: your password (make sure about capitalisation)
incoming mail server: pop.mail.yahoo.com
access point: your default internet access point
mailbox name: name it anything
mailbox type: pop3 (this is default)
security(ports): ssl/tls
port: 995 (this is default)
apop secure login: off (won't work with "on")

Connection settings-> outgoing e-mail-> my e-mail address: your address
user name: abcd (where your e-mail is abcd@yahoo.co.uk)
password: your password
outgoing mail server: smtp.mail.yahoo.com
access point: your default internet access point
security(ports): ssl/tls
port: 465 (this is default)

You say you did enable pop3 access in your yahoo mail options menu? Can you tell what exactly happens when you try to retreive emails from your phone? Does the internet connect after you choose your access point, ask for your username and password and then do it all over again without results? Or does it say connecting and then stays there for ever?

Last edited by KALSTER; 16-05-2008 at 12:31 PM.

  #11  
Old 16-05-2008, 07:27 PM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by KALSTER View Post
Ok. Here are the settings as I have them om my phone:

Connection settings-> incoming e-mail->user name: abcd (where your e-mail is abcd@yahoo.co.uk)
password: your password (make sure about capitalisation)
incoming mail server: pop.mail.yahoo.com
access point: your default internet access point
mailbox name: name it anything
mailbox type: pop3 (this is default)
security(ports): ssl/tls
port: 995 (this is default)
apop secure login: off (won't work with "on")

Connection settings-> outgoing e-mail-> my e-mail address: your address
user name: abcd (where your e-mail is abcd@yahoo.co.uk)
password: your password
outgoing mail server: smtp.mail.yahoo.com
access point: your default internet access point
security(ports): ssl/tls
port: 465 (this is default)

You say you did enable pop3 access in your yahoo mail options menu? Can you tell what exactly happens when you try to retreive emails from your phone? Does the internet connect after you choose your access point, ask for your username and password and then do it all over again without results? Or does it say connecting and then stays there for ever?
Your a diamond geezer!

It's working fine now!

Cheers dude!

Dai

  #12  
Old 17-05-2008, 04:36 AM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
Ok, have problems now sending email.

I have checked my settings and they seem to as listed in the thread!

Any ideas?

Dai

  #13  
Old 17-05-2008, 04:49 AM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by griff_dai View Post
Ok, have problems now sending email.

I have checked my settings and they seem to as listed in the thread!

Any ideas?

Dai
Nightmare, I deleted one version of the yahoo mailbox and managed to delete the one that was working. Now I have one that dont connect even though the settings are exactly the same :-(

  #14  
Old 17-05-2008, 05:35 AM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
This is really doing my head in now, it just will not work, get's stuck in th loop asking me to confirm my details, then after a bit says my username or password is incorrect, which it's not!

Why did I delete that mailbox:-( this should not be this difficult!

Dai

  #15  
Old 17-05-2008, 09:55 AM
griff_dai griff_dai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
griff_dai is on a distinguished road
Right, have been trying all morning to get this going again.
I have deleted the other mail box.

It will not connect, it's stuck in a cycle asking for my username them password then eventually its says it cant connect.

Don't know what i'm doing different as I had it going yesterday.

Need help as I'm extremley pissed off with this now!

Dai
 

Bookmarks

Tags
app, check, e90, email, yahoo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Skins, Side Schemes & Color Roman Nokia 9300 and 9500 571 22-09-2011 01:10 AM
ColorPicker - Cool little app - check it out xnxnxn S60 Software 2 12-12-2005 02:48 PM
Probs connecting Agile Msgr to Yahoo Webbunny S60 (Series 60) 3 29-10-2005 10:49 PM
Mail Checking app KayonLord Sony Ericsson P800, P900 and P910 3 18-11-2003 05:47 PM
Yahoo. Globe Telecomms Offers Free Video App for Subscribers kobe24 Nokia 7650 4 04-03-2003 09:14 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy