View Full Version : No Bluetooth Serial profile in 6630??!?

fannypad
13-01-2005, 02:55 AM
I just downloaded ControlFreak for my 6630, and lo and behold it needs a Bluetooth serial port to work.

However, the WIDCOMM software that came with my Bluetooth adapter tells me that the 6630 does not support the Bluetooth serial port profile.

Having had a quick look on the net it does seem to be the case.

WHY??!? No laptop connections, no peripherals, no support for stuff like ControlFreak... in a supposed high-end phone. Ridiculous.

However, I did find this page: http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31338 on which a few people reported getting Bluetooth GPS boxes working with the 6630, which use the serial profile.

So, what's going on? Is it to do with the WIDCOMM Bluetooth stack I'm using? Or have Nokia engineers been sniffing too much ketamine the last year?

Utenteanonimo64
13-01-2005, 08:58 AM
I'm not a bluetooth expert but the way I understood it, an application can implement a serial port profile and use the bluetooth stack even if the stack itself doesn't offer the serial profile.
I can confirm that the WayFinder software works fine with a Bluetooth GPS receiver connected to the 6630. But applications that simply try to open a serial port on the phone will not find any.

I think not having a bluetooth serial profile is another design decision that Nokia took to please network operators; this way you can't use your phone to connect to a pc and access the internet using the pc as a gateway.

UA

fannypad
13-01-2005, 09:46 AM
Thanks for the info.

So, theoretically, it would be possible to install an app on the phone which enables the serial profile and use it in the same way as before? Is anyone working on such an app at the moment?

Utenteanonimo64
13-01-2005, 10:36 AM