All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:41 PM
King Mustard's Avatar
King Mustard King Mustard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 62
King Mustard is on a distinguished road
Question Making N95 show SIM contacts by default?

How can I make the N95 show the SIM contacts by default when I open Contacts?

  #2  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:20 PM
chrsfrwll chrsfrwll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 888
chrsfrwll is on a distinguished road
I don't think you can. The manual shows that if you want to make calls to contacts on your SIM card, you must first copy them across.

However it also says, Press , and select Contacts > Options > SIM
contacts > SIM directory to see the names and numbers
stored on the SIM card. In the SIM directory you can add,
edit, or copy numbers to contacts, and you can make calls.

Hope this is clear (as mud).
__________________
PIM evolution: filofax > psion organiser > psion 3 > psion 3a > psion 5 > palm > palm v > handspring visor > ipaq > 9300 > N80 > N95 > iPhone 3G, oops

  #3  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:45 PM
King Mustard's Avatar
King Mustard King Mustard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 62
King Mustard is on a distinguished road
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrsfrwll View Post
I don't think you can. The manual shows that if you want to make calls to contacts on your SIM card, you must first copy them across.

However it also says, Press , and select Contacts > Options > SIM
contacts > SIM directory to see the names and numbers
stored on the SIM card. In the SIM directory you can add,
edit, or copy numbers to contacts, and you can make calls.

Hope this is clear (as mud).
That is really, really annoying.

I don't like having my contacts on the phone as I switch SIMs a lot :/ I've also realized that when sending a text and choosing a recipient, you can only select numbers on your phone. Can't believe Nokia have chosen to do things this way.

Cheers for your reply mate.

  #4  
Old 09-10-2007, 03:15 PM
DJ Mike's Avatar
DJ Mike DJ Mike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 40
DJ Mike is on a distinguished road
you can put whatever number you want in. Go to new text, open it and type the number you want to send your text too. If you get the ABC just hold down the # key to change it to numbers.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by DJ Mike; 09-10-2007 at 03:19 PM.
Ads

  #5  
Old 09-10-2007, 05:14 PM
King Mustard's Avatar
King Mustard King Mustard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 62
King Mustard is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Mike View Post
you can put whatever number you want in. Go to new text, open it and type the number you want to send your text too. If you get the ABC just hold down the # key to change it to numbers.

Hope this helps.
No, I mean write a text message, go to Contacts and nothing shows up unless you have numbers on the phone. You can't even view the SIM contacts to choose from :/

  #6  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:15 PM
Unplugged Unplugged is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 582
Unplugged is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Mustard View Post
That is really, really annoying.

I don't like having my contacts on the phone as I switch SIMs a lot :/ I've also realized that when sending a text and choosing a recipient, you can only select numbers on your phone. Can't believe Nokia have chosen to do things this way.

Cheers for your reply mate.

Woouldent this be benificial to you then the numbers would be there regardless of sim or do you mean phones?
__________________

  #7  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:42 PM
King Mustard's Avatar
King Mustard King Mustard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 62
King Mustard is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unplugged View Post
Woouldent this be benificial to you then the numbers would be there regardless of sim or do you mean phones?
Since I swap phones a lot, I don't really want my contacts stored on each Nokia I come across :/

  #8  
Old 10-10-2007, 11:57 AM
Unplugged Unplugged is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 582
Unplugged is on a distinguished road
Ah ok that would make more sence

My understanding is this behavoir is happening a lot more in phones now not just nokia :( most phone lets you store a wealth of information and simcards STILL only provide basic name / phone number.
__________________

  #9  
Old 10-10-2007, 12:47 PM
davesmith davesmith is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 31
davesmith is on a distinguished road
I also find this REALLY annoying. As Unplugged mentioned I think it was because you can hold more information on the phone than a sim card about each contact. All series 40 phones have this ability its just one of those things that S60 team lag behind again with, rather than all nokia phones.

  #10  
Old 10-10-2007, 04:09 PM
King Mustard's Avatar
King Mustard King Mustard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 62
King Mustard is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by davesmith View Post
I also find this REALLY annoying. As Unplugged mentioned I think it was because you can hold more information on the phone than a sim card about each contact. All series 40 phones have this ability its just one of those things that S60 team lag behind again with, rather than all nokia phones.
I am happy with what the SIM can hold. They can hold a contact name and various numbers per contact. That suits me nicely.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
contacts, default, making, n95, sim

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Initializing my N95 contacts from my Blackberry address book? HippoMan Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 1 30-08-2007 07:50 PM
n70 backed up contacts on pc-> N95 phone babelfish Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 1 03-08-2007 10:52 AM
Contacts from p910i to N95...how? chocoloby Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 6 21-07-2007 01:55 PM
Sim as Default Unregistered22 Nokia 6600 and 6620 1 23-02-2004 05:03 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy