All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #31  
Old 07-05-2010, 09:12 AM
animal63 animal63 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
animal63 is on a distinguished road
@jamessmith01
Yes. I have used opera mini (and Mobile 10) whilst "piggy backing" onto Orange. Tested it just before I posted. The only thing other than the speed that changes when I am on GPRS is Three's own portal shows very limited selection of options. All other applications and services work.

  #32  
Old 07-05-2010, 01:03 PM
jamessmith01 jamessmith01 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
jamessmith01 is on a distinguished road
@animal63
Thanks for the info. In that case perhaps there's a setting I need to change... are you using the defaults for Opera and for the three internet connection?
Ads

  #33  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:04 PM
animal63 animal63 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
animal63 is on a distinguished road
Doing nothing special with settings. I just use the defaults that the Nokia wizard set up when I plugged in the 3 SIm and installed opera and went.

  #34  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:04 PM
RollerSMB RollerSMB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 48
RollerSMB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy1 View Post
From an American perspective, this is somewhat solved by CDMA wireless technology. Sure, GSM is the global standard, and I'm even currently GSM (AT&T), but back when I was with Verizon Wireless (CDMA carrier), I could get a signal pretty much anywhere in the U.S.

And I mean anywhere.

I remember a camping trip with my buddies around 2006-2007; we were out in the middle of nowhere in upstate New York. Those with GSM cell phones at the time could barely receive a bar of signal. My Verizon phone had no problem; I had a full signal lock while trekking through woods.

And most of the latest Android phones here, are on the two CDMA carriers (Verizon and Sprint).
I'm pretty sure GSM isn't a global standard, and hasn't been for quite some time. 3G would be that standard, and iirc, 3G is (was?) also known as wcdma (wideband cdma). I was told once that the 850 3g band as used in America and the Telstra network here in oz has better range than the standard bands used in the rest of the world, but that could just be bollocks. What isn't bollocks tho is that Telstra's 3g network has hands down the best coverage in Australia, but imo, this is most likely due to saturation of access points, and given the relatively expensive prices of telstra 3g plans, I would expect as much.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
bars, run

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone able to run DOSBOX? rdcinhou Nokia Nseries S60 5.0 phones (Nokia N97 and Nokia N97 mini) 3 17-11-2009 08:53 PM
Run apps based on bluetooth device/charger connection? 3Shirts Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 3 16-07-2008 11:31 PM
MiniGPS won't run - An Error Message every time! masterforce Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 0 06-02-2005 02:14 AM
How fast should emulators run VQ1 Nokia 6600 and 6620 5 17-12-2004 06:44 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy