All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 21-12-2007, 09:10 AM
chenko chenko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
chenko is on a distinguished road
Use multiple access points...

I use automatic retrevial to pickup my email whilst at home and at work, I have access points setup for both of these. But I can only select one at a time for it to use, is there any kind of group option that you can add multiple access points to for it to use?


Also what is the exact meaning of "only in home network", will that stop it disabling the auto when its not in the wireless network? (It will disable it if it tries to get the email and you are out of range)

  #2  
Old 21-12-2007, 11:16 AM
mmarks mmarks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
mmarks is on a distinguished road
The option you speak about is only available in the E series, not the N series - despite both being on the same OS.
I had hoped that nokia would have introduced this in V20 but sadly no. For now, you have to change your connection when you are at home or out and about.

  #3  
Old 21-12-2007, 12:56 PM
md27514 md27514 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 57
md27514 is on a distinguished road
there is a solution

There is a piece of software called devicescape that allows you to setup list of your wifi networks (as well as public ones you might have access to). On your nokia you then can access all of these using same AP called devicescape.
It works with networks protected by WEP, WPA-PSK, WPA2-PSK but not enterprise type networks (EAP-PEAP). So it's not perfect but usable.
The is also smartroaming solution, but that one is paid.

  #4  
Old 21-12-2007, 05:25 PM
chenko chenko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
chenko is on a distinguished road
Thanks, just been trying devicescape.

I am a little miffed at why it wants to "login" every time, going online to register yes, but this should be just a local process though right?

Also it shows its connected etc, but nothing connecting through the devicescape access point works, and it doesn't start itself up automatically.


This something that is requested of the N series, or are nokia doing this just to cripple us?

  #5  
Old 22-12-2007, 07:58 PM
md27514 md27514 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 57
md27514 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenko View Post
Thanks, just been trying devicescape.

I am a little miffed at why it wants to "login" every time, going online to register yes, but this should be just a local process though right?

Also it shows its connected etc, but nothing connecting through the devicescape access point works, and it doesn't start itself up automatically.


This something that is requested of the N series, or are nokia doing this just to cripple us?
What version are you using? Do you use the lastest one 1.1.52? This one does not have to run all the time, you only need to run it if you have updated your wifi network list. It is very neat and seamless.
Ads
 

Bookmarks

Tags
access, multiple, points

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New: NetFront browser from Access for 92x0 Rafe Series 80 4 30-05-2008 12:05 PM
Multiple Access points possible? JasonRK Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 1 19-05-2007 11:19 AM
Switching between access points 1russianguy Nokia N80 4 17-12-2006 07:55 PM
access points not visible gargvishal Nokia 9300 and 9500 1 01-02-2006 05:45 AM
6680 Access points bjarke Nokia 6630, 6680, 6681 and 6682 0 28-05-2005 06:56 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:10 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy