All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #46  
Old 03-09-2007, 09:09 PM
neilhoskins neilhoskins is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 685
neilhoskins is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navs View Post
For anyone else struggling i have just found a link for the shareware pako.pak file you need for your id1 folder.

Can be found here: http://quake.pocketmatrix.com/pak0.pak.zip
That unzips in Windows to give a file called pak0.pak.gz. Is this another layer of compression that needs unzipping with another utility? Or do I put the .gz file in the "ID1" directory?

  #47  
Old 03-09-2007, 09:27 PM
ut666 ut666 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 158
ut666 is on a distinguished road
it's just another layer of compression. Gunzip, linux world.... so extract the pak file from that.... Winzip or winrar should be able to handle the gunzip format.

  #48  
Old 03-09-2007, 11:37 PM
jinx405's Avatar
jinx405 jinx405 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 71
jinx405 is on a distinguished road
Sorry I cant quote each reply I write below cuz I’m surfing at work and there are prying eyes everywhere

fenomeno83 – yeah, the full version includes pak0.pak and pak1.pak, as well as a config file…

readbmr – quake sometimes doesn’t start for me as well.. I reckon it’s a memory issue. If that happens, I usually reboot my phone and it’ll work fine after that As for music, I have it from the cd I bought ages ago. Even if I had a link, I think it’s illegal to post that here? Maybe… have you tried searching elsewhere for it?

cyclone – flashing black screen? Never happened to me. I did get an occasional RAM logo on the top left, and that’s just a low ram warning. It gets fixed after a reboot

tonkenna – yeah the game is amazing, but I’m yet to find a good set of keys myself. Strafe doesn’t work for me, and if I do try to reconfigure the keys, it all becomes ctrl or ins, and messes things up. If im not mistaken, the website where we get the sis file from mentions something about using the console to remap keys. Haven’t gotten around to that yet though… anyone else tried changing keys in the game yet?

quake 2/3/4? Hahah I reckon quake2 could be a possibility.. maybe in the near future? We never know

  #49  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:43 PM
Pawlee's Avatar
Pawlee Pawlee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London
Posts: 108
Pawlee is on a distinguished road
is the n95 and 6290 the only compatible phones?
__________________
Phone: Nokia 808 Pureview - Black / Product Code : 059P6W4 / Firmware : Nokia Belle Feature Pack 2 - 113.010.1506

  #50  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:52 PM
bartmanekul bartmanekul is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,653
bartmanekul is on a distinguished road
In theory it works on any S60 V3 device, but Im having issues with the menu button not working after a bit of gameplay, which means I cant save or exit. Thats on a 6110 navigator.

  #51  
Old 04-09-2007, 02:01 PM
Pawlee's Avatar
Pawlee Pawlee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London
Posts: 108
Pawlee is on a distinguished road
my n93 is coming up with the issue "Menu: Feature not supported"

ive done everything specified on the site...
__________________
Phone: Nokia 808 Pureview - Black / Product Code : 059P6W4 / Firmware : Nokia Belle Feature Pack 2 - 113.010.1506

  #52  
Old 04-09-2007, 03:26 PM
Cyclone Cyclone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 47
Cyclone is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinx405 View Post
cyclone – flashing black screen? Never happened to me. I did get an occasional RAM logo on the top left, and that’s just a low ram warning. It gets fixed after a reboot
I get the ram logo as well. Ill try the reboot.

Cheers m8

  #53  
Old 04-09-2007, 09:32 PM
marcb marcb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
marcb is on a distinguished road
Looks like it is running nicely in the video!

But... I'm curious.

Why are only s60 3rd ed fp1 and not all s60 3rd ed devices supported?
What features does fp1 add that are required?

