View Full Version : 6630 from TIM


lp4u
26-11-2004, 03:02 PM
hi guys! is it possible for someone outside italy to use the 6630 from tim??? coz the price is really temptating...does tim sell the phone on the net? if not, how can i get one????

john74
26-11-2004, 11:41 PM
Yes it is SIM UNLOCKED,i have it and i got it from Italy (TIM) and it works perfect for me in Greece (vodafone) :icon14:

lp4u
27-11-2004, 02:20 AM
thx...but how can i get one from italy coz itsvery very far away from me...can i buy it from the net??

Dweomer
27-11-2004, 02:25 AM
How much did you get it for without a contract from TIM? If you know of a website where I could buy it online, could you please post it?
:rolleyes:

lp4u
27-11-2004, 02:31 AM
DWEOMER if u find a website wehere u can buy the 6630 just let me know...ths

john74
27-11-2004, 04:39 PM
you cant buy it online (i had a friend of mine get it for me from Italy) WITHOUT contract 350 euro..TIM only

L.A.
27-11-2004, 10:14 PM
http://www.iltelefoninonline.tim.it/n/0,,406^443408,00.html
Click "TIM Turbo Umts" in the left toolbar.
331 Euro. Shipping included (for Italy).
Bye.

Tricky
27-11-2004, 10:59 PM
Found a couple of Italian stores:

ePRICE.it (http://www.eprice.it/Product.pasp?txtCategory=C584%5F100%28EPR%5FBase%2 9&txtProductID=555234%28EPR%5FBase%29&storico=%A7%60Ricerca%3A+6630%A7%60C584%5F100%28EP R%5FBase%29%A7%60&ordinamento=cy_list_price&mod=prod&pos=1&txtSearchPhrase=6630)

334,75

They don't seem to have an English page. Do any Italians here know anything about ePRICE.it? Are they reliable?

Here's another - Mallteam (http://www.mallteam.it/scheda.asp?id=4236). 349. Again, no English section though.

Tricky
27-11-2004, 11:05 PM
And another!

Euroelettrica (http://www.euroelettrica.it/cgi-bin/public/categorie.cgi?id_settore=7058&id_prodotto=TIM-CEL6630) - 323.90!!! Too good to be true I think. :D

lp4u
28-11-2004, 03:54 AM
thx for all the website mentioned...i just hope they make delivery all around the world...btw any1 bought their phone from these retailers??? are they reliable??

Tricky
28-11-2004, 10:56 AM
Try and find an Italian phone forum and hope that someone speaks English there. :D

daywalker
28-11-2004, 07:04 PM
if anyone finds ut this info please please post details as will be looking to buy one :D

Mudskipper
29-11-2004, 01:27 PM
Ok, Mallteam.it (http://www.mallteam.it) have good ratings on the Italian version of Ciao (http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=it&u=http://www.it.ciao.com/Mallteam_it__258866/TabId/2/SortOrder/2&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dmallteam%2Buk%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26saf e%3Doff%26sa%3DG)

ePrice.it (http://www.ciao.it/ePrice_it__46126) do not have very good ratings.

coolice
29-11-2004, 05:31 PM
Hey,

Anyone got one and using it in the UK by any chance?

Those price are really good.

Ian

Sandman92
29-11-2004, 10:51 PM
First of all sorry for my english :P

I'm from spain and i'm very interested in this phone from tim, but my company is movistar,not vodafone.

I move to italy 5 dec and I'll buy one but....

Anybody can tell me if the phone works fine with my company? Or simply, john74 can you put other company sim in the phone that not have been vodafone, please? I tell this because vodafone uses the same line over all europe countries (i hope).

Another question, the guaranty its for all europe, that's right?

Thanx for readme.

Fidelko
30-11-2004, 07:03 AM
First of all sorry for my english :P

I'm from spain and i'm very interested in this phone from tim, but my company is movistar,not vodafone.

I move to italy 5 dec and I'll buy one but....

Anybody can tell me if the phone works fine with my company? Or simply, john74 can you put other company sim in the phone that not have been vodafone, please? I tell this because vodafone uses the same line over all europe countries (i hope).

Another question, the guaranty its for all europe, that's right?

Thanx for readme.

iam using this phone with Orange SIM card and there are no problems,and i tried an Eurotel/T-Mobile/ SIM card,and its the same,its working. :D

Sandman92
30-11-2004, 12:51 PM
OK Fidelko.I'm very happy.

Many tankx, I really wish read this.

My 6630 it's waiting for me!!!!

coolice
30-11-2004, 04:29 PM
Hey,

No one in the UK has tried this yet?

I have emailed to see if they'll ship to UK, so we'll see what comes back.

Ian

daywalker
30-11-2004, 11:57 PM
Hey,

No one in the UK has tried this yet?

I have emailed to see if they'll ship to UK, so we'll see what comes back.

Ian

lets hope they do be sure to keep us posted ian :D

coolice
01-12-2004, 12:30 PM
lets hope they do be sure to keep us posted ian :D

Hey,

I emailed one of the companys listed with prices in Italy yesterday. Being half Italian you'd think I knew the language but I don't, so with the help of a translator I made up an email basically asking if they were capable of shipping to the UK.

The answer I got is no, not that they wouldn't ship over to us, just that for the time being they are not capable of doing so which is good.
So I am trying to figure out who we know in Italy who could send me one over :rolleyes:

If anyone gets one to use in the UK please tell us how it goes.

Ian

momurad
01-12-2004, 05:54 PM
it is work in amman - jordan but the problem that you can't change or upgrade the mmc and we try different kind of mmc and the phone not recognised it

DUC998RS
01-12-2004, 09:24 PM
it is work in amman - jordan but the problem that you can't change or upgrade the mmc and we try different kind of mmc and the phone not recognised it

Go to ebay.it and buy one online i got one from there and i live in Portugal.

