All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 20-01-2008, 03:17 PM
elroy944 elroy944 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
elroy944 is on a distinguished road
is it possible to run 8gb firmware on regular n95??

hello is it possible to run on an regular n95 the firmware of the 8gb version by changing the productcode to n95 8gb? did anyone tried this before?

Last edited by elroy944; 22-01-2008 at 12:41 AM.

  #2  
Old 20-01-2008, 03:38 PM
GordonShowers's Avatar
GordonShowers GordonShowers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 249
GordonShowers is on a distinguished road
No, it is not possible.

Nokia Software Updater will not let you update because it checks the model number of the phone.

And the hardware is different.

  #3  
Old 20-01-2008, 03:40 PM
elroy944 elroy944 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
elroy944 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by GordonShowers View Post
No, it is not possible.

Nokia Software Updater will not let you update because it checks the model number of the phone.

And the hardware is different.
you can easy change the model number of the phone like i did when i debranded it from voda to normal n95

  #4  
Old 20-01-2008, 04:21 PM
3Shirts 3Shirts is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,285
3Shirts is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by elroy944 View Post
you can easy change the model number of the phone like i did when i debranded it from voda to normal n95
No, that is the product code. The model number cannot be altered and, in any case, the hardware is different so putting the wrong firmware on would not work and may even cause physical damage

  #5  
Old 20-01-2008, 04:39 PM
elroy944 elroy944 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
elroy944 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Shirts View Post
No, that is the product code. The model number cannot be altered and, in any case, the hardware is different so putting the wrong firmware on would not work and may even cause physical damage
hmm oke, i had earlier an n80 (regular) running with the firmware of the n80 music edition, i guess n95 8gb is not likely like the music edition. Also i had a sony ericson k800i running with the k810i firmware

i thought it would me cool to run the 8gb firmware on the n95 because of the new style menu i heard
Ads

  #6  
Old 20-01-2008, 04:41 PM
rottie's Avatar
rottie rottie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: London,UK
Posts: 287
rottie is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by elroy944 View Post
hello is it possible to run on an regular n95 the firmware of the 8gb version by changing the productcode to n98 8gb? did anyone tried this before?
even if it would be possible, which isn't, why would you wanna do that??
__________________

  #7  
Old 20-01-2008, 04:42 PM
elroy944 elroy944 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
elroy944 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottie View Post
even if it would be possible, which isn't, why would you wanna do that??
because of the flash lite 3 support and the new menu's :p

  #8  
Old 20-01-2008, 09:14 PM
3Shirts 3Shirts is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,285
3Shirts is on a distinguished road
The new menus are widely regarded by 8Gb users to be inferior to the regular N95 ones anyway. They are slower and not customisable

  #9  
Old 21-01-2008, 06:55 AM
ez2remember ez2remember is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 46
ez2remember is on a distinguished road
Even if it's possible you would be losing all the memory optimisation they have done with the classic. You now have 30MB+ of free memory.... The n95 8GB has 128MB ram and uses about 48MB for the OS leaving about 80MB+ free. If you used this firmware on the classic (64MB RAM) you would be left with something like 16MB+ RAM. Similar to what you had prior to v20 firmware.

  #10  
Old 21-01-2008, 01:02 PM
Unplugged Unplugged is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 582
Unplugged is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ez2remember View Post
Even if it's possible you would be losing all the memory optimisation they have done with the classic. You now have 30MB+ of free memory.... The n95 8GB has 128MB ram and uses about 48MB for the OS leaving about 80MB+ free. If you used this firmware on the classic (64MB RAM) you would be left with something like 16MB+ RAM. Similar to what you had prior to v20 firmware.
The memory optimization was added to the 8GB from the launch. Theoretically if it was possible the API should be the same it would just see less ram.

The hardware differences are negligible and theres no reason in theory why it shouldn't work if you hacked around with the firmware enough but you would need inside knowledge to do this. I would probably say with 99% certainty if you somehow managed to fool NSU in putting the firmware on it would most likely brick the phone. The biggest hurdle would be how the firmware treats the 8GB partition vs memory card slot.
__________________

  #11  
Old 21-01-2008, 01:12 PM
GordonShowers's Avatar
GordonShowers GordonShowers is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 249
GordonShowers is on a distinguished road
The hardware differences SEEM negligible but they can completely ruin the functionality of the phone.

For example, someone on another forum had a N95 8GB body with an N95-1 motherboard (apparently an error on the production line), and was completely unable to use the camera because it was waiting for the (non-existent) lens cover to be slid open......

  #12  
Old 21-01-2008, 05:52 PM
ez2remember ez2remember is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 46
ez2remember is on a distinguished road
I think you've missed the point unplugged. The n95-1 v20 firmware uses only about 34MB for the OS opposed to 48MB approx used for the n95 8GB. They did not need to do any special memory optimisation/reduction for the n95 8GB because there is so much available from the start. Just work out the maths... Why the n95-1 has 30MB+ free with 64MB base ram and the n95 8GB has 80MB+ with 128MB base ram.

Prior to v20 firmware it used about the same amount of memory for the OS as the n95 8GB. In v20 firmware they managed to reduce memory usage because of all the complaints...

I'm not talking about demand paging.

Last edited by ez2remember; 21-01-2008 at 08:09 PM.

  #13  
Old 22-01-2008, 10:16 AM
Unplugged Unplugged is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 582
Unplugged is on a distinguished road
Well yes but demand paging is all about keeping ram usage low by moving commonly unused data to storage ( hence the name ) with it available the phone should be able to boot using the 64meg available. Being OS based a lot of stuff will be the same in the two phones the phone will simply see more of less ram. It would no doubt be the same as if you replaced the on board ram with the same type of memory but twice the capacity as long as you stay within the addressable range for the hardware.

Sure you wouldn't end up with a fantastic amount of ram and prob not enough to do anything productive with ( a few megs maybe ) but the base hardware isn't that different. I'm not saying its going to be fantastically fast and if you did manage to get it to run you will no doubt run into problems such as the camera slide and the card slot but you would prob have to work out how to crack the directory protection too and copy certain "old" applications and executables back from the classic ( camera etc ) in order to get any sort of smooth operation so it would hardly be worth it.

Its obviously not iron clad theretically it IS possible practically prob not. At least not with a copy of NSU and a lot of knowledge.
__________________

Last edited by Unplugged; 22-01-2008 at 10:18 AM.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
8gb, firmware, n95, regular, run

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
N95 US VS. N95 8gb - pros and cons stv183 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 12 01-09-2009 05:53 PM
The N95 8GB hits v11 firmware slitchfield Series 60 68 20-11-2008 11:48 PM
Chinese Language/Input on N95 8GB? Shuu Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 2 09-01-2008 08:15 PM
After nokia n95 8gb firmware upgrade, help !! readbmr Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 6 09-12-2007 10:46 PM
Proper Firmware Update Procedures for N95 Z06 Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 12 24-10-2007 03:31 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:21 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy