All About Symbian Forums

All About Symbian Forums (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/index.php)
-   Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   New firmware out already? (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9085)

stingbandel 14-03-2003 03:31 PM

New firmware out already?
 
I called the Nokia center here in Indonesia and they said there is a newer firmware, 3.025.

I, myself, haven't upgraded since they want me to pay for $20 for the upgrade.


Is it true since I call the other place and they still have the 2.50 version.

JyriK 14-03-2003 03:46 PM

Yes, there should be a new FW very soon. (maybe next week) I doubt that its out already. But could be that that version is just for APAC.

Baggis 14-03-2003 04:28 PM

Cool! Any info as to what that version contains?

stingbandel 14-03-2003 04:49 PM

ok they said they already got it today and also I am able to upgrade it as long as I pay $20.


Is it a normal price to upgrade a firmware?



that's kinda expensive for me...


as far as what it fixes, I don't know since the guy didn't say anything to me. he just said he just got it this morning and it's ready by noon. that's all.

maybe I'll call them later on tomorrow and ask what the new version does.

amigappc 14-03-2003 05:10 PM

hi,

in germany the price is from 0.- to 30.-. i get it always 4 free because i know the poeple. i get also firmware upgrades for mobile phones they havent guarantie??!! .


cya amigappc

daniatt 14-03-2003 05:54 PM

New firmware? That is nice to know. I hope Nokia Care here has it.

My 3650 is with Nokia Care because it did not start normally. The problem started after I installed the trial version of Wildskinz :( and the Nokia Video Recorder. I thought 7650 applications will also work with 3650. I usually send e-mail to developers to ask on whether the 7650 sotwares they have is compatible with 3650 but I missed to write/ask wildpalm :(

I better call Nokia Care to ask about this latest version :)

Thank you for the firmware info stingbandel :angel:

willbrady 14-03-2003 08:41 PM

You have to be careful with Wildskins - I bet you uninstalled it without 'deacvitating' it first - then when you re-boot your phone it gives errors on startup and when you enter menus?? Yes?

Thats cause it's still looking for wildskins which is now uninstalled - the trick is to re-install wildskins - activate it - deactivate it, reboot and make sure it's definatly deactivated. Then uninstall it and you should be back in business.

Thou it's too late for you as you have already given it to NCS but a warning to others ;)

Best

Will

stingbandel 15-03-2003 01:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amigappc
hi,

in germany the price is from ? 0.- to ? 30.-. i get it always 4 free because i know the poeple. i get also firmware upgrades for mobile phones they havent guarantie??!! .


cya amigappc

would it be possible for you to ask for the firmware cause my friend can upgrade it for me?



Thanks

JyriK 15-03-2003 02:19 AM

The FW upgrade should be free if you have warranty left :D
They might charge for the work though...

stingbandel 15-03-2003 02:30 AM

the problem is I didn't buy the phone in Indonesia so they claim the warranty doesn't cover to overseas.




that's why I have to pay $20 for the upgrade.

Nosferatu 15-03-2003 05:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stingbandel
the problem is I didn't buy the phone in Indonesia so they claim the warranty doesn't cover to overseas..

Same goes here in Malaysia... Its fair enough i think...

JyriK 15-03-2003 12:05 PM

Have you checked the last page of the manual?? (the warranty section)
In europe it covers many countries outside of EU too.

amigappc 15-03-2003 01:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stingbandel
Quote:

Originally Posted by amigappc
hi,

in germany the price is from ? 0.- to ? 30.-. i get it always 4 free because i know the poeple. i get also firmware upgrades for mobile phones they havent guarantie??!! .


cya amigappc

would it be possible for you to ask for the firmware cause my friend can upgrade it for me?



Thanks


uhm, do u mean that they give me the software on cd ?! so u can upgrade by urself ?!

i think that is not possible but i can ask a friend of me. u only need the special dct-4 dongle and software to update ur phone.


cya amigappc

stingbandel 15-03-2003 05:56 PM

My friend has all the tools to upgrade the firmware.

As a matter of fact, he just upgraded mine from 1.34 to 2.41 today.


If you could get the latest one from your friend, then I can ask my friend to upgrade it for me.



thanks


Darno

amigappc 15-03-2003 11:27 PM

hi,

yeah i will ask him if he come back from the www.CeBit.de .

he told me he will there 3 days. but i will ask some other guys.


cya amigappc (germany)


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.