All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 09-05-2003, 02:21 PM
Tatuagem Tatuagem is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 312
Tatuagem is on a distinguished road
Memory usage on the 3650.

My question is simply about what kind of memory the 3650 uses to run apps. I frequently find myself needing extra memory to run applications or games, thus having to restart my phone in order to get some extra kb.

Does it make any difference if I free some memory on the memory card, or is it only about the memory on the phone itself?!

Why do I have more memory available when I start my phone, even if I have no application running, after a few hours of having the phone on?

Isn't there a way to free memory without restarting the phone? I use memory monitor, but I don't want to mess around with those running applications without knowing exactly what they're doing.
__________________
---------------------------------------
It's not a home video!! ok?!?! ...It's a PHONE video!!
---------------------------------------
(#uminho na ptnet)

  #2  
Old 09-05-2003, 03:20 PM
jimmy-floyd's Avatar
jimmy-floyd jimmy-floyd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Russia,Krasnodar,6teen.
Posts: 977
jimmy-floyd is on a distinguished road
So in Nokia 3650 there is:1)a Ram memory2)a Rom memory.
__________________
Nokia 9300+Cellink BT 6023+256mb MMC and other stuff...pda's..mobiles..

  #3  
Old 09-05-2003, 07:18 PM
CoolMiKe CoolMiKe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 17
CoolMiKe is on a distinguished road
memory

mas ja tens o memory card cheio? o que ele precisa para ler os jogos é a RAM do tel, + nada! Sim, desligar/ligar funciona mas tu deves é deixar progs ligados, isto pode ser visto se ficares a carregar na tecla de acesso ao menu!!!
Para saires das aplicações faz sempre "back" ("sair").

Sorry ppl, but writing in portuguese is just faster and since this is portuguese!! if anybody has the same doubts i'll re-post in english!!

  #4  
Old 09-05-2003, 07:30 PM
jimmy-floyd's Avatar
jimmy-floyd jimmy-floyd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Russia,Krasnodar,6teen.
Posts: 977
jimmy-floyd is on a distinguished road
Just write all the text in eng.
__________________
Nokia 9300+Cellink BT 6023+256mb MMC and other stuff...pda's..mobiles..

  #5  
Old 09-05-2003, 08:39 PM
J T J T is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 43
J T is on a distinguished road
Re: memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolMiKe
mas ja tens o memory card cheio? o que ele precisa para ler os jogos é a RAM do tel, + nada! Sim, desligar/ligar funciona mas tu deves é deixar progs ligados, isto pode ser visto se ficares a carregar na tecla de acesso ao menu!!!
Para saires das aplicações faz sempre "back" ("sair").

Sorry ppl, but writing in portuguese is just faster and since this is portuguese!! if anybody has the same doubts i'll re-post in english!!
This is what Google translator says your Portuguese means:
"but ja you have memory card full? what it needs to read the games is the RAM of tel, + nothing! Yes, to desligar/ligar function but you must you are to leave progs on, this you can be seen to be to load in the keyboard key of access to the menu! For saires of the applications it always makes "back" ("to leave")."

Maybe that means something to you but it sure doesn't mean much to me. Again in English please.
__________________
J T

  #6  
Old 09-05-2003, 08:54 PM
Tatuagem Tatuagem is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 312
Tatuagem is on a distinguished road
basically he said that I must have other apps running in the background and I'm able to see that pressing the menu button for a few seconds... unfortunately that is not the case, as most know. Like in the old days, when we had to restart the computer if we lacked the memory to run a game, we still need to do that to our phones, now.

private note: menaço, basta eu correr um joguito e sair desse jogo para já nao conseguir correr o doom, por exemplo... basta aceder à lista telefonica e sair, para ja nao conseguir correr o doom, por exemplo... de alguma forma fica algo residente na memoria, de maneira ke a memoria fica mais cheia... é exactmente o ke se passa num computador, (notava-se melhor nos 486 antigos). tenho ke analisar de perto o mem monitor para ver exactamente o ke é. hasta
__________________
---------------------------------------
It's not a home video!! ok?!?! ...It's a PHONE video!!
---------------------------------------
(#uminho na ptnet)

  #7  
Old 09-05-2003, 08:59 PM
jimmy-floyd's Avatar
jimmy-floyd jimmy-floyd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Russia,Krasnodar,6teen.
Posts: 977
jimmy-floyd is on a distinguished road
OK,thanks.I understood.But its a well known hint.
__________________
Nokia 9300+Cellink BT 6023+256mb MMC and other stuff...pda's..mobiles..

  #8  
Old 10-05-2003, 03:37 AM
ST@RR's Avatar
ST@RR ST@RR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,367
ST@RR is on a distinguished road
You can also try installing Task Manager... It's very helpful for problems like that. Before, I always get a prompt like "not enough memory to do operation"... I didn't know that I was running some applications in the background. Task Manager helped me keep track of what programs are running and how many bytes it is taking up.
__________________
The only thing permanent in this world is CHANGE...

  #9  
Old 10-05-2003, 11:55 AM
Tatuagem Tatuagem is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 312
Tatuagem is on a distinguished road
Quote:
But its a well known hint.
yep.... to all who read the manual...


Quote:
Task Manager helped me keep track of what programs are running and how many bytes it is taking up.
yes. Unfortunately the processes' names aren't very enlightening... I guess I have to start my phone, take notes of the processess running, and when I don't have enough memory to perform a task, take note of them again and compare...
__________________
---------------------------------------
It's not a home video!! ok?!?! ...It's a PHONE video!!
---------------------------------------
(#uminho na ptnet)

  #10  
Old 10-05-2003, 12:02 PM
mrkin mrkin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 65
mrkin is on a distinguished road
why?

  #11  
Old 10-05-2003, 04:34 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkin
why?
beats me

- does it happen with when u try and u a particular programme?

  #12  
Old 10-05-2003, 04:49 PM
jimmy-floyd's Avatar
jimmy-floyd jimmy-floyd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Russia,Krasnodar,6teen.
Posts: 977
jimmy-floyd is on a distinguished road
Just a silly question,but where can i download Task manager ops:
__________________
Nokia 9300+Cellink BT 6023+256mb MMC and other stuff...pda's..mobiles..

  #13  
Old 11-05-2003, 01:22 AM
ST@RR's Avatar
ST@RR ST@RR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,367
ST@RR is on a distinguished road
Quote:
yes. Unfortunately the processes' names aren't very enlightening... I guess I have to start my phone, take notes of the processess running, and when I don't have enough memory to perform a task, take note of them again and compare...
Why do that? I don't quite get it. have you tried task manager? Anyway, it just tells you which programs are running example, Camera, messages, calendar, etc. That's it! All you have to do is check which programs are running and go to that program and exit it. That wouldn't be too hard compared to taking notes of the processes running
Quote:
Just a silly question,but where can i download Task manager
I forgot the site exactly... psint of psiloc. Anyway, I just search for it at google everytime good luck!
__________________
The only thing permanent in this world is CHANGE...

  #14  
Old 11-05-2003, 03:22 AM
baste07 baste07 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10
baste07 is on a distinguished road
i think he was refering to the files that are running... in app manager you can see the files that are running (names that you can't tell what they are for) and another part where it states the programs that are running (this is where what you said comes in)

he was refering to the first one. ( do you know what euserv.exe etc etc are for? is that easy to close?)

  #15  
Old 11-05-2003, 10:15 AM
ST@RR's Avatar
ST@RR ST@RR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,367
ST@RR is on a distinguished road
Oh i see! Is this task manager you're referring to? coz I only see the running apps in my task manager... not the files.
__________________
The only thing permanent in this world is CHANGE...
 

Bookmarks

Tags
3650, memory, usage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:14 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy