All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 20-10-2010, 04:42 AM

donchichi is on a distinguished road
N8 connection always on

I've been using symbian for over 10 years and change phones at max 4 x / year (all nokia).

I have a weird issue which I can't pinpoint on my N8. the connection is always connected.

1 - Connections already set to when needed.
2 - widgets offline mode
3 - email 1 hour polling.
4 - wifi scanning off

I had the same settings previously on my n97 mini and the wifi will go off after it has synced the email. On the N8 the connection seems to just stay on.

The conn status is (inactive) whenever i check. Previously if i'm not mistaken in the cnonection manager it will show what apps are running, now its showing shared (unknown) (unknown)

Any ideas? or is this a bug?

Old 20-10-2010, 04:44 AM

Seems when the shared (unknown) is no longer there it is still connected. I disconnected the wlan and it reconnected again but without any shared apps.

Old 20-10-2010, 07:50 AM

jerm is on a distinguished road
have you checked ovi sync settings?

Old 20-10-2010, 03:34 PM

I've found the culprit. Nokia's own check in widget. Removed it and everything is back to normal. Now the battery should last beyond 8 hours. Let's cross our fingers and see how it goes tomorrow

Old 21-10-2010, 02:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by donchichi View Post
I've found the culprit. Nokia's own check in widget. Removed it and everything is back to normal. Now the battery should last beyond 8 hours. Let's cross our fingers and see how it goes tomorrow
I'm starting to think that the culprit could be something to do with my office WLAN at home my wifi connections turn on and off eg checking mail when widgets are offline. In the office it always wants to connect and never disconnects.