View Full Version : Help Getting a 3650 in the US?

switchme
14-11-2002, 04:43 AM
Hi Everyone,
I am working on a project for a college class and need to get a hold of a 3650 or 7650 for the project. Obviously, being a college student I have a limited budget, but I am willing to pay for a phone if necessary. Can anyone out there help me get ahold of one of these phones? If so, please let me know ASAP. Thanks!

Rafe
14-11-2002, 10:14 AM
The 3650 isn't publically available at the moment.

A 7650 wont work in the US, but you could buy from http://www.exspansys.com

You could try contacting Nokia USA, they might deem your project worthy if you're lucky.

Rafe

switchme
14-11-2002, 03:41 PM
I know the 3650 isn't available yet, but I was hoping there were prototype phones out there somewhere that I could get ahold of for development. I know the 7650 isn't meant for the US, but I thought I could still use it without service just to demonstrate my application. Do you know if the phone will function to do this without service in the US? Thanks.

J2theIZZO
14-11-2002, 03:52 PM
If your just application testing I can't see why not.

You won't get any network coverage is what he's trying to say. I'm not sure about accessing the phone without a sim, but I can't see why not.

Have you tried contacting Nokia USA to ask them?

switchme
14-11-2002, 04:03 PM
Ok, I don't need network service, so I thought it would work as well for testing. Can anyone out there confirm this for me??

I have contacted Nokia Corporate Communications, but it is very difficult to get in touch with anyone. The one time I did speak with a real person, she took me contact information and said she would get in touch with the right people to help me...it's been three weeks and I have not heard back! :-? I've tried calling back many times, but cannot reach anyone. Does anyone here have contact information for Nokia that they could send me?

J2theIZZO
14-11-2002, 04:39 PM