All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 30-01-2004, 03:54 PM
harryf1 harryf1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
harryf1 is on a distinguished road
Question Access points Gateway

I try to convince my 6600 to connect to the internet using its BT connection and getting my notebook as a router.

I found a very interesting thread in another forum but its necessary to enter a gateway in the access point.

On several screenshots I found that in
Settings / Connection settings / Access points there is an option called 'Gateway' between 'Authentication (secure/normal)' and 'Homepage'.

On my phone this option is missing and I can not get it by toggling any of the other options.

Any ideas where it is hiding?

TIA, Harry

  #2  
Old 30-01-2004, 06:13 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
Unlike other Series 60 phones,the 6600 can't be "convinced" to connect to the internet using its BT connection and internet enabled PC,Sorry.But if you have any progress,please let us know.
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #3  
Old 02-02-2004, 02:11 PM
harryf1 harryf1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
harryf1 is on a distinguished road
Does anyone here have this gateway option to enter stuff?
On my device this option is simply missing but its mentioned in the help pages. Moreover Nokia support told me that it 'should be there' - but they didn't sound very convincing to me.

Do you guys have this option visible in the access points configuration?

TIA, Harry

  #4  
Old 03-02-2004, 02:17 AM
Unplugged Unplugged is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 582
Unplugged is on a distinguished road
Isnt it under Options > Advanced when setting Access Points?

  #5  
Old 03-02-2004, 07:51 AM
harryf1 harryf1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
harryf1 is on a distinguished road
No, the help page says its on the main page for configuring the access points where it's not listed. Also on the advanced page, the option is completely missing. :-(

Harry

  #6  
Old 03-02-2004, 09:24 AM
Pyrofer Pyrofer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 22
Pyrofer is on a distinguished road
Im sure I remember seeing this option in my friends N-Gage, but its not in my phone.
Its possible that Nokia took this out on behalf of the Networks to 'FORCE' people to pay for content over the air, or they just simplified the phone because they thought nobody used it.

There IS a 'Proxy' setting, it maybe possible to use this?
__________________
Of all the things ive lost in life, I miss my mind the most.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
access, gateway, points

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:44 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy