All About Symbian Forums

All About Symbian Forums (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/index.php)
-   Symbian^3 phones (N8, C7, C6-01, E7-00) (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   Info on: Changing Product Code/N8 product Codes (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/showthread.php?t=96934)

yade 25-10-2010 08:14 PM

Info on: Changing Product Code/N8 product Codes
 
Just so I don't get screwed by Orange's inability to get updates out, anyone know how to change the product code yet?

Thanks,

Mike

Biggzy 25-10-2010 09:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yade (Post 477155)
Just so I don't get screwed by Orange's inability to get updates out, anyone know how to change the product code yet?

Thanks,

Mike

Hi, from what i have read the only way to debrand a n8 is to flash with phoenix 2010, NSS nor jaf cant change the n8's product code.

ironass 26-10-2010 08:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Biggzy (Post 477158)
Hi, from what i have read the only way to debrand a n8 is to flash with phoenix 2010, NSS nor jaf cant change the n8's product code.

Oh knickers! :banghead:

evilweasel 01-11-2010 01:10 PM

...I've not tried it (yet ;)) but this link seems to suggest flashing a Symbian^3 (inc. the N8)phone is possible with Nemesis Service Suite http://nokia.nigelcoldwell.co.uk/firmware.htm. Having said that I would normally believe what Biggyz says, he usually know his stuff ! :icon14:

It also list the product codes for the N8 (for a full list see N8Owner's post here http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...ad.php?t=97016)

...I've not found confirmation that the N8 has been 'Vanilla-ised' yet, but I haven't looked too far yet :rolleyes:. Who's gonna be the first trailblazer on here then :pcguru::dontknow:

N8Owner 01-11-2010 01:34 PM

I couldn't do it with NSS but I did manage to sort out a lot of trouble with this:
http://www.nokiausers.net/forum/noki...languages.html

I went from a branded phone to a generic Euro method. Ofcourse, it goes without saying, only those comfortable doing this should try it. If you brick your phone you have no warranty to fall back on.:icon4:

N8Owner 01-11-2010 01:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by evilweasel (Post 477409)
...I've not tried it (yet ;)) but this link seems to suggest flashing a Symbian^3 (inc. the N8)phone is possible with Nemesis Service Suite http://nokia.nigelcoldwell.co.uk/firmware.htm. Having said that I would normally believe what Biggyz says, he usually know his stuff ! :icon14:

...I've not found confirmation that the N8 has been 'Vanilla-ised' yet, but I haven't looked too far yet :rolleyes:. Who's gonna be the first trailblazer on here then :pcguru::dontknow:

The top method doesn't work, I have tried.

I have done the second and it works using Phoenix. :tongue:

evilweasel 01-11-2010 02:10 PM

....cheers for the info N8Owner :)

Now we have confirmation the Phoenix route is the way to go :D

N8Owner 01-11-2010 02:16 PM

I am not saying the product code changes. I can't remember if it did or not as I initally applied generic Euro firmware and it worked and then returned it to my network specific version so I could use BBC iPlayer and their Skype client.

What I am saying is that flash it with any regional version you want and it works but I can't tell you 100% that the product code will change.

Biggzy 01-11-2010 03:01 PM

Even tho phoenix can flash the N8 it will not change the product code, during flashing it states product code changed, but after a check it didnt change, nor trying to do it manually via phoenix will change it, so at the mo there is no way to change it as far as i know, so all the people that want to debrand need to flash with phoenix.

kontraband 03-11-2010 10:22 AM

I'm just gonna sticky this post for a bit... as Im sure theres going to be a few rounds of these questions ;)

maalicious 08-11-2010 09:57 AM

I got mine from Tesco. Although there weren't many Tesco loaded features, I thought of flashing a proper firmware from Nokia and tried to do it with phoenix. I have only used JAF previously and when I started flashing the phone, phoenix said some files were missing and if it was OK to continue. I clicked yes and flashing started and the phone died. I had to contact Tesco and they replaced it! So, phoenix is not always successful I guess!

kpblxa 03-12-2010 09:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maalicious (Post 477677)
I got mine from Tesco. Although there weren't many Tesco loaded features, I thought of flashing a proper firmware from Nokia and tried to do it with phoenix. I have only used JAF previously and when I started flashing the phone, phoenix said some files were missing and if it was OK to continue. I clicked yes and flashing started and the phone died. I had to contact Tesco and they replaced it! So, phoenix is not always successful I guess!

you should have flashed it in dead mode - works like a charm :D

seki 03-12-2010 10:13 PM

my problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kpblxa (Post 478607)
you should have flashed it in dead mode - works like a charm :D

was the phone wasn't even recognised as a device by windows.
It was really really dead.
You could long press the power button to reset it .. Phoenix would see the phone for a fraction of a second and then it was gone again.

I haven't found a decent guide to "dead mode" .. I'd appreciate any insight or pointers to online info you might have.

Cheers

henrysclerk 03-01-2011 10:16 PM

I got mine from Tesco. Although many functions Tesco tax, I thought of flashing the firmware from Nokia is a fair and try to do with Phoenix. I've only used JAF already started to flash when I call, Phoenix was missing some files and asked if it was good to go. I click yes and start blinking and the phone is deceased. I contacted Tesco and they changed it! So Phoenix is not always successful, I think.

bobmarty 15-01-2011 10:34 PM

sipVoipSdk
 
I had the similiar problem and finally I found solution:

www.sipVoipSdk.com


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.