All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 06-03-2010, 02:12 PM
MHenriques's Avatar
MHenriques MHenriques is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 3
MHenriques is on a distinguished road
N97 mini phone number layout ?

Hello

I have a Nokia N97 mini bought in US but Im using it down here in Brazil. Id like to know how I can configure the dialer to show the dialed numbers in "brazilian layout" (4-digit prefix numbers) instead of USA layout (3-digit prefix numbers).

Thanks !

MH

  #2  
Old 10-07-2010, 07:30 PM
MHenriques's Avatar
MHenriques MHenriques is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 3
MHenriques is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by MHenriques View Post
Hello

I have a Nokia N97 mini bought in US but Im using it down here in Brazil. Id like to know how I can configure the dialer to show the dialed numbers in "brazilian layout" (4-digit prefix numbers) instead of USA layout (3-digit prefix numbers).

Thanks !

MH
More info on the subjetc:

1) If I change the product code to 0585510 (Brazil) and update the firmware I get the proper behavior on the phone dialer (simple plain phone number format with no spaces added) but I then get the wrong keyboard layout;

2) If I change the product code to 0584971 (US) and update the formware I get the correct keyboard layout but the wrong phone dialer behavior (spaces added to format the phone number into "american" XXX XXX XXXX way)

Is there a way to tweak the firmware files in order to either keep the US keyboard layout on the BRAZL firmware or to keep the phone dialer behavior on the US firmware?

Thanks for any help.

Mauricio

  #3  
Old 11-07-2010, 03:59 PM
jApi NL's Avatar
jApi NL jApi NL is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,146
jApi NL is on a distinguished road
Smile Brazilian Keyboard c.q. manual number tweak

Maybe get a Brazilian keyboard fixed in ?
I use E90 and prefer spaces in the phonenumbers . The E90 won't let me by default , unless I use this manual workaround :
1) type in the phonenumber , including spaces , in a alphabetical line like e.g. "Name"
2) copy the number
3) paste it to the phonenumber line .
Hopefully you can use this workaround the other way around , so without the spaces ?

Regards jApi NL

  #4  
Old 22-07-2010, 01:11 PM
MHenriques's Avatar
MHenriques MHenriques is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 3
MHenriques is on a distinguished road
THis suggestion does not solve the incoming phone numbers display

This suggestion does not solve the display of incoming phone number calls... THis is annoiyng for any country outside USA and this should not be hardcoded on the firmware. It should at least be tied to the country the phone is roamed to at that moment!!

MH
Ads
 

Bookmarks

Tags
layout, mini, n97, number, phone

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorola Milestone vs N97 (v20) celios Nokia Nseries S60 5.0 phones (Nokia N97 and Nokia N97 mini) 5 23-12-2009 05:13 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:56 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy