View Full Version : How to Safely upgrade Firmware on SE P990i

Raza_Ali
08-05-2007, 01:56 PM
Does anyone know whats the safest method of upgrading firmware on Sony ericsson P990i. I have seen that the handset has certain software glitches like occassional restart and hanging. At certain fora, got this thing that firmware needs to be updated, but the question is how????
Can it safely be done at home, without losing the phone. I am a total novice and I am looking for some way to upgrade the firmware without losing my phone because there is No Sony ericsson Service Centre here, and the nearest one is perhaps 1700 kms away.

timjohn
08-05-2007, 07:00 PM
The Sony Ericsson Update Service is pretty reliable and safe, if a bit longwinded and slow at times.
Ensure that you have the latest version of PC Suite installed (large download from the SE Support Site).
I strongly recommend that you use a broadband connection for both the download and the firmware upgrade! Also, you cannot do the upgrade using your phone modem to connect to the internet as you have to remove the battery frrom the phone as part of the process.
TAKE NOTE! The firmware upgrade will basically reset your phone to as-new state and there have been problems restoring backups. So make sure that you have installation files for all your apps. Synchronize your phone with the PC so that you can get all contacts etc back before you start the following procedure.
Step by step, do the following:
1. Ensure that you have the Update Service software module installed on PC.
2. Connect to the internet using broadband connection (NOT using the phone connection!).
3. Doubleclick Update Service icon.
4. You should be taken to SE Support site and it will check the Update Service software version on your PC. This can take quite a long time. If you don't have the latest version it will download and be installed.