All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 27-10-2005, 04:39 PM
ermete3smegisto's Avatar
ermete3smegisto ermete3smegisto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 72
ermete3smegisto is on a distinguished road
Free Ram and themes

Here I post the result of a test that I made searching the way to free more ram using a theme:
I made a theme with only 2 colors (called b/w) and I have compared the free ram after a reboot using the Surfer theme, Curves and b/w. I have used the Now! (not the menu, that use about 100K) and the "compress memory" option in AppMan.

B/W 4,61 Mb (4,91 Mb compressed)
Surfer 3,50 Mb (3,82 Mb compressed)
Curves 4,50 Mb (4,78 Mb compressd)

The result is not very good... only 11 Kb more than Curves.
I'll try to make a theme with all the mbm files (I've compressed only the animation, appIcons and themeIcons files) in black and white.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------
http://digilander.libero.it/BullShit/sendox.html
---------------------------------------------------------------

  #2  
Old 02-11-2005, 06:58 PM
Senapone's Avatar
Senapone Senapone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Legoland
Posts: 41
Senapone is on a distinguished road
great!

__________________
NU-CU-LA-RE, si dice NU-CU-LA-RE...

  #3  
Old 21-12-2005, 11:55 PM
Copernic Copernic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Copernic is on a distinguished road
Can you upload that B/W theme please ? If we can get 5125kb free mem we can play Midtown Madness 3 on the sendo x!!!

  #4  
Old 22-12-2005, 09:42 AM
ermete3smegisto's Avatar
ermete3smegisto ermete3smegisto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 72
ermete3smegisto is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copernic
Can you upload that B/W theme please ? If we can get 5125kb free mem we can play Midtown Madness 3 on the sendo x!!!
Hmm... I don't think that's the free RAM it's enough.. but, we can still try! Ok, I'll upload it in my site asap.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------
http://digilander.libero.it/BullShit/sendox.html
---------------------------------------------------------------

  #5  
Old 22-12-2005, 12:00 PM
Senapone's Avatar
Senapone Senapone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Legoland
Posts: 41
Senapone is on a distinguished road
Ermete, did you upload the one used for the first RAM test or the second one (with all the MBM compressed) ?
__________________
NU-CU-LA-RE, si dice NU-CU-LA-RE...

Last edited by Senapone; 22-12-2005 at 03:24 PM.

  #6  
Old 23-12-2005, 10:37 AM
murphy's Avatar
murphy murphy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
murphy is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copernic
Can you upload that B/W theme please ? If we can get 5125kb free mem we can play Midtown Madness 3 on the sendo x!!!
I don't think we still get 5125kb RAM for the Sendo X. It seems that it will be impossible, except you kill some tasks. Also i can create a complete small theme which uses very small bitmaps for the theme in b/w. I can also try to create the themes with load in rom and don't use the RAM flag (XIP).

Cheers, murphy
__________________
Phones: Sendo X, Nokia 3650, Siemens SX1 / Homepage: http://www.sendox.net

  #7  
Old 23-12-2005, 11:01 AM
Senapone's Avatar
Senapone Senapone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Legoland
Posts: 41
Senapone is on a distinguished road


__________________
NU-CU-LA-RE, si dice NU-CU-LA-RE...

  #8  
Old 18-01-2006, 02:58 PM
Senapone's Avatar
Senapone Senapone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Legoland
Posts: 41
Senapone is on a distinguished road
Some more news about that ?

Murphy ?
__________________
NU-CU-LA-RE, si dice NU-CU-LA-RE...
Ads

  #9  
Old 19-01-2006, 01:03 PM
Copernic Copernic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Copernic is on a distinguished road
Other ways to free memory

I have no time to try them now ,maybe later ...

http://www.symbian-freak.com/quides/freeupmem.htm

  #10  
Old 19-01-2006, 02:09 PM
stuclark's Avatar
stuclark stuclark is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,575
stuclark is on a distinguished road
Those tips won't work properly on the Sendo X. I've already tried tricks like that. It's almost impossible to get over 5MB RAM.

  #11  
Old 27-01-2006, 11:30 PM
jk_mace jk_mace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
jk_mace is on a distinguished road
hi, i have achieved just over 5700kb of ram on my sendo x but i still get the 'you need 5120 kb of ram message when trying to open midtown madness 3. when opening taskspy it has shown 5644- so when its closed should be over 5700. why isnt it working? any suggestions are welcome.
also since i have updated to the latest firmware doom has stopped working. when i open it it just closes straight away with error msg app closed doom. any suggestions most welcome!
thanks a lot.

  #12  
Old 28-01-2006, 12:05 AM
Copernic Copernic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Copernic is on a distinguished road
Yeah I have the same problem with doom, how much ram can you free while still keeping your main phone functions working ?

  #13  
Old 28-01-2006, 12:26 AM
stuclark's Avatar
stuclark stuclark is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,575
stuclark is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk_mace
hi, i have achieved just over 5700kb of ram on my sendo x but i still get the 'you need 5120 kb of ram message when trying to open midtown madness 3. when opening taskspy it has shown 5644- so when its closed should be over 5700. why isnt it working? any suggestions are welcome.
also since i have updated to the latest firmware doom has stopped working. when i open it it just closes straight away with error msg app closed doom. any suggestions most welcome!
thanks a lot.
I'd suggest trying to re-install Doom and then seeing if it will work.

As far as I know, there's nothing major broken by the latest firmware.

  #14  
Old 28-01-2006, 12:55 PM
trimakassi's Avatar
trimakassi trimakassi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Posts: 147
trimakassi is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk_mace
hi, i have achieved just over 5700kb of ram on my sendo x but i still get the 'you need 5120 kb of ram message when trying to open midtown madness 3. when opening taskspy it has shown 5644- so when its closed should be over 5700. why isnt it working? any suggestions are welcome.
also since i have updated to the latest firmware doom has stopped working. when i open it it just closes straight away with error msg app closed doom. any suggestions most welcome!
thanks a lot.
My problem resembles yours a bit. After playing Doom for about 5 min. I got the same error msg. Not straight away. Rather strange...

  #15  
Old 28-01-2006, 06:09 PM
jk_mace jk_mace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
jk_mace is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copernic
Yeah I have the same problem with doom, how much ram can you free while still keeping your main phone functions working ?
around 5250kb is the most i can get.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
free, ram, themes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sendo X - FAQ plinkykev Sendo X & X2 6 21-05-2006 10:46 AM
Goodbye Sendo! jimmy38 Sendo X & X2 31 18-06-2004 04:12 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy