View Full Version : Free SMTP server?


Yakumo
23-11-2001, 08:12 PM
Hi, I used to send e-mails with a free smtp server (crosswinds), but since some time ago is no longer available.
Do you know of any other SMTP that could work fine with the 9210 (I've looking for some others free servers, but they reject to send my messages)?

Regards.<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by Yakumo on 2001-11-26 0346 ]</font>

Russ
23-11-2001, 10:58 PM
You will find that most SMTP servers do not allow relaying (if they are properly configured) from machines that are not within their network... this is in order to reduce spam.

Your ISP that you use to connect to the internet should have an SMTP server that you should use.




<!-- BBCode Quote Start --><TABLE BORDER=0 ALIGN=CENTER WIDTH=85%><TR><TD><font size=-1>Quote</font><HR></TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT SIZE=-1><BLOCKQUOTE>
On 2001-11-23 2112, Yakumo wrote
Hi, I used to send e-mails a free smtp server (crosswinds), but since some time ago is no longer available.
Do you know of any other SMTP that could work fine with the 9210 (I've looking for some others free servers, but they reject to send my messages)?

Regards.
</BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></TD></TR><TR><TD><HR></TD></TR></TABLE><!-- BBCode Quote End -->

Yakumo
24-11-2001, 08:30 PM
That's the problem, the ISP I use to connect Internet with my 9210, does not have neither SMTP nor POP servers...

Regards.

Manowar
24-11-2001, 08:39 PM
Yakumo,

Yo uso en el 9210 una conexión a internet de Terra, de las gratuitas, y me funciona OK. Lo mismo con su correo POP3.
Si quieres haz la prueba.

Saludos!

Yakumo
25-11-2001, 12:46 AM
Hola Manowar,

¿El número de nodo al que llamas es el 908 de Terra básico, o utilizas otro número (como el 552 de Movistar)? Lo digo porque he probado con el número de teléfono básico y no me conecta.

Gracias y un saludo.

Manowar
25-11-2001, 03:38 AM
Buenas!

Sí, el número que uso es un 908, 908200290, creo. A mí la verdad es que me va estupendamente. También me pusieron una vez una conexión de movistar que era un múmero 500 y algo, y me funcionaba muy bien igual que la de terra, lo único que con la de movistar no sé por qué pero no podía enviar correos, sólo recibirlos.
Con la cuenta de Terra la verdad es que me conecto muy bien y sí que puedo recibir y enviar correos.
Si a ti no te conecta con ese número (908) la verdad que no sé por qué...
Yo lo tengo configurado con las direcciones que me dan en terra, me refiero a lo de 193.235.113.3 etcétera. Y con Tipo de conexion como "alta velocidad", aunque en realidad no sea así. Módem v.110 ISDN y vel. máx. 38400.
A mí me funciona.
Si a ti el número 908 no te va, quizá es por la región en donde estés, aunque no creo...
Pruébalo todo otra vez. Si no te funciona, pásate por tu Servicio Técnico (quizá lo hayas hecho ya!) y que te configuren una cuenta de internet.
Bueno, de todas formas mira a ver qué versiones tienes de los programas. Por cierto, qué versión es tu 9210? La mía es 3.54. (teclea en el teléfono *#0000#). Si tu caso es que tenías la 3.18 y luego lo actualizaste, no olvides volver a instalar las versiones actualizadas de los programas. Puedes encontrar todo el software actualizado en <!-- BBCode auto-link start -->www.forum.nokia.com (http//www.forum.nokia.com)<!-- BBCode auto-link end -->
Si después de todo sigue sin funcionarte, deja algún mensaje aquí, aunque es raro que te dé problemas.

Venga, saludos y ya me contarás.

Yakumo
25-11-2001, 02:42 PM
Hola de nuevo

Sigo sin poder conectarme, y eso que tengo todo configurado como indican en la página de Terra y, utilizo el mismo número que tú para conectarme. Seguiré probando y si no, pues iré al servicio técnico. Por cierto, ¿tienes algo en la parte de inicialización del modem?
Con respecto a la versión del firmware que tengo es la 3.62, que la actualicé hace poco.

Un saludo.

Manowar
25-11-2001, 03:19 PM
Buenas!

Ah, no sabía que ya estaba en España la 3.62. Joer, el otro día me pasé por mi servicio técnico para dejar un 8850 y de paso les pregunté por la 3.62 y dijeron que ni idea. De dónde eres? A lo mejor en tu comunidad sí la tenéis ya, aunque me extraña que en Madrid no esté. Bueno, volveré a preguntar.
Respecto a la inicialización del módem, nada. A continuación te detallo mi conexión

Nombre xxxx
Núm tel 908200290
Sol contraseña No
Nombre usuario <!-- BBcode auto-mailto start -->mailtoxxx@telelinebxxx@telelineb</a><!-- BBCode auto-mailto end -->
Contraseña xxxxxx

Opciones avanzadas
Proxies
Utilizar proxie No
Conexión
Tipoalta velocidad
Tipo d modem v110 isdn
Vel max38400
Inicializacion modem nada
Devolucion d llamadaNo
Otros
Acceso texto sin formatoSi
Utilizar compresion PPP Si
Opciones script
Utilizar script de accesoNo
Opciones d direccion
Autorrecuperar dir IP Si
Autorrec. dir DNS No
DNS primaria 195.235.113.3
DNS secundaria 195.235.96.90

Opciones de mi cuenta de correo Terra
Nombre usuario xxx.terra.es
contraseñaxxxxx
Servidor saliente mailhost.terra.es
Servidor entrante pop3.terra.es

Bueno, pues no sé por qué no te funciona... Antes de actualizar tu movil a la 3.62 te funcionaba?
Por cierto, te da algun problema la 3.62? Notas algo raro o todo va bien?

Venga, un saludo.

Yakumo
26-11-2001, 02:40 AM
Pues no hay forma, no consigo hacer que me conecte, lo intenta y al poco rato suena el tono de que te han colgado y, me aparece un mensaje que dice "Error en el comunicador con el módem de servicio de Internet. (Consulte Acceso a Internet en Panel de control)".
Esto siempre me ha pasado, incluso cuando tenía la versión anterior de firmware, sólo me podía conectar a Internet por medio de la conexión a Movistar con el 552 (muy lenta y con el problema de que no se pueden enviar correos a menos que tengas un smtp gratuito).
En fin, esto es muy raro, me tendré que llegar al servicio técnico porque si a ti te funciona perfectamente, significa que tiene que haber algo mal en el modem, si no.../phpBB/images/smiles/icon_confused.gif
El móvil me lo actualizaron en Vigo y de momento no he notado nada extraño.

Muchas gracias por todo. Un saludo.<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by Yakumo on 2001-11-26 0346 ]</font>

NineTwoOneO
26-11-2001, 04:58 PM
Again guys,

THIS IS AN ENGLISH FORUM. Although you might be Spanish, please - for the benefit of others - post in English.

Thanks!

NTOO

PS yep, this goes for all non-English readers. I don't write in Dutch do I?

Manowar
26-11-2001, 07:51 PM
Look this, guy...

1. I write always in english, except this time with Yakumo.

2. I don´t mind if you write in german, french, greek or what you want...

3. Look the post of JeP. Please when you tell me something, do it with good manners.

Regards

Rafe
26-11-2001, 08:28 PM
Excuse me, but I am the moderator round here and I rather other people did tick of others in this forum. Its my job (and my only power trip)!

The policy of this forum is to enourage users to post in English (that's the lnaguage of the site), but they are more than free to post in any language they like. I think in this case using the native language is very appropriate.

Post what you like in any language you like. If you do anything I dont think is right I'll say so, but I cant see it happening because everyone here is so nice!

Jan
26-11-2001, 08:49 PM
Indeed!!!!!!!
If these people can help eachother better in their own language then let them do so! If it was important they would surely tell you!

Jan

ai ai caramba /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif

Manowar
26-11-2001, 09:07 PM
Thank you for your posts, Rafe and Jan!

Yes, I thinked that in this case I can help Yakumo better in our own language. Anyway sorry if I have offend to somebody, but I didn´t like the manners of Nine.

PS for Jan
I´m from Spain, not from Mexico! He, he, he! /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif

Regards, friends!

Yakumo
26-11-2001, 09:18 PM
Well, it is nice to see that except for some guy, we all are well-mannered and get on well.
Of course, we always write in English because it is the most appropiate since this is an International forum, but as Rafe says if we are from the same country it is normal that we speak our language to figure out the subject.

Best regards y un saludo a Manowar /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif

NineTwoOneO
26-11-2001, 10:56 PM
I am a bit disappointed.

I did not, in any way, have bad manners in mind when I wrote this. This afternoon I read through this forum and twice I stumbled upon a complete Spanish discussion.
What freaked me out the most was that I read this 2nd thread after I saw the request from JeP to keep it in english. The reason why I reacted is and was that I do not only think it is unmannered to speak your own language in an international environment (yes, that <B>is</B> my opinion), but also that it does not, in any way, help others that do not speak your language but might be having the same problem.
Anyone is invited to have their own opinion about this and to disagree completely with me, but from experience I know that multilanguage forums will always die out. Please let's keep this a forum where we help all people using the English language first and if somebody likes a translation, let her/him be the first to ask.

Kind regards,

NTOO

Yakumo
26-11-2001, 11:49 PM
I'd like to surmount this discussion because it is moving us away from the use of this forum The 9210.
To finish, I'd like to say to NineTwoOneO that both topics "Free SMTP server" and "Problem with PC Suite" were taken at the same time and ended before Jep requested us to write in English in the forum. So, my advice is that you'd better read things twice before "it freaks you out" in order to avoid misunderstandings.

Regards.

SwitchBlade
27-11-2001, 01:22 AM
I'm just gonna add my 2 cents, the best way I see is to write in your own language if you want, but put a little note there in English so that the rest of us that are too thick to understand know what's going on and can ask for a translation if it will be useful /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif

Flipside

Rafe
27-11-2001, 02:11 AM
I'd agree with flipside here. If there is something useful involved please try (if you can) to post in English. I would not ever insist on it - that not what I am hear to do. Rememeber aside from get an instant answer to questions these forums act as a great problem solving archive.

Just so it is clear my position is.

Users may post in a non-english language if they feel it is apprpriate or if they cant write English. I would rather people use English simply because I think its the most widely understood. I am planning on adding auto-translation (via Google) to all page hopefully - so this should partially solve the problem.

However if people do want a specific language fourm and there is enough support for one then I am happy to set up one.

i.e. Use your common sense!

Please also avoid such terms as unmannered. This is a minor example of unpleasantness (so this is really a warning for the future). I run this site in my spare time and dont want to have to deal with such things. Lets keep this a friendly community?

This isn't going to be very comprehendable since I'm writing this at 2am!

Rafe<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by Rafe on 2001-11-27 0320 ]</font>

Travelwood
28-11-2001, 03:01 PM
Let's return to the topic. /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif
I have a simular problem.
Since a short time now I can connect my SMTP server only via a VPN connection. /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_frown.gif
This is not possible with the 9210 (i guess). /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_confused.gif
So i need an other (free) SMTP server to send my mail.
Does anybody know of one that i can use in the Netherlands ???