View Full Version : Bug list on the 6630


klaman
27-12-2004, 08:01 AM
Hi,
I'll start a thread to list all the ,,faults'' I've experienced with the 6630 V2.39.15 11/11/04 RM-1:

o Email : NEW mails cannot be sent. REPLIES can. Strange
o A lot of Series 60 1.x programs suffer from poor graphics or performance
o AgileMessanger 3.13 with ICQ does not work - does not send data. MSN/Yahoo work OK
o When phone is w/o battery for 2-3h all message sending settings are lost
o Doom 7650 fails
o GoBoy 1.4 fails

N/A
27-12-2004, 09:25 AM
o Email : NEW mails cannot be sent. REPLIES can. StrangeSending new email messages works for me. Can't explain why it doesn't on your phone. Is your outgoing SMTP server defined for the mailbox as your operator's SMTP server?

Ratkat
27-12-2004, 04:18 PM
Hi,
I'll start a thread to list all the ,,faults'' I've experienced with the 6630 V2.39.15 11/11/04 RM-1:

o Email : NEW mails cannot be sent. REPLIES can. Strange
o A lot of Series 60 1.x programs suffer from poor graphics or performance
o AgileMessanger 3.13 with ICQ does not work - does not send data. MSN/Yahoo work OK
o When phone is w/o battery for 2-3h all message sending settings are lost
o Doom 7650 fails
o GoBoy 1.4 fails


Mine sends emails just fine,and I've the same firmware as you, so it must be your settings.

Why do you need to leave your battery out for 2-3 hours ?

All the other things you mention are the problems with software compatibility and are not 'bugs in the phone'

6630 uses Symbian OS 8, there are going to be issues with software designed for the earlier versions, it is up to the software producers to make their programs compatible.

klaman
27-12-2004, 04:51 PM
Is your outgoing SMTP server defined for the mailbox as your operator's SMTP server?

Of course it is -- them replies would not work either. Actually I heard from the shop that there are certain problems with that firmware -- I'll be getting a new update in a couple of days.

klaman
27-12-2004, 04:54 PM
it is up to the software producers to make their programs compatible.

Can you spell backward compatible? Certain issues must be thought
before the mass markets buy smartphones. I - as a consumer - don't
like the situation where some apps that I've purchased don't work
on my new cell and thus I need to buy them over again... ??!

Ratkat
28-12-2004, 12:17 AM
Can you spell backward compatible? Certain issues must be thought
before the mass markets buy smartphones. I - as a consumer - don't
like the situation where some apps that I've purchased don't work
on my new cell and thus I need to buy them over again... ??!


Whilst I agree with you to some extent, you can't move technology forward and expect everything to work, hopefully updated versions of incompatible software will be made available.

bellrock
28-12-2004, 12:24 PM
ICQ at Agile Messenger works fine with me.. maybe at that time u tried icq servers had problems...
Get agile messenger from thier we site which writes for 6600.

the others are not bugs of phone but software incompitablilities.
I m using ProfiMail 1.35. It sends receives without any problem ..

:)
Greetings.

Hi,
I'll start a thread to list all the ,,faults'' I've experienced with the 6630 V2.39.15 11/11/04 RM-1:

o Email : NEW mails cannot be sent. REPLIES can. Strange
o A lot of Series 60 1.x programs suffer from poor graphics or performance
o AgileMessanger 3.13 with ICQ does not work - does not send data. MSN/Yahoo work OK
o When phone is w/o battery for 2-3h all message sending settings are lost
o Doom 7650 fails
o GoBoy 1.4 fails

p51
29-12-2004, 03:34 PM
My 6630 on vodafone uk is full of bugs.

The voice comand button on the side of the phone does nothing.
It keeps restarting itslef every so often.
Clickingthe icon Tools -> voice com nothing happens, it trys to open then just quits.

some of the things i have installed on the MMC that work perfectly show up in manager as being installed twice, one instalation shown as fine the other showing as not installed.

Sometimes i have to take out the battery as the phone has locked up fully.

klaman
29-12-2004, 04:22 PM
Check your SW version. I got an update from local teleoperator, used to have the one dated 11/11/04 RM-1. It's full of problems. Now 04/12/04 and everything works - for a change.