All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 29-11-2006, 01:52 PM
neilhoskins neilhoskins is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 685
neilhoskins is on a distinguished road
Probably Stupid General Question About Unlocking and Factory Reset

If a handset (6630) has been unlocked by the network, then you apply a factory reset with *#7370#, does that re-apply the network lock?

  #2  
Old 30-11-2006, 06:21 AM
ratza's Avatar
ratza ratza is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibiu, Romania
Posts: 1,402
ratza is on a distinguished road
Nope. It just formats the phone.
__________________
Do you like my signature?

  #3  
Old 30-11-2006, 08:34 AM
neilhoskins neilhoskins is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 685
neilhoskins is on a distinguished road
Thanks. I thought that was probably the case but I thought I had better check. I bought a used "unlocked" 6630 on ebay, factory reset it, put my sim card in and got "sim card not valid". I'm now getting a refund and buying a new, sim-free E50.

  #4  
Old 30-11-2006, 10:49 AM
ratza's Avatar
ratza ratza is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibiu, Romania
Posts: 1,402
ratza is on a distinguished road
Yeah, eBay sellers..."Unlocked" means for them "case was opened"
__________________
Do you like my signature?
Ads
 

Bookmarks

Tags
factory, general, question, reset, stupid, unlocking

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:41 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy