All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 13-02-2008, 06:51 PM

Majik is on a distinguished road
Complete Novice To Debranding Here

Hi, new to the board and new to the whole concept of debranding my phone.

I recently received a Nokia N95 8 Gig as an upgrade from O2 and whilst there are a fair few threads on debranding there's nothing specific to my problem, either that or I've overlooked them I've not even turned the phone on yet so I couldn't lose any personal data.

What will I lose from the phone if I debrand it exactly? I know the loss of all O2 based applications will go but I still want to keep O2 as my provider, maybe just take all their crap off the phone and speed it up.

Will any applications not work and am I running a fine line by doing this, or is debranding the best thing that I could ever do to the phone lol?

Basically what's the good and bad points of debranding? It won't do anything silly like stop me from accessing Wifi or anything will it?

Thanks for your patience and I appreciate the time given to guide the ignorant like myself

Old 13-02-2008, 07:03 PM

Mass is on a distinguished road
Not trying to hijack your thread or anything but I am in the same position of wanting to update the firmware on my N95-8GB but I'm on 3. When I want to access the net, will that be screwed up and will I have to go back and manually setup the connections etc? Will I lose access tot he bolts ons that I got with the X-series such as MSN or Skype?

Thanks

Old 13-02-2008, 08:32 PM
Super Moderator

kontraband is on a distinguished road
the O2 upgrade is simple, as O2 dont plaster their phones with gumpf. You'll still be in O2, that wont change.

RE: 3. Theres plenty of posts about issues with the upgrade.

One thing though with N958GB people need to take not of it backing up the key for the spiderman movie if they have it... again, have a look in the forum.

Old 13-02-2008, 08:57 PM

kn751 is on a distinguished road