-Marc

  #54  
Old 04-09-2007, 11:16 PM
jinx405's Avatar
jinx405 jinx405 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 71
jinx405 is on a distinguished road
pawlee – it looks like it definitely works on the n95 and 6290 from the website itself. By right, it should be able to work on the n93 as well, but looks like it doesn’t… does the n93 have fp1? i doubt it has, and im guessing its more a software issue than a hardware one… does that error come up after the game starts up? Or it doesn’t even manage to start?

cyclone – yeah it’s a pity that the ram is so low on the n95. Hopefully that works out for you then! Let me know if it doesn’t and maybe I can be of more help

marcb – I guess the main difference is that s60 3rd ed is based on symbian os v9.1, and s60 3rd ed fp1 is based on symbian os v9.2. Technically, this means that there are more APIs for C++ that programmers can work with. And this can mean that some programs (like quake) need that little bit extra oomph for it to work and wouldn’t otherwise. At least that’s what I think Im not very technical in terms of C++, so I wouldn’t know exactly what fp1 has that is required for quake…

  #55  
Old 05-09-2007, 08:10 AM
kamakay kamakay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
kamakay is on a distinguished road
Hi symb people

do anyone have a problem when loading saved game?

thanks!

Roberto

  #56  
Old 05-09-2007, 08:53 AM
Pawlee's Avatar
Pawlee Pawlee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London
Posts: 108
Pawlee is on a distinguished road
no the program doesnt load at all... so yeah my guess is fp1 is missin... dangit :(
coulda been pretty good turned landscape with the pad below it... ah well - my contract needs to hurry up and expire...
__________________
Phone: Nokia 808 Pureview - Black / Product Code : 059P6W4 / Firmware : Nokia Belle Feature Pack 2 - 113.010.1506

  #57  
Old 05-09-2007, 09:17 AM
jinx405's Avatar
jinx405 jinx405 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 71
jinx405 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamakay;
Hi symb people

do anyone have a problem when loading saved game?

thanks!

Roberto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawlee;
no the program doesnt load at all... so yeah my guess is fp1 is missin... dangit :(
coulda been pretty good turned landscape with the pad below it... ah well - my contract needs to hurry up and expire...
hey guys..

kamakay - i just tried loading a saved game and it chucked me back into the phone's main menu. after that i tried rebooting the phone and it worked fine i think the game wont be able to load a saved game if there's not enough ram available..

pawlee - yeah looks like it. i just checked nokia.com and the n93 is not fp1. i could imagine quake on the n93 - it'll be great! you're only missing a mouse
Ads

  #58  
Old 05-09-2007, 09:29 AM
bartmanekul bartmanekul is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,653
bartmanekul is on a distinguished road
Whats FP1?

  #59  
Old 05-09-2007, 11:07 AM
Pawlee's Avatar
Pawlee Pawlee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London
Posts: 108
Pawlee is on a distinguished road
feature pack 1...

bloody annoyin my n93 doesnt have it especially seein as its in the same price range as the n95 (ie AWFULLY EXPENSIVE!!) and has pretty similar hardware too
__________________
Phone: Nokia 808 Pureview - Black / Product Code : 059P6W4 / Firmware : Nokia Belle Feature Pack 2 - 113.010.1506

  #60  
Old 05-09-2007, 11:10 AM
bartmanekul bartmanekul is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,653
bartmanekul is on a distinguished road
Hmm, what exactly does feature pack1 do? I searched the forum but only 1 (bad) result came up?


Edit: NM, found it on google, here it is for anyone else interested: http://www.mobile-review.com/review/...3dfp1-en.shtml
 

Bookmarks

Tags
3rd, edition, fp1, quake, released, s60

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
N80 - N80i firmware upgrade guide Cash Nokia N80 532 03-02-2008 08:22 PM
N80 Upgrade To N80ie chinquie Nokia N80 18 02-10-2007 12:49 AM
some n80IE codes question bobahajduk Nokia N80 5 01-06-2007 07:22 PM
[HOT][NEW] N80 RM-92 IE APAC PR v15.00 SW4.0632.0.38 juato4 Nokia N80 176 25-04-2007 03:19 PM
+ The SDK for S60 3rd Edition is now available! Apocalypso S60 (Series 60) 0 25-01-2006 07:01 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:33 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy