All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 09-05-2004, 11:58 AM
sony007 sony007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
sony007 is on a distinguished road
Remote S60 for nokia 6600

It just had to be me to have a problem in using my nokia 6600 as a webcam. I've read i'm sure almost all the threads to do with REMOTE S60 and Softcam. I've got the phone to connect to the pc, remote S60 on the pc says "listening" I hit start on the pc remote S60 and it says on the remote s60 " connect phone and start RS60", and i'm confused here as I though I was already connected. I open up softcam just to check if anything is happening there but nothing ! On Remote s60 for the pc 'Start' is the only button out of copy> save & key that is not greyed out. I d/l the demo remote s60 Home, I've got BT, the ports are the same for my bt and remote s60. The only way I can get it working is by using the TCP/IP and using network from the phone to connect via GPRS. Is this totally free this way? also which method would be more viable for frame rate speed as the refresh rate via gprs seems very laggy. Opps sorry one more question, if i'm using Remote s60 via gprs does that mean the range does not matter from pc to phone?

Thanx in advance..

sony007

  #2  
Old 20-06-2004, 09:34 AM
skyfilled skyfilled is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
skyfilled is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Problem getting Remote S60 to work

I'm having a problem installing Remote S60 too. Installed PC Suite and phone connected fine. Installed RS60 on the phone, installed RS60 on the computer. Phone connects and PC Suite recognizes it, but nothing seems to be happening with RS60.

Any tips?

  #3  
Old 20-06-2004, 10:32 PM
skyfilled skyfilled is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
skyfilled is on a distinguished road
Got it.

More fiddling. Turns out you have to start S60 on your phone manually. When you do the screen has a picture of a phone and dots to a computer at the bottom. After you do this S60 works.

The big disappointment is that the interaction between my computer and phone is so slow and the keyboard doesn't work so well. Maybe a future version will work better with the 6600. I used version 2.12.

  #4  
Old 17-07-2004, 06:40 PM
helpmepplz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
why does it say listening and not do anything plz help me grr

  #5  
Old 06-09-2004, 06:20 PM
Demmo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Smile remote s60

hi there,
please i just wanna ask about something, i'm using the remote s60 pro. and it's working and connecting to my phone through irda cable (nokia 6600) but i donno how to use the camera as a webcam in the msn messenger, so please tell me how to use it as a webcam in the msn messenger, u can reply to mee in my mail ( ) please


thank u
Demmo

Last edited by GhostDog; 06-09-2004 at 07:50 PM.

  #6  
Old 08-09-2004, 02:38 PM
wiltshireguyuk wiltshireguyuk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
wiltshireguyuk is on a distinguished road
I use Luminositi SoftCam to capture the camera feed from Remote S60. SoftCam creates a virtual webcam device which msn can use. Hope this helps.

Andy.

  #7  
Old 29-10-2004, 10:48 PM
osama_dubai
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
help PLZZZZZ

hi there,
please i just wanna ask about something, i'm using the remote s60 pro. and it's working and connecting to my phone through irda cable (nokia 6600) but i donno how to use the camera as a webcam in the msn messenger, so please tell me how to use it as a webcam in the msn messenger, u can reply to mee in my mail osama_dubai@hotmail.com

thank u
osama

  #8  
Old 30-10-2004, 06:59 AM
rohitkhannak's Avatar
rohitkhannak rohitkhannak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 111
rohitkhannak is on a distinguished road
Wirelessly posted (Nokia3650/1.0 SymbianOS/6.1 Series60/1.2 Profile/MIDP-1.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.0)

1) you start remote s60 on the phone, and choose whichever connection, and the connecTION should start 2)open mrouter on pc, click on the box of whichever connection. When it connects, 3)start remote s60 AFTER PHONE IS CONNECTED WITH MROUTer, and then click on the box, and voila! The phone's screen should come on the pc!I dont know about softcam tho. . ,. Rohit

  #9  
Old 30-10-2004, 08:27 AM
XZero XZero is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
XZero is on a distinguished road
Web Link Remote RS60

I am using RS60 Pro and you just have to start RS60 on your computer and select the port which is to be used or PC Suite (both options are dispalyed when you start RS60) then start RS60 on your mobile and in options select BT to connect and it should start the program. Thats how I am connecting to RS60. Also check is the com port is in use by any other program if it is then use PC Suite to connect. Hope it will work for you also.

  #10  
Old 27-12-2004, 02:00 AM
sar|n
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Has anyone got this to work using the PT-8 Video stand ?
Ive plugged my 6630 into it and expected the video to be captured from the stand rather then the camera. Was also hoping to use remote s60 to transfer the picture over ... the remote s60 bit works, however the stand seems to do nothing other then charge the phone when connected..

  #11  
Old 17-01-2005, 09:00 PM
kaushal kaushal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
kaushal is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Irda connection does not work

my device is already connected. but remote s60 pro still goes on listening as if no device is connected. please help me out
Ads

  #12  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:59 PM
Mikeln Mikeln is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 38
Mikeln is on a distinguished road
Wink Mobiola Web Camera

It is much easier to use Mobiola Web Camera to make a webcam from Nokia 6600 and other Symbian phones. Just visit homepage of the application and try it.

  #13  
Old 28-02-2007, 08:36 AM
kcramu kcramu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
kcramu is on a distinguished road
Check out for a free version of WWIGO from Motvik.com for converting your s60 phone into a webcam
 

Bookmarks

Tags
6600, nokia, remote, s60

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nokia 6600. My personal, first hand opinion Pagemakers Nokia 6600 and 6620 79 30-12-2006 05:38 PM
New: Remote S60 - use your Series 60 device via your PC Rafe Series 60 16 15-11-2006 10:18 AM
Problem with REMOTE S60 Punjabi007 Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 6 16-09-2005 07:26 AM
6600 + Opera + Web Interface for Remote Administration sleam S60 (Series 60) 3 06-01-2004 08:51 PM
Remote S60 for p800 hragsarkissian Sony Ericsson P800, P900 and P910 6 25-02-2003 04:57 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:28 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy