All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 16-04-2003, 10:07 AM

MaxLinux is on a distinguished road
My phone doesn't want to send my reply.

Just wondering if anyone had come across to this problem. I've been using my P800 for 2 months now without any problem so far. The other day, I received a SMS from my daughter ( my daughter is in the Philippines and I am in the Middle East). This is the first time it happened though. After reading the message, I tapped on the "Reply" button, and composed my reply on the mini-keyboard, then tapped "Done". When I tap on "Send", it doesn't do anything. The arrow in middle of the screen just disappears everytime I tap on the Send button. Then after awhile, a small pop up window appeared that says "Not enough memory". WTF is he talking about. I've checked my memory usage from the HandyDay, I have 46% on the phone memory and 20% on the MS. Another interesting thing is that I can reply to the previous SMS messages that I did received but not this one. Isn't that weird?

Old 16-04-2003, 10:20 AM

JulesG is on a distinguished road
Wierd indeed.
If you haven't done it, kill a few tasks using Handy Day -- if there was a 'Reply Requested' header on the SMS it might psh you over the edge.

Though probably not related, I found that certain networks do not take to 'Reply'. For example, while I could reply to certain networks in Latvia and Russia, some of the Pay As You Go networks there would refuse a 'Reply', and I had to 'Send' the message instead; then it works fine.

On the Nokia OS, there is a "Reply using same message center" [sic] option which may, or may not have something to do with it.

None of this really answers your question though... :-?

er ... remind me of the topic again?

Old 16-04-2003, 10:42 AM