Sandman92
01-12-2004, 09:35 PM
The problem can be that your rs-mmc's aren't rs-DV-mmc. The 6630 only recognize the new model of mmc (DV- Dual Voltage). Now,it's very difficult buy a rs-dv-mmc bigger than 64MB.
I think only nokia have mmc of this kind (rs-dv-mmc).
Bye.

Mudskipper
01-12-2004, 10:16 PM
Go to ebay.it and buy one online i got one from there and i live in Portugal.

Hi, which Ebay user did you buy from? Thanks. :)

DTL
01-12-2004, 11:15 PM
Does anybody have idea how to change TIM preferences inside.

1. TIM theme can not be deleted,
2. TIM screensaver cannot be changed (I try with some gigs, but it didn't work)
3. some other preferences, (booknmarks and etc) cannot be deleted

Some ideas, beside new firmware?

Thanks

Nutzu
02-12-2004, 02:02 PM
Does anybody have idea how to change TIM preferences inside.

1. TIM theme can not be deleted,
2. TIM screensaver cannot be changed (I try with some gigs, but it didn't work)
3. some other preferences, (booknmarks and etc) cannot be deleted

Some ideas, beside new firmware?

Thankswhy u need to delete the tim theme??u can change it with other ones from the net,use Power Lock to change the screensaver

faquick
04-12-2004, 03:45 PM
you can choose another theme, the tim one is in ROM (Z: ) so it doesn't "steal" any space on the phone

the screensaver can be changed opening the teme and selecting "edit"

for the bookmarks, I ended up just ignoring them :P

p.s. I don't know if it can be done easily, but if you trust me or somebody else from Italy you could send money and I will buy the phone and send it to UK... insured delivery costs about 20-25 pounds

DUC998RS
04-12-2004, 05:05 PM
next week i will have a brand new Nokia6630 to sell unlocked, but right now i have another problem i also have a 6630 locked to Vodafone Portugal does anyone can tell me how to unlock the phone to other networks i tryed the codes but doesn't work.

thanks

Dweomer
21-12-2004, 04:44 PM
I've been looking for the 6630 in Amsterdam. Every provider that had it was selling for 630+ euro! A crazy amount. I am now in Belgium looking for the phone and am having trouble even finding it. I will be checking Brussels and maybe Germany soon. I am on a serious hunt to buy this phone at a reasonable price. Hopefully with as little branding as possible and without Vodafone's meddling with the firmware.

I know TIM in Italy offer the phone for around 330-400 or so but I'm not sure I trust ordering online from a non-english site. Are there any other providers/stores worldwide that offer this phone for around that much without contract? If you know of any could you please post where and how much?

If I have much more trouble, it might be worth just going to Italy for a short weekend trip with Ryanair and buying it!

Jay3gsm
21-12-2004, 05:13 PM
If I have much more trouble, it might be worth just going to Italy for a short weekend trip with Ryanair and buying it!

You've no idea how tempted I was to do that! Trouble is earliest I could get away was first weekend in Feb when I am going to Milan. So I bit the bullet, so to speak, and ordered one on Vodafone UK.

Have heard a whisper that the 6630 could be in Orange UK stores on Thursday....

coolice
21-12-2004, 05:16 PM
Hey,

I've literally just received my Tim 6630 this morning from an Italian seller on ebay.
I paid in total 302 gbp's including shipping costs.

Like yourself I was very scepticle about ordering online and there is still good reason to be, but this one came through no problems. It did take 2 weeks almost to come but it was worth it.

If you fancy a look these are where I got mine from :-

http://stores.ebay.it/KISSNET-it_W0QQsspagenameZl2QQtZkm

I'm just in the process now of trying to over-write the contacts.cdb on C: with my own one from my 6600. No luck so far, should have kept the 6600 until I'd copied my contacts across via BT.

Ian

Nutzu
22-12-2004, 01:10 AM
I've been looking for the 6630 in Amsterdam. Every provider that had it was selling for 630+ euro! A crazy amount. I am now in Belgium looking for the phone and am having trouble even finding it. I will be checking Brussels and maybe Germany soon. I am on a serious hunt to buy this phone at a reasonable price. Hopefully with as little branding as possible and without Vodafone's meddling with the firmware.

I know TIM in Italy offer the phone for around 330-400 or so but I'm not sure I trust ordering online from a non-english site. Are there any other providers/stores worldwide that offer this phone for around that much without contract? If you know of any could you please post where and how much?

If I have much more trouble, it might be worth just going to Italy for a short weekend trip with Ryanair and buying it!i'm in toronto too and i have this week 2 for sale just order it from italy

stevecoo
07-01-2005, 10:50 PM
hi guys! is it possible for someone outside italy to use the 6630 from tim??? coz the price is really temptating...does tim sell the phone on the net? if not, how can i get one????


got mine from ebay works in the uk on virgin ok

Steve :D

aghunt
04-09-2006, 05:51 PM
Hi I am from india . I want to know what happens to TIM theme if you upgrade firmware . I bought my 6630 in Dubai. I did not know that TIM stands for a telephone operator. and is my phone locked to particular operator. But it works fine on any sim inserted into it. Will my handset be locked to TIM if i upgrade my firmware . firmware on my phone is 4.03.18. PLz anyone reply

tonaps
06-09-2006, 09:42 AM
hi... im from manila and theres a lot of 6630 tim here..... it's around 13 to 14 thousand pesos or equivalent to 270 or 300 dollars....

tonaps
06-09-2006, 09:47 AM
hi... im from manila and theres a lot of 6630 tim phones here around 13 to 14 thousand pesos or between 270 or 300 dollars....