All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 27-10-2009, 06:22 PM
riverboat riverboat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
riverboat is on a distinguished road
can you debrand phone more than once? do Nokia brick it?

I'm asking here because it is a nice active forum, and i think the answers are related to all phones.

I used a UK product code on my Hubbys N86

It updated okay, but now there is another update V2 that it won't apply, and i'm wondering if i should have applied a EURO code instead?

So. can i use Nemesis to change the product code again, or will it brick the phone?

  #2  
Old 27-10-2009, 06:52 PM
ironass's Avatar
ironass ironass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cotswolds, U.K.
Posts: 1,508
ironass is on a distinguished road
You can change the code again using the same method as you did before.

As you can see from this forum, the non CV (Country Variant) and unbranded product codes get the first firmware updates.

Hope this helps.

  #3  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:14 PM
riverboat riverboat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
riverboat is on a distinguished road
f*ck the nokia service layer error came up whilst updating to v2, and phone won't turn on just buzzes and stays blank.

Hubby ready to kill me.....any suggestions?

Wonder if it WAS changing the product code

  #4  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:16 PM
angiepea's Avatar
angiepea angiepea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kent
Posts: 344
angiepea is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverboat View Post
f*ck the nokia service layer error came up whilst updating to v2, and phone won't turn on just buzzes and stays blank.

Hubby ready to kill me.....any suggestions?

Wonder if it WAS changing the product code
don't panic, you need to do a hard reset (or vulcan death grip) if you search on this site for hard reset, it will be all there for you

it's listed in this thread http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...hard+reset+n97
__________________
Angie x
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

Last edited by angiepea; 27-10-2009 at 07:19 PM.

  #5  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:19 PM
riverboat riverboat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
riverboat is on a distinguished road
nope, done it

green call key AND *button AND 3 buuton.

Hold them down and turn on phone yeah?

Did that and waited for about three minutes and nothing.


Or have i got that wrong?

  #6  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:20 PM
angiepea's Avatar
angiepea angiepea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kent
Posts: 344
angiepea is on a distinguished road
that's wrong

see above link
__________________
Angie x
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

  #7  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:21 PM
riverboat riverboat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
riverboat is on a distinguished road
so what do i need to do to hard rest a N86, thats what i found from googling

  #8  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:26 PM
riverboat riverboat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
riverboat is on a distinguished road
sorry, just found that link
Term "blind" panic springs to mind

  #9  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:27 PM
angiepea's Avatar
angiepea angiepea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kent
Posts: 344
angiepea is on a distinguished road
no sorry ------ wait ----- i thought you were using a N97, sorry
__________________
Angie x
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
Ads

  #10  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:28 PM
riverboat riverboat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
riverboat is on a distinguished road
so you think link will work for N86

  #11  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:29 PM
ironass's Avatar
ironass ironass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cotswolds, U.K.
Posts: 1,508
ironass is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverboat View Post
I'm asking here because it is a nice active forum, and i think the answers are related to all phones.

I used a UK product code on my Hubbys N86

It updated okay, but now there is another update V2 that it won't apply, and i'm wondering if i should have applied a EURO code instead?

So. can i use Nemesis to change the product code again, or will it brick the phone?
As it's an N86 you will need to do the hard reset I posted for you earlier, I did warn you.

It's here by zeacon:-

http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...d.php?p=424606

  #12  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:30 PM
angiepea's Avatar
angiepea angiepea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kent
Posts: 344
angiepea is on a distinguished road
no it won't - sorry
__________________
Angie x
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

  #13  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:34 PM
riverboat riverboat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 436
riverboat is on a distinguished road
cut and pasted from Zeacon's post, i follwed this, but no idea how long to hold down buttons for.

5/10/15 mins?





Hard reset procedure.
To those who face similar problems, try this first before you try other dangerous solutions like debranding your device. But be careful, this "Hard Reset" will erase all your personal information (contacts, calender events, notes, configuration, .....etc) but not stored data on memory cards. So I advise to create a backup of everything using OVI PC Suit.

The procedure for the hard reset is:

1) Make sure phone is fully charged and switch it off.

2) Press simultaneously the green "call" button, '*' and '3', and keep them down.

3) With those 3 keys down, switch the phone on.

4) Only release the 3 keys when the phone shows signs of life such as the Nokia logo or the language selection screen.

  #14  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:38 PM
angiepea's Avatar
angiepea angiepea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kent
Posts: 344
angiepea is on a distinguished road
so you're holding down the 3 keys, and then you switch the phone on, this also has to be kept down until the phone boots up.

maybe that's where you're going wrong

if that doesn't work, then i dunno
__________________
Angie x
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

  #15  
Old 27-10-2009, 07:40 PM
ironass's Avatar
ironass ironass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cotswolds, U.K.
Posts: 1,508
ironass is on a distinguished road
Your best bet is to pull the battery out, wait 10 sec's, and then replace it.

Then hold down the buttons mentioned and whilst continuing to hold them, power the phone on.

You can release the buttons when it starts to boot up, about 10-15 sec's.

Good luck.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
brick, debrand, nokia, phone

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[HOT][NEW] N80 RM-92 IE APAC PR v15.00 SW4.0632.0.38 juato4 Nokia N80 176 25-04-2007 03:19 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:38 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy