View Full Version : Nokia Software Updater problems


12acres
31-03-2008, 06:59 PM
Hello dear forum members,


I have a rather annoying problem with the Nokia Software Updater, with which I certainly hope you can help me.
Upon starting the Nokia Software Updater application, the program just freezes on the "starting application" screen.

Here are my specs:
Windows XP SP2, accessing internet via wireless Netgear router
Nokia Software Updater v1.4.23se
Nokia N82 mobile telephone

Below is a list of the remedies I have tried (to no avail):
1. Uninstalling PC Suite and NSU and reinstalling them
2. Uninstalling PC Suite, then reinstalling, then uninstalling NSU, then reinstalling
3. Opening some ports in the 60000+ range (as specified in another Symbian forum).
4. Allowing the nsu (and related) processes to pass through the firewall.
5. Banging my head on the computer screen (twice).
6. Waiting for a really long time to see if the application would start anyway.
7. Writing a friendly e-mail to Nokia's customer service.

Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

// LG

kevinx
12-04-2008, 12:47 AM
Hello dear forum members,


I have a rather annoying problem with the Nokia Software Updater, with which I certainly hope you can help me.
Upon starting the Nokia Software Updater application, the program just freezes on the "starting application" screen.

Here are my specs:
Windows XP SP2, accessing internet via wireless Netgear router
Nokia Software Updater v1.4.23se
Nokia N82 mobile telephone

Below is a list of the remedies I have tried (to no avail):
1. Uninstalling PC Suite and NSU and reinstalling them
2. Uninstalling PC Suite, then reinstalling, then uninstalling NSU, then reinstalling
3. Opening some ports in the 60000+ range (as specified in another Symbian forum).
4. Allowing the nsu (and related) processes to pass through the firewall.
5. Banging my head on the computer screen (twice).
6. Waiting for a really long time to see if the application would start anyway.
7. Writing a friendly e-mail to Nokia's customer service.

Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

// LG

It was banging your head on your computer screen (ONLY twice) that did it. You should do this three times, whilst whistling "Dixie!" :-)

Did you ever get this resolved? (I note your post is a couple of weeks old now).
I believe there is a later version of updater available at the moment, from Nokia.
There IS a newer s/w version out, v20.xxxx, available for download.

Cheers

GSi-R
13-04-2008, 07:37 AM
Any update on your issue.?

Im in the same lonely boat. Running Vista Business here.

dez_borders
07-05-2008, 01:42 PM
I have a rather annoying problem with the Nokia Software Updater, with which I certainly hope you can help me.
Upon starting the Nokia Software Updater application, the program just freezes on the "starting application" screen.


If you use Symantec / Norton Internet Security then DISABLE both the Virus Checker and the Firewall before you run NSU. (Remember to enable them after the update completes).

NSU appears to be very fussy about firewalls.

tanov
07-05-2008, 05:41 PM
this is what i did and it works.

uninstall the cable connectivity driver that comes with the latest version of nsu, its in the programmes list on your comp
find and download a nokia cable driver version 6.50.8 or similar, basically its an older cable that works better than the new one!

download latest version of nss on the b phreaks site, install option should be "diamond" on the drop down and all works a treat.

i can now change product code ok and reistall sofftware via nsu

best of look and search other forums for the connectivity cable issue it is out there

cheers wayne

srizvi1
05-06-2008, 01:17 PM
I remember I had problems with my N76 and running PC Suite on my Windows XP in Bootcamp on my MacBook Pro running Leopard. I installed PC Suite, and it was working fine, but when I installed the Software Update application, my PC Suite wouldn't detect my N76 anymore. I went into Device Manager and disenabled the N76 and then it reinstalled and then I was able to use PC Suite again.