All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 29-01-2009, 10:31 AM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
3.5mm jack into cassette player?

Will one of these work with my n95 8gb into our runaround car which only has a cassette player?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Audio-Casset.../dp/B000Q8JC64
__________________

  #2  
Old 29-01-2009, 10:56 AM
nasher nasher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17
nasher is on a distinguished road
I'm not sure what the quality of these things are like, but there's no reason why not as any std headphones, speakers etc work ok

  #3  
Old 29-01-2009, 10:59 AM
davecozens's Avatar
davecozens davecozens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somerset
Posts: 812
davecozens is on a distinguished road
No reason why not I reckon.

Although (if I remember correctly) you'll have to plug the small section that comes with the remote on the end into the N95 first, and then plug the jack off the cassette into that.

i.e



N95 < REMOTE < CASSETTE
___
| |
| | < =-----|-| < =---|00|
| |
---
Ads

  #4  
Old 29-01-2009, 11:28 AM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by davecozens View Post
No reason why not I reckon.

Although (if I remember correctly) you'll have to plug the small section that comes with the remote on the end into the N95 first, and then plug the jack off the cassette into that.

i.e



N95 < REMOTE < CASSETTE
___
| |
| | < =-----|-| < =---|00|
| |
---

sorry i dont understand. Is it not just a case of plugging in the 3.5 jack putting rhe cassette in and pressing play? its a wired version
__________________

  #5  
Old 29-01-2009, 12:06 PM
nasher nasher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17
nasher is on a distinguished road
you don't need the remote, just select "head phones" from the menu when asked.

  #6  
Old 29-01-2009, 12:43 PM
davecozens's Avatar
davecozens davecozens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somerset
Posts: 812
davecozens is on a distinguished road
Now that I didn't know. Whenever I plugged headphones straight in they didn't work...

  #7  
Old 29-01-2009, 01:05 PM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
what do you mean by remote though?

So will the phone ask what to select when you put the jack into it, and i just select headphones?
__________________

  #8  
Old 29-01-2009, 02:45 PM
boogieindubai boogieindubai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
boogieindubai is on a distinguished road
he meant the handsfree thing (the one with the mic and answer switch)

i do use a cassette adaptor in my car for the n95 and the audio quality is great! just make sure to choose "headphones" when you plug in the 3.5mm jack in the n95.

oh btw, the quality may vary depending on what kind of a cassette adapter you use. if you buy one of those super cheap ones then the quality may be bad, i am using a sony one and seriously the quality is really good!

  #9  
Old 29-01-2009, 02:54 PM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogieindubai View Post
he meant the handsfree thing (the one with the mic and answer switch)

i do use a cassette adaptor in my car for the n95 and the audio quality is great! just make sure to choose "headphones" when you plug in the 3.5mm jack in the n95.

oh btw, the quality may vary depending on what kind of a cassette adapter you use. if you buy one of those super cheap ones then the quality may be bad, i am using a sony one and seriously the quality is really good!
im just getting a cassette adaptor not anything with a mic and answer switches.

I saw on amazon for 3.99 then read a review of one for 99p that said it was actually better so bought that. If it is not that good Ill buy another, more expensive version.
__________________

  #10  
Old 30-01-2009, 03:28 PM
taylorig taylorig is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
taylorig is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liam548 View Post
Will one of these work with my n95 8gb into our runaround car which only has a cassette player?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Audio-Casset.../dp/B000Q8JC64

Plain and simple answer. Yes these things are great. Providing the heads in your cassette player in your car are pretty clean then the qualty from the one's i've used before is fairly close to CD quality.

Oh and the one i'm using is a cheap and cheerful one off E-bay. Not had a problem with it. Ever!

Hope that helps. Good luck

Last edited by taylorig; 30-01-2009 at 03:31 PM.

  #11  
Old 31-01-2009, 12:35 PM
psychofart psychofart is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 77
psychofart is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liam548 View Post
what do you mean by remote though?

So will the phone ask what to select when you put the jack into it, and i just select headphones?
the 'remote' is the nokia audio controller AD-54. whose one side goes into the n95 and there's a 3.5mm socket on the other side of AD-54 where normal headphones plug in. the phone normally asks nothing when AD-54 plugs in. this thing normally comes with n95 8gb(mine did)

if you insert a normal headphone plug straight into 3.5mm of n95, that will work too, the n95 will ask you and u just have to select 'headphone' when it asks. whatever you do with the other side of the cable doesn't matter.

  #12  
Old 31-01-2009, 02:47 PM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychofart View Post
the 'remote' is the nokia audio controller AD-54. whose one side goes into the n95 and there's a 3.5mm socket on the other side of AD-54 where normal headphones plug in. the phone normally asks nothing when AD-54 plugs in. this thing normally comes with n95 8gb(mine did)

if you insert a normal headphone plug straight into 3.5mm of n95, that will work too, the n95 will ask you and u just have to select 'headphone' when it asks. whatever you do with the other side of the cable doesn't matter.
i understand now, thanks for clearing that up.
Suppose I could use the remote too, excellent thanks.
__________________

  #13  
Old 01-02-2009, 12:01 AM
psychofart psychofart is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 77
psychofart is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychofart View Post
............... whatever you do with the other side of the cable doesn't matter.
forgot to mention, you HAVE TO connect something to the other side which will NOT DAMAGE the phone via the 3.5mm socket (e.g. connecting a power supply, battery etc.). headset, mic, audio OUTPUT FROM the n95.... etc. is ok.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
35mm, cassette, jack, player

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modifying Stereo Headphones for A925 gregbull Motorola A920, A925, A1000, Benq P30 and P31 and Arima U300 24 10-06-2009 06:09 AM
ipods,cameras,camcoderes,notebooks,mp3 PDA'S 4sale ! stevetel S60 (Series 60) 0 10-09-2006 11:26 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:53 